We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a good hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wira Hostel

Wira Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wira Hostel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Such a good hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

I did Interrrail (that's the Spanish word, don't know if it's the same in other languages, and it's a travel around Europe in train) with some friends, and all of us agree: Wira Hostel was the finest place we stayed during our trip. It's clean, cheap, beautiful, has a big and good kitchen and the personal is really nice and helpful! Besides, it's really close to a metro station, so it's a really good option to stay if you're looking for something not very expensive but comfortable!

Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mariojesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    5
    11
    9
    28
See reviews for
3
3
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southend On Sea, Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

We paid for a room for 12 people but a group of 8 of us stayed. The accommodation was pretty ideal for us as we were all together. Very cheap to stay and the rooms/linen/bathrooms were clean. Kitchen has table/fridge/microwave/oven etc. Being directly opposite the train station was perfect, not in the centre but close enough to walk there. Felt reasonably safe in the area where hostel is, quiet area. If I were travelling alone or in a couple I would probably not stay in this hostel as there was not much atmosphere in the evenings and not any comfortable communal areas. The guy who checked us in was friendly/helpful.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2009

CHEAP...VERY CLEAN...great location(near Fishmarket and Reeperbahn<--where RLD is!)...modern Toilet & Bathroom(with motion sensors lighting!)...very nice & clean kitchen...spacious room...and because I stayed during weekdays(Mon & Tues) there were only 3 of us in a room for 8! Oh...a lot of electrical plug points in the room too...locker quite big...Perfect for me!

  • Liked — clean,cheap
  • Disliked — Deposit 50 Euros or your passport for the room key...lower the deposit is my suggestion
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jumbo_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2008

Arrived late at midnight. Got a bed in a messy room with many snorring men already. Men & women slept in the same room.
Some people partyed pass 3:00AM. Kitchen barely lit. Some people coughing out directly into the kitchen sink ... . My spouse refused to sleep in such condition and spent the night in a chair.
Divorce pending ... .

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Noise & mess in the room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dokwes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamburg hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Altona-Altstadt
Hotel Stadt Altona
Hotel Stadt Altona
#271 of 318 in Hamburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Altona-Altstadt
Hotel Stephan
Hotel Stephan
#165 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Ottensen
Hotel Commerz
Hotel Commerz
#228 of 318 in Hamburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Central
#204 of 318 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Altonaer Fischmarkt
Clipper Elb-Lodge
Clipper Elb-Lodge
#1 of 92 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wira Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wira Hostel

Property: Wira Hostel
Address: Koenigstr. 16a, 22767 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Altona-Altstadt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 92 Speciality Lodging in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Wira Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a quiet, tidy and comfortable hostel that is only a few steps from Elbe river, fish market, harbor and the famous entertainment districts of St. Pauli and Altona. The hostel is a few steps away from the famous entertainment district St. Pauli and Altona. There you can find many clubs, pubs and beer gardens. The famous fish market, only on Sunday morning from 05:00 to 10:00, is also near and the best place to experience the most lively place of Hamburg on Sunday morning. In the market you can see music bands perform live. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Wira Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing