We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great boutique hotel that makes a business trip seem less like business”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #39 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2010

A great centrally located, sophisticated, well designed hotel. Good size rooms, comfortable with a great restaurant and bar. Of note, the bar is one of the best stocked I've seen of late, with a great variety of different brands from all over the world. Great breakfasts too. The George would be at "home" in any city.
Could use a more friendly concierge type service tho...but overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
There are newer reviews for The George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2010

To me, this is a "boutique hotel" the way they were intended. Cool, personal, charming and beautiful. It has exactly what I am looking for in a hotel. Personality, style and excellent food/bar. I will most definitely come back to The George next time around in Hamburg.

Note: If you DON'T like boutique hotels, or if you think design-hotels in general suck - stay away from The George. You won't feel at home.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
Thank TheStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Loved The George! Great ambiance and style, service was top notch and the bed was possibly the most comfy we have slept in (and yes this is in Europe!)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Sadly I was only at the George for one night But I loved it! Sensual and sexy rooms with amazing decor, great space and amazing colors.

After a small hitch at check with only smoking rooms available, we were upgraded to a non-smoking room. I would have loved to stay longer and enjoy the amenities. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AfricanDivaFromKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Over all i enjoyed my stay there, it is a little expensive, but that is compensated by the high quality of most things in the hotel, its a designer hotel thats well designed and lit.

If I could improve 2 things there, it would be the English of the staff that work there + the weekend breakfast (salmon and other great things) that are only limited to weekends.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabrih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We spent the weekend her for my birthday.
Nice and friendly staff at the reception. Ok staff in the breakfast room. I though it a bit strange that breakfast on the sunday was far different then the one on monday when we had to pay for bacon and eggs and other extras. During the week they do a business breakfast, more like continental. Hmmm
I quite liked the modern but comfortable design of the rooms and public spaces. Like being in a tuned-up gentlemans club in London.
The location within the city is good near the lang Meile and not far from the water.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Not only from the spot - near the Aussenalster - one of the great locations to be. Just one street behind the expensive Le Meridien, offers The George the best price-quality ratio in town if you want to stay in a boutique hotel. Very stylish rooms with a nice bathroom. Concierge always friendly and helpful. Trinks and food however a bit too expensive in the hotel, but as you are just in the walking distance of the St. Georg district, restaurants and coffee bars are just a footstep away. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaiHerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Le Meridien Hamburg
#29 of 319 in Hamburg
1,476 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#31 of 319 in Hamburg
1,498 reviews
Bahrenfeld
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
#18 of 319 in Hamburg
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#15 of 319 in Hamburg
2,167 reviews
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#16 of 319 in Hamburg
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Barcastr. 3, 22087 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#33 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#61 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#61 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £117 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
„The name is George, The George!“ Find British tradition with a contemporary touch and intercultural reminiscences of colonial times. In the colourful St. Georg district of Hamburg, close to the recreation area of Außenalster, The George welcomes his guest with discreet elegance and DaCaio Restaurant with Italian cordiality. All areas of the hotel can be booked exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing