We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good , but too business/corporate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lindner Park-Hotel Hagenbeck
Ranked #38 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good , but too business/corporate”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Room was new and clean, atmoshere of Africa was feeled with the help of tree laying near the elevator and music / pictures around. The personel was pleasant and helpful. There are 3 type on baths on the 4th floor (Sauba, Bio Sauna, Steam *like Turkish*) very nice with a great rest room, but without swimming pool.
Some negative - we have an issues with facilities in the bathroom.Lindner goods didn't recognize our prays (writen form + reception asking). Plus minibar was not freezed the same. That was not good for 4* German quality. Also, for me it better to stay in a small hotels where you feel yourself like home. And in Lindner first what I heared was "we are business oriented" , that's true. Thus, I chose the mark between "average" and "very good"
- it's not the cheapest hotel for not to think about small issues...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prasolov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    194
    36
    7
    6
See reviews for
76
142
34
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

my daughter 3 yrs old loves this place a lot. There are African decorations everywhere with bird singing like jungle. Wellness is good and very clean. Staffs are friendly. Germany hotel doesn't have free wifi as Austrian does. The lobby and the restaurant is far better than a 4 star hotel. If there is a swimming pool , it would be a 6 stars hotel in my little daughter heart.
this is excellent for little child and family. I loved my decision not to stay close to the CCH conference where I have to attend a scientific conference this week. Instead, this is a wonderful surprise theme hotel , better than the American Big Big name theme hotel.
I would introduce it to my friends in Hong Kong for Hamburg because of this hotel and the zoo Hagenbeck. Dinner is far better than the halfboard Hungarian hotels.
Music and atmosphere of wild life Africa everywhere !!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Really top class room. Beautiful shower room and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept it. The 'themed' aspect to this hotel was fun and subtly thought out. Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good. Best over all was the price! Excellent value (hence my 5 stars) as I really couldn't fault the hotel at all, however if I'd paid more I may have been more critical, but overall I came away feeling like I had excellent value for my money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissLinus2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
161 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

A lot of the so called theme-hotels are really not worth visiting, but the Lindner Park-Hotel is worth it. 
The rooms on different floors of the hotel have apparently been decorated in separate themes. Africa, Asia, Arctic, Colonial. 
The room we got was on third floor (Asia). And I must say it was done with style. In addition, even if it was a double-room it was quite large, spacious and well equipped.
One downside was that it faced the rather busy Kobbelstrasse passing the hotel. 
Another tip - if you want to darken your room, notice the "inverted" blinds, starting at the bottom of the windows :-) 
But they do take them-selves paid at Lindner. The room we had was without breakfast. And on the side the breakfast was 14 euro per person. Wifi is available for 9.95€ per day! I'm here of the opinion that with today's Internet prices, free wifi should be as natural as bed-linned and towels. Particularly at a 4 star hotel like Lindner. 
The Hagenbech metro station with a direct line to the center of Hamburg is only 200m from the hotel ("nah-bereich" ticket). 
Service is every bit as good as you would expect at a hotel on this level. 

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krulletje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

While the rooms of this hotel are fairly standard (although there are some nice 'exotic' touches), such as a bathroom sink in the shape of an African drum, everything else is absolutely top notch: service is impeccable, procedures (check-in, parking, room access etc.) are extremely smooth and breakast is excellent, with nice, fresh bread (however, note that breakfast and WiFi are paid separately). As other reviewers have remarked, floors have a theme (such as Africa) which is really nice for children. A child bed for our son was quickly set up. One small issue was that the room was slightly stained.

A note on the location: it is not in the city centre, but next to a zoo. However, the city centre can be easily reached by metro, which is just across the street. The hotel can also sell you reduced tickets for the zoo.

I have to say, I was very (positively) surprised with this hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moritz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This hotel is one of the most lovely I've stayed in. We turned up at 11.30am very tired, and were given our room straight away which was brilliant, and the reception staff were always very friendly and helpful. The room was lovely, decorated in African style. It was very clean, and the bathroom was amazing! I would love a bath like that at home! The reception area and the bar downstairs were also decorated really nicely too. It was great value considering we had only paid about £60 a night and were there for 2 nights. Breakfast was not included, and if we wanted it, it was 17euros each, which was a bit steep, so we didn't go for that.
The hotel is slightly out of town, but the U-bahn station is literally a 2 minute walk, then about 6 stations to the centre. We chose this hotel because it was a good price, and we didn't mind it being a little bit out at all. The journey was not a problem for us, although I can imagine that for some people it would be, so I wouldn't recommend for people who like to be right in town. It is a great location for the zoo, right nextdoor. We didn't get to visit the zoo which was a shame, it looked really good!
But all in all its a really great hotel, beautifully decorated and clean, right next to the U-bahn, and a short trip to central Hamburg. Would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurameee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We choosed the hotel because it's only a few a minutes away from the O2-World. The service was very good. Before visiting the concert we had a delicious dinner at the hotel restaurant and at night a cocktail in the bar. Our room was on the Asian floor and the interior Indonesian style. The sink in the bathroom which was a hollowed out granite boulder was very impressive. A perfect place to spent the weekend.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michi107a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Eimsbüttel
NewLivingHome
NewLivingHome
#121 of 318 in Hamburg
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eimsbüttel
TRYP by Wyndham Hamburg Arena
Hotel Boston Hamburg
#35 of 318 in Hamburg
287 reviews
Bahrenfeld
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
#19 of 318 in Hamburg
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindner Park-Hotel Hagenbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindner Park-Hotel Hagenbeck

Property: Lindner Park-Hotel Hagenbeck
Address: Hagenbeckstr. 150, 22527 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#23 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#32 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#38 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lindner Park-Hotel Hagenbeck 4.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the "Tierpark und Tropenaquarium Hagenbeck" - Hamburg's famous zoo and aquarium - in a green oasis between the city centre and the international airport, the Lindner Park-Hotel Hagenbeck is the world's first animal-park themed hotel to be able to welcome its guests in such a unique and authentic setting.Built in an exotic, colonial style, the hotel provides both its business and leisure guests with adventure and first-class service. Bringing together state-of-the-art technology and authentic natural design elements, this Lindner hotel will make every visitor feel like they are on a luxurious journey to far-away destinations.With its combination of animals, parkland and culture, the Park-Hotel Hagenbeck is a one-of-a-kind location for every kind of event that is guaranteed to provide its guests with an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lindner Park-Hotel Hagenbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindner Park Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing