We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The George Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Hyatt Hamburg(Hamburg)
US$341
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$388
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Barcelo Hamburg(Hamburg)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Madison Hamburg(Hamburg)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (626)
Filter reviews
626 results
Traveller rating
250
275
70
24
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
275
70
24
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barunion jackgreat bargreat boutiqueboutique hotelroom facilitiesst georgalster lakecity centregood sizecafes and restaurantswalking distancerooms are nicevery pleasant staybed was very comfortablestayed one nightmini bar
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 626 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This hotel is great for a weekend get-away, we stayed in one of the corner rooms, which has a balcony and big bath tub! The bar in the evening is very popular and the atmosphere is very laid back. The breakfast at the hotel is good, but there are so many good small cafes within walking distance that I would recommend you take a walk and try one of these. The hotel is also very dog friendly and provide bed and treats for your hairy best friend!!

Room Tip: Get one of the corner rooms with a bacony and on one of the lower floor's as there can be problems to get a lift some times.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamedscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

One of the big names in Hamburg hotel market. Very nice design, clean. Rooms (standard) a little bit on the smaller side. Free WLAN.

Has a potential to become a really nice hotel if the service lives up to the amount of the stars. For starters, a hello by check-in and taking an order in the bar within 30 minutes after arriving would be nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yalla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Everything is is walking distance, the Alster view is a brilliant wake-up call in the wee hours and I love the 'Lange Reihe', the street that used to be quite worn off but is nowadays offering from a 'Kochhaus' gourmet food temple and cooking class venue, nice cafés and individual shops.
The hotel has a pretty, dark design with balconies if you book a room on the rear side of the building (overlooking the river).
...the only thing I'd do differently, it's odd to have 2 duvets when you're a solo traveller. I always prefer a single duvet - but hey, that's about it.
BTW breakfast is good but pretty standard - so I've opted to eat out.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zorro7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The George is a lovely design hotel where your eyes will have reasons to admire the many decorative touches. The room was quiet and the bed comfortable; the bathroom with shower was practical.
That being said, there were quite a few shortcomings I thought I'd flag up:
- it is located in the St. Georg neighborhood which is vibrant but over a half-hour walk from the town center. That said, there are buses nearby that take you there. A taxi ride will typically come to €9.
- the bar is excellent with the guys composing their own cocktails but it is full as a result so we struggled to sit on the beckoning sofas and had to sit at the bar.
- the restaurant provides decent Italian food but we found it a bit pricey relative to the quality we got, especially considering the restaurants on the nearby Lange Reihe.
- while the bed mattress was very comfortable, the pillows just have to be the worst I have ever come across. They are simply the thinnest! They therefore provide no support. You can fold one of them to prop your head but that does not last long. Asking for more pillows means you build a layer cake of pillows which does not stay in place if you tend to move during your sleep.
- the staff's level of English was mixed. One of the barmen was clearly fluent but girls at Reception struggled with basic phrases - surprising in a hotel which has adopted an English name and atmosphere. That means that every enquiry with the front desk becomes a challenge...
- the hotel has a spa but that place is impossible to contact. There is no one to man the phone and the hotel reception won't assist so one must either pre-book via email in advance or leave a voicemail (mine never got an answer). This is really too bad as their treatment list looks appealing and a massage would have been welcome after a long walk though the town. My husband used the sauna which he said was fine but note that in Germany you are expected to go in naked - and it's mixed!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed at an end unit suite and it was quite nice - 244.

The room was well appointed - a little balcony, tub, nice finishings etc. Quiet and a nice street view. I gather some of the other rooms have water views but I quite liked the balcony.

Concierge was very helpful sorting out destinations and restaurant ideas. The bartenders were also quite good - didn't hurt being a gin fan in a bar with 40+ different types of gin. The hotel restaurant (Italian) was quite good. Breakfast was nice as well. Location was within easy walking distance of the sites (museums etc).

The biggest issue I had was with the internet - you are always logging on and the connection is quite slow. They give you tickets at the front desk like they are passing out something of value - but its so slow, I don't know why they bother with passwords/logins. The worst part is, you are always logging in - go from your room to the bar, re login, back to your room, re log in, sitting in your room for a while, re login. Brutal. The base connection was so slow I couldn't get Skydrive to sync. It makes it very difficult to rely on such a poor connection when you need it for things to 'work' - a connection like Skydrive is tough to rely on if you can't get your files synch'd.

One tip - keep getting tickets and you can get a one day one with unlimited download but more importantly, a faster base speed. We shouldn't have to have this discussion with a hotel like this but its so poor, that's the reason I put it at 4 stars instead of 5.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews