We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure to visit!”
Review of Schiffer Borse

Schiffer Borse
Ranked #72 of 3,679 Restaurants in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: St. Georg
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure to visit!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Whenever I'm in Hamburg I try to visit this fabulous place near Central Station. Impressive decor and hands down the best (sea)food in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ldbroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    174
    56
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, fantastic décor, fantastic service”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

During my recent trip to Germany I sampled many restaurants and Café's in Berlin and Hamburg, I have to say this was hands down the best of the bunch. Firstly the décor inside is pretty awesome with a really unique set up, very warm and interesting. The menu was not extensive but the choices were such that between 3 of us we all had a different starter, main and desert simply because there was something for all of us here. The food came out remarkably quickly despite the staff having to serve a table of 30+ and it was clearly freshly made. Delicious and good portions at a price I was happy to pay considering the quality. We all left healthy tips which I don't normally unless the food and service is very good. Also one of the few restaurants we found happy to provide free tap water.

The restaurant is next to the main train station and I cannot recommend highly enough.
Thanks to the staff for a great experience

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dandrews101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Fantastic food and great service right next to the main station.”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Went into the restaurant with some friends on a whim as the exterior looked a bit different to the many kebab shops round the corner.

The staff were friendly and very efficient. All of our courses came out very quickly, even when a large group of 30+ came in and all ordered at once!

The food was very good, with generous portions which were absolutely delicious. I had a herring starter that came out on dark rye bread, balanced by sweet red onions. For the main course I had salmon with cooked spinach a rice in a creamy dill sauce that was one of the nicest salmon dishes I have had (and I do love my seafood!).

As we had starters and mains the dessert was free which was a nice touch. I had the poppy mouse with a red berry sauce that was the perfect way to end the meal.

Price-wise it isn't the cheapest however as I mentioned, the dessert was free with the other two courses and the quality of the food and high level of service more than makes up for the price.

We all agreed that it was a shame we weren't in Hamburg longer so we could go there again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pjnewman1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
724 reviews
391 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Place Good For Tourists But Make Sure to Make Good Choices For Food”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This is a nicely decorated dining place . Wooden tables and chairs adorn the area . Displays show old naval ships and different types of memorabilia . I made a mistake of choosing fish which was made raw (it was supposed to be indeed raw ) and i didn't realize it . Anyway i made the order because the tour guide highlighted the area as a significant fishing port . My mistake indeed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank doctorfoxtrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Stopped in for lunch”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I had soup and a fish with potato salad entree. It was very good and I'd definitely go again. They had a few beers on tap, the service was fantastic and there is also outdoor seating. Right across from the train station.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank rcote75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schiffer Borse also viewed

 
Hamburg, Germany
Hamburg, Germany
 

Been to Schiffer Borse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing