We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Wira Hostel

Wira Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wira Hostel
Ranked #79 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Hamburg
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Thias is a very simple hostel, don't expect it to be very confortable
but with a great location, within a walkable distance from the fishing market and just in front a subway station

not to go with you want privacy for a romantic vacation, but good if we want a low budget place to stay with friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TacianaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

I travelled all across Europe staying at hotels, hostels, camping sites and the Wira Hostel in Hamburg really stands out as one of the worst places I have ever seen.

I was traveling through with five friends of mine, and we spent one night at Wira Hostel, in one six-person room. We arrived at 3pm, rang the bell, but no one was there to receive us. Ten minutes later an hostel employee arrived to check us in, and didn't bother to say sorry for making us wait.

Our room was not-so-clean (I found a used Q-tip on the floor, a mattress had weird yellow stains on it) and extremely small: the room could barely accommodate three bunk beds, and in no way six persons could stand in the room, as there wasn't enough space (see photo attached).

The common rooms are OK, but the showers are not separated by sex.

Also our room had no keys, the hostel employee said something about fire-safety regulations to justify that; he also said that we should put our valuable goods in a (paid) locker and that our clothes will be safe, because there are no clothes thieves in Hamburg. And he wasn't joking.

Lastly, please note that the pictures on the website are absolutely deceiving (I did not see other rooms, maybe they are better, but my room was nothing like the pictures) and that for the same price you can get much better accommodation, or you could go camping (which will be just as comfortable, by the way) and save some money. Also the quality/price ratio is not so high, Wira is not so cheap for being an hostel.

Wira Hostel: avoid it if you can!

Room Tip: The six-person room in front of the reception is terrible; maybe the other rooms are better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zakk87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I stayed here for one night with some friends. Trying to make things cheap we booked into one of the largest rooms. Although the room was fine, it really was very, very basic.Towels and linen weren't included and the room was constantly dark as there seemed to always be at least one person asleep!

The toilets were relatively clean, although there were only 2 as far as I could see, which meant a bit of queuing in the morning. There also wasn't really anywhere to just sit, only a couple of seats outside of the toilets and with someone always asleep in the room that meant it wasn't easy to just sit and relax after we got in.

Location was fine, it wasn't in the centre but it was directly opposite a train station which had frequent trains until quite late at night and so getting back wasn't really a problem. All in all this hostel was fine considering how cheap it was. I wouldn't stay here if you want glamour but if you're just looking for a cheap place to lay your head then Wira is possibly a good option.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Amazing location and super clean with really nice friendly staff. It is also cheap and cheerful. It made me feel slightly like I was in One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest though. The place was deserted and the corridors were wide and white. You get the idea.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AS2290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

I did Interrrail (that's the Spanish word, don't know if it's the same in other languages, and it's a travel around Europe in train) with some friends, and all of us agree: Wira Hostel was the finest place we stayed during our trip. It's clean, cheap, beautiful, has a big and good kitchen and the personal is really nice and helpful! Besides, it's really close to a metro station, so it's a really good option to stay if you're looking for something not very expensive but comfortable!

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
Thank mariojesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

We paid for a room for 12 people but a group of 8 of us stayed. The accommodation was pretty ideal for us as we were all together. Very cheap to stay and the rooms/linen/bathrooms were clean. Kitchen has table/fridge/microwave/oven etc. Being directly opposite the train station was perfect, not in the centre but close enough to walk there. Felt reasonably safe in the area where hostel is, quiet area. If I were travelling alone or in a couple I would probably not stay in this hostel as there was not much atmosphere in the evenings and not any comfortable communal areas. The guy who checked us in was friendly/helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2009

CHEAP...VERY CLEAN...great location(near Fishmarket and Reeperbahn<--where RLD is!)...modern Toilet & Bathroom(with motion sensors lighting!)...very nice & clean kitchen...spacious room...and because I stayed during weekdays(Mon & Tues) there were only 3 of us in a room for 8! Oh...a lot of electrical plug points in the room too...locker quite big...Perfect for me!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jumbo_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#67 of 321 in Hamburg
1,086 reviews
Bridge Inn Hotel
#227 of 321 in Hamburg
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#6 of 321 in Hamburg
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wira Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wira Hostel

Address: Koenigstr. 16a, 22767 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Altona-Altstadt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Hamburg
Price Range: £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Wira Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a quiet, tidy and comfortable hostel that is only a few steps from Elbe river, fish market, harbor and the famous entertainment districts of St. Pauli and Altona. The hostel is a few steps away from the famous entertainment district St. Pauli and Altona. There you can find many clubs, pubs and beer gardens. The famous fish market, only on Sunday morning from 05:00 to 10:00, is also near and the best place to experience the most lively place of Hamburg on Sunday morning. In the market you can see music bands perform live. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Wira Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing