We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't doubt !”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #40 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Denderleeuw, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't doubt !”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

From the outside you would not expect what is on the inside. Hotel with overall great atmosphere and contemporary but very stylish and cosy decoration. The staff is very friendly. Rooms are very nicely decorated and also very well isolated. And then the bar.... We went there every evening and it adds great value to the hotel. Simply a sUper place to be... Nice music and an enormous selection of drinks. Maybe not the cheapest but you get quality service and quality drinks in a great setting. Only thing... Waiters are maybe a bit too "pushy" to sell another round of drinks... But its only minor comment. Location could almost not be better... Close to restaurants and close to the alster lake. Great if you want to do some jogging in the morning. If we return to Hamburg... Would immediately choose the George! Great experience

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerco77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    250
    63
    23
    6
See reviews for
30
198
60
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The George over Easter 2014. Booked only a day before the arrival and therefore good good rates! Room was quite large, staff very friendly and helpful. The rooftopbar seems very nice but we couldn't go there, as it was too windy. I'd recommend The George anytime but I'd say it's one of the rather expensive hotels. Heading downtown is quite simple - Bus 6 to the trainstation and then take the subway from there!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Raphael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stay 2 nights on business. The staff is friendly and check in was efficient.
The room was clean and the decor was beautiful.
The shower was without door and easily "floods" the bathroom floor which needed a large towel to keep it dry.
The location is good with many restaurants and shops just nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I liked this hotel from the start - design, staff, size, location, quality, everything was just great.
I booked the room on very short notice and was offered one of the best views of Hamburg incl. skyline and Aussenalster. When I stopped into the room I felt comfortable from the first moment. The quality of the bed was outstanding. The hotel is situated in walking distance from Hamburg main station in a street I like: a variety of shops, restaurants, and bars, sort of stylish, sort of cosy.
The Hotel staff was both professional and friendly - just great.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on 6th floor (the even room numbers), they offer a magnificent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnMyWay62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I've been there for a business meeting in May 2013, spent two nights. The hotel was absolutely perfect, rooms not too big bus very nice, clean and quiet. The restaurant was very good as well and the location very closed to the city centre. I was there for a business meeting but I would definitely consider this hotel for a romantic w.e

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lelino67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

A very cosy design hotel not far from the city center (2 bus stops from the railway station).
Lobby was stylish, room was stylish and very big, everything was very comfortable.
Breakfasts are pretty expensive, but really worth the price! Mine were included into the price of the room, so I just spent several nice mornings with perfect food & coffee.

There is a parking possibility in the hotel which is very nice, MINI for rent is even nicer:)
Ctypass could be purchsed in the lobby, the taxi are ordered at one click in the I-pad also in the lobby.
I liked the stay there for sure!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxa1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohertlein, Verkaufsleiter at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your warm feedback! We are really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. During your next stay, you can rent one of our two Jaguars, which we offer free to our guests now. We hope to see you soon again! Yours, The George Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I was so pleasantly surprised when I stayed at The George for the first time, what great value for money. Such a beautiful hotel and a great bar and restaurant. I can't wait to go back in March for my next business trip, but would happily recommend for a romantic stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nai82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Le Meridien Hamburg
#27 of 317 in Hamburg
1,452 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#29 of 317 in Hamburg
1,446 reviews
Bahrenfeld
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
#18 of 317 in Hamburg
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#7 of 317 in Hamburg
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Barcastr. 3, 22087 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#35 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#60 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#60 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
„The name is George, The George!“ Find British tradition with a contemporary touch and intercultural reminiscences of colonial times. In the colourful St. Georg district of Hamburg, close to the recreation area of Außenalster, The George welcomes his guest with discreet elegance and DaCaio Restaurant with Italian cordiality. All areas of the hotel can be booked exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing