We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked it, could do with a concierge”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #39 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Liked it, could do with a concierge”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We had a flying visit to Hamburg to go to the Opera, and liked the George a lot. Room was fine, beds comfy, great design and the bar was fab - reasonably priced and delicious wine and food even post theatre.

The only thing I would say is that reception weren't totally consistent - I asked for a lunch recommendation and they simply told us to turn right out of the hotel - which was true, there were plenty of cafes in easy walking distance. But it was sleeting, we weren't in the city for long and the people next to me received a long list of places to go. We found somewhere we liked on our own, and it's only the smallest of niggles, but when you're in a city for 24 hours it would have been great to get a little bit 'more' - what I actually wanted was a totally fabulous restaurant to treat my husband to lunch in, as the trip was his Christmas present. A beer and a pork knuckle the size of my head just down the street made him happy, and to be honest if I'd had time I could have done my own city research.

All staff were friendly and warm and when we were stuck for cash for taxis as our cards weren't working in German ATMs, they simply added it to our hotel bill and gave us the euros, which was a nice helpful touch.

And if Opera's your thing, the Statsoper was amazing - fabulous 70's building, seats from 4€.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julofromtheblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    248
    63
    23
    6
See reviews for
30
197
60
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I stayed at The George using a Design Hotel Upgrade promotion (130 Euros per night). The room was very nice, although it did not feel like an upgrade. Breakfast was included and the buffet does not leave any room for improvement. Great quality. The hotel is in St. Georg, which is a nice neighborhood. Plenty of cafes within walking distance. It took me about 20 min walking to Old Town/City Centre, and about 30min to Hafen City. There's also a bus stop right in front of the hotel. Downside: no real gym or spa.

One minus: one of the receptionsist could not answer any of my questions (how much is a taxi to the airport, where is a good sushi restaurant, etc.). And since there is no Concierge, knowledgeable front desk staff is essential.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zurichguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My 1st time in Hamburg, and at The George. Great reception, with several rooms very nicely furnished. All charming, and warm. Soft lights everywhere (maybe the elevator too dark). Rooms: elegant and big enough. Bathroom: I love the open shower (no glasses or similar hurdles). All very clean. Excellent. Free wifi everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fonst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

nice hotel, friendly staff, good location. been there several times over the last 3 months, rooms are off course a matter of personal taste, i like them . experienced some airco regulation challenges one of the nights, too hot. bar nice but a bit overpriced. nice little design details. cool
but not overcrowded.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mini2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Best Hotel ever til now?? Just tried the room, bar and welcome at Front Desk.
Beautiful details in room, amenities and design. True design hotel and good service.

Not much more to say. Just stay there when you have the chance.

Room Tip: Choose the smallest rooms.. They are huge.. or jump over next level to a suite. The M size rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claas Normann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

This was my first trip to Hamburg so I wasn't sure what to expect but my stay at The George was a great part of the overall experience. When I arrived, the receptionist told me she didn't have my reservation. Apparently there had been some miscommunication on the phone when I booked and they had held a room for me the night before. I said I had definitely asked for the Sunday (not the Saturday) and she said; 'That's no problem at all, I'll just change your booking and get you a room for tonight instead. Also, it's a cheaper rate as you're staying on a Sunday rather than a Saturday.'
What a great way to start my stay! Not only did she find me a new room without charging me for the previous night's cancellation, she also gave it to me at the discounted rate for a Sunday. The room was very big with a really cozy atmosphere and the shower was fantastic. I wandered out to find a place to eat and found myself on Lange Reihe, a great street with lots of shops, cafes and restaurants.
Overall, the hotel was gorgeous with friendly service and luxurious rooms, all for a great price and in a fantastic location. Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: I stayed in 400 and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LasttimeIsawRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Reasonably priced if booked early / breakfast at EURO 18 appears on the high side / great bar with prices that appear on the high side / no air conditioning since "it is winter" which did not really help since we could not open the window due to street noise and very heavy winds. Apart from that, a great atmosphere, very relaxed.

Room Tip: M-rooms facing the back are quieter, although more expensive but got a king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WolfieB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Le Meridien Hamburg
#26 of 319 in Hamburg
1,439 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 319 in Hamburg
1,403 reviews
Bahrenfeld
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
#21 of 319 in Hamburg
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Hotel Wedina
#70 of 319 in Hamburg
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Barcastr. 3, 22087 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#33 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#61 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#62 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
„The name is George, The George!“ Find British tradition with a contemporary touch and intercultural reminiscences of colonial times. In the colourful St. Georg district of Hamburg, close to the recreation area of Außenalster, The George welcomes his guest with discreet elegance and DaCaio Restaurant with Italian cordiality. All areas of the hotel can be booked exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing