We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply delicious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Teheran

Restaurant Teheran
Ranked #95 of 3,578 Restaurants in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: St. Georg
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

I just prefer restaurants where the owner is taking care of business. This man was just sitting with friends next to us and asked us, after we finished, how our meal was. He took the time to explain my girlfriend how he prepared that delicouis eggplant dish as a starter. We thought after such a starter the main meal will be dissappointing. Non of that, we had the best lamb stew in years. This is definitely worth visiting next time we go to Hamburg, a beautiful city!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RafaelOgando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    42
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, comfortable atmosphere, great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

We went with our three year old tonight for dinner, and were so glad we picked this place. It was quite busy even at 8:40pm, but we still got a table right away. We found the host to be extremely friendly (he took our daughter to go get a lollipop after dinner) and the waiters polite but not overbearing. It was nice to not be bothered immediately as to whether we were enjoying our food - it was going down so quickly, it was quite obvious.
We found the prices excellent - 9Eur for a delicious lamb shank with a heaping plate of herbed rice and Lima beans. Slightly less for the equally wonderful chicken leg with saffron rice with some kind of fruit seeds and I think almonds on top. Both were beautifully flavored and had meat that was falling off the bone. The eggplant appetizer was also great, and even pleased my non-eggplant-loving husband.
Our only dispointment was that the portions were so big, we didn't have room for dessert.
The restaurant was simple but clean and comfortable. We like unpretentious places,and all in all, this was the best meal we've had during the 8 days so far on our trip.
It has my heartiest endorsement.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drk2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Note - the Tripadvisor map is currently showing this place at the wrong location. Address is correct and it's the other side of the bus-station. Ten minute walk from main rail station.

Fancied a change one night and sought out this place after the recommendations on here. Decor very nice. Clearly popular with 'ex-pats'. English-spoken and English menus. Staff friendly but seemed a bit over-whelmed by the numbers. Reluctant to accept Mastercard - ended up paying cash.

Never tried Iranian-cooking and it was ... ok. Nothing amazing as you would expect from some of the superlatives on here. Egg-plant was good, plenty of bread, but a kebab is a kebab the world over. Nothing special.

Better-value elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LonePhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy and Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Cozy and relaxed atmosphere, delicious homey food. Will definitely be visiting again.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank graceamitai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoba, Spain
Level Contributor
198 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Iranian delicacies that you won't forget”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Situated in the central area of St George and a stone's throw from Hauptbahnhof South, you will find this restaurant tucked away from such a busy and dreary area in a cosy old building complete with beamed vaulted ceilings and delicate music.

The menu is varied, with a selection of light and genuine dishes, including a small but reasonably priced wine list. Starters range from 2.50 to 4.50 Euros and feature the excellent spinach and egg delicacy Nargesi (my partner's choice) and a light flan/omelette-style dish known as Kuku Sabzi.

It must be added that starters come with a generous free helping of flat Iranian bread and a platter of herbs, radish and white onion.

But the real deal comes with the mains, which are absolutely stunning. Generous without being overpowering, they all come with a choice of either rice or bread.

I settled for a memorable lamb kebab served with barbecued tomato, onion and pepper. It had a sensationally fresh barbecue flavour, tasted seasoned and was perfectly cooked. My partner ordered grilled salmon which was coated in a special, but very light seasoning and came with a stunning yoghurt and mint sauce. He was simply gobsmacked and said it tasted like nothing he'd ever tried before.

The service was attentive without being overbearing and we also noticed a nice open dining area with a garden - though the Hamburg weather makes you wonder how often they can possibly use it.

Overall, absolutely satisfactory and worth another visit or ten.

The perfect restaurant to check out if you're staying in central Hamburg.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Teheran also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Teheran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing