We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Controversial location, very small rooms”
Review of Bridge Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bridge Inn Hotel
Ranked #233 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Controversial location, very small rooms”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

In general good value for money.
The reception is in Holiday Inn - 4 min walk. The hotel room is quite nice and bright but extremely small. So the hotel is OK for a short stay, for a longer stay you will get annoyed.
The shower and toilet are very new. But the sheets and towels are very old, beds too soft.
Laundry room and ironing utensils are available.

The location is quite far from the centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thaiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgeInnHotel, Manager at Bridge Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate this.

The Bridge Inn and the Holiday Inn Hamburg are connected with each other, so you can reach your room in the Bridge Inn after checking in without leaving the building. The hotel is located only 7 minutes by bus or car from the citycenter.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at our Bridge Inn!

Kind regards,
Silvia Volkmann & Team
Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    69
    47
    23
    13
See reviews for
38
51
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

A group of about is stayed at the bridge inn for a stag doo weekend in hamburg. The rooms are small but for what you pay they are okay. We didn't spend masses of time in the rooms, mainly for sleeping. Being on the bridge side of the hotel does have the drawback of the noise from the road, and the rooms were hot do having the window open was a must.

The hotels itself is based on the same complex as the holiday inn and the facilities they have are excellent. Used the swimming pool a few times and the breakfast was pleasent.

The hotel is situated not far from a couple or bar/restaurant type places which we used a lot of the time. We also found a brilliant Nike Golfing centre a 100 metres or so from the hotel which became a frequent journey for us.

Overall a lovely stay. Hamburg is a beautiful city and this hotel is ideal for visiting it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevo2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgeInnHotel, Manager at Bridge Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time for giving us such a positive feedback.

It is good to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Bridge Inn and that you liked the amenities.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon at our Bridge Inn!

Kind regards,
Silvia Volkmann & Team
Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The Bridge Inn is a sister hotel to the Holiday Inn which is where you have to go to check inn, when we arrived we were told they could not find our reservation and we were made to go upstairs and print off our reservation and e-mail it to their reservation e-mail so that they could allocate us a room. This took a long time of faffing around after a very long journey, when we returned to reception with our information it still took them ages to get a room and the staff were very discourteous and not at all helpful or sorry that the booking wasn't available. When we finally received a room we were handed the key and not given any information about the amenities in the hotel. To get to the Bridge Inn you have to trek through the Holiday Inn, through another adjoining hotel and into the Bridge Inn. When we finally reached our room we noticed a lounge which was always locked as well as a permanently locked kitchen which it seems there is no point having if you cannot access them. The room was clean and modern however the bathroom is part of the room and the only thing sectioning off the toilet and shower are slightly frosted doors so if you are staying there with someone you don't know well this is not the greatest of arrangements. In the description of the hotel it said it was very close to a train station so we arrived at the train station imagining it would be very close by, we then proceeded to walk for half an hour through an area resembling a run down council estate. To get into town there is a bus that goes from the bottom of the road every 10 mins. The restaurant and bar in the Holiday Inn are extortionate prices so don't eat there if you can avoid it. Overall we definitely won't be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgeInnHotel, Manager at Bridge Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience you described.

During he check in process our staff should explain all the amenities and locations of the restaurant, the pub and the parking space as well as the fastest way to your room. We are sorry if this was not the case when you checked in.

From the Holiday Inn Hamburg you can easily reach the Bridge Inn without leaving the house. Bridge Inn and Holiday Inn Hamburg are directly connected.

We would be glad to welcome you again!

Kind regards,
Silvia Volkmann & Team
Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamburg hotels

Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
661 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 472 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Rooms are simple but well equipped. Clean. You can have Your privacy. No problem with parking. Close to city center and free port area

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacekBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgeInnHotel, Manager at Bridge Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Bridge Inn in Hamburg and we are really looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Hope you had a safe trip home!

Best regards,
Silvia Volkmann & Team (Executive Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in the Bridge Inn. Check in is at the reception of Holiday Inn, which is a bit further away. The rooms are small, but efficiently decorated and spotlessly clean! Disadvantage: no airconditioning. We like the location, which is quite nice and quiet, beside the busy wide main road next to the hotel. On the contrary of a previous reviewer the use of the pool is not for free anymore. The costs are € 5 per person per day. Affordable, but still a disadvantage, since it used to be free before.

Breakfast for € 9 is amazing and good. Very recommendable.

Hotel is easily and good to reach by public transport. Buses go on weekdays frequently, a bit less on weekdays. You can take 120 or 124 to Central Station (Hauptbahnhof), but going to downtown the 34 from Billhorner Röhrdamm to Rathaus is very recommendable. If you miss that, take the 154 to Berliner Tor where you can easily change to the U or S-Bahn (urban trains in Hamburg). If you're in for a 15 minute walk, it is even possible to go to the S-Bahn station Rothenburgsort.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptkho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgeInnHotel, Manager at Bridge Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear ptkho,

thank you for your positive feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time for describing your stay with us at the Bridge Inn.

It is good to read that we could meet your expectations and that you felt well during your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to the beautiful city of Hamburg!

Best regards,
Silvia Volkmann & Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Its not far from the city center, probably ±15 mins by bus 120/124 from the Hamburg Central train stn (just a bit tricky on the weekend as the bus doesn't come as frequently).

This hotel is connected to the Holiday Inn Hotel, checkin is at Holiday Inn Reception and their staff were nice and helpful. Judging by the floorplan, we got one of the smaller rooms (still with 2 twin beds and 1 bunk bed), not much space for luggage; even less walking space left after opening up the luggage. The toilet and standing shower is also very small... and I'm a small size by European standard. The fitness/pool/sauna facilities we can use for free in Holiday Inn makes up for the small space in the room. Thumbs up!

FYI, for €9 per pax; the breakfast at Holiday Inn Hotel is quite good for all you can eat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishy_jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgeInnHotel, Manager at Bridge Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Fishy_jean,

thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it, because only through your feedback we are able to improve our service.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Bridge Inn and the breakfast served at our Holiday Inn Hamburg and are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to the beautiful city of Hamburg.

Best regards,
Silvia Volkmann & team
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

As others say, this is a great little hotel in a nice neighbourhood, not far from the centre of Hamburg. The rooms are compact and clean and quiet. We stayed for three nights mid-week on the town side of the building. Had we been on the bridge side, the room may have been noisier with the constant traffic on the bridge. As it was being on the second floor, we could sleep with the windows open all night.

The hotel now appears to be operated by Holiday Inn and you use their reception for checking in and departure, and breakfast is provided in the Holiday Inn dining areas. Needeless to say with Holiday Inn's involvement, the food at breakfast was plentiful and good quality.

As first-time visitors to Hamburg, knowing neither the bus routes or the language, we took a taxi from the central railway station (Hauptbahnhof) to the hotel (cost 12euros) but the hotel staff helpfully pointed out that the 120 and 124 buses both start at the Hauptbahnhof and by getting off at Billhorner Muhlenweg, you are then only 200 yards from the Holiday Inn reception. If, like me, you are not blessed with being a linguist, all the buses display the next stop on a digital screen by the driver once you are on-board. Bus cost 2.55euros after 7am.

The Hamburg Card (available from hotel reception) is a great deal allowing discounts on entry into a lot of attractions as well as travel in the greater Hamburg area (which extends as far as Hamburg airport). This is available for the day of issue (unlike some in other places whch may be for a 24 hour period).

Travel in Hamburg was found to be pretty easy as most staff, drivers, some important annoucements and even ticket machines are bi-lingual. Just remember on your final journey back to the airport on the S1 train to sit in the front three carriages as the back three go somewhere else....

Room Tip: It is quieter facing away from the bridge itself
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Landienut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Eimsbüttel
Novum Select Hotel Hamburg Nord
25hours Hotel Number One
#61 of 318 in Hamburg
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge Inn Hotel

Property: Bridge Inn Hotel
Address: Billwerder Neuer Deich 2 - 4, 20539 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bridge Inn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 2-stars Budget Hotel Bridge Inn Hamburg has 99 rooms, allocated on 5 floors and is directly connected to the adjacent 4-star-Business-Hotel. All rooms of the hotel are equipped with 3 beds, have a size between 12-18 m², an integrated bathroom concept, flatscreen TV, telephone, basic internet access free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bridge Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing