We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little place in the heart of lively Hamburg”
Review of My Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
My Place
Ranked #4 of 74 Hamburg B&B and Inns
Siena
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic little place in the heart of lively Hamburg”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I was in Hamburg for a weekend Yoga workshop and found this little place near the Studio where the event was taking place.
I consider myself really lucky to have found it!
It is a lovely little hotel (breakfast is available at a small fee) within walking reach of the lively St. St. Pauli and Sternschanze areas and of course public transport although I walked everywhere from it.
My room was nice and bright, on the ground floor which I do not mind although they also have rooms at higher level and I believe also mini-apartments for large groups.
The hotel also offers a room 'MyBakery' where you can help yourself with coffee, cakes and apples if you like or simply take a book and read it in the small internal garden.
The staff (the hotel is mostly family-run) was really nice and helpful.
I loved Hamburg and would like to go back to show this lively city to my husband and will definitely try to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    38
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
44
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

The B&B is located in the Sternschanze area a really hip and trendy part of Hamburg. A lot of nice bars and restaurants around and some good shops. The hotel is stylish and the staff was very nice. They have a little tea and coffee corner on the ground floor. The rooms were clean. Nevertheless I found that the room as well as the bathroom was tiny compared to other hotels in this price range.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zurich8055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

very nice little hotel. perfect service, friendly helpful staff, quiet but only 5mins walking distance to bars and restaurants. dont miss to breakfast on the roof as its delicious and nice view. you can also buy home made marmelades (yummi!)...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toastbrotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed in the 'Hoheluft' apartment on the fifth floor for two weeks recently and were delighted with everything about the hotel. It's situated in a great area for eating and drinking and within five minutes walking distance of both the local S-Bahn and U-bahn stations giving you access to the whole of the city. The hotel was spotlessly clean very peaceful and our apartment had a full length balcony almost as big as the room itself. The staff are friendly and very helpful. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone with the possible exception of anyone with mobility difficulties who would find the lack of a lift a big obstacle if allocated a room on an upper floor.

Room Tip: If you have any mobility issues ask for a room on a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank partick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

A lovely hotel in Hamburg's Schanzenviertel - a good, central location about a 5 minute walk from the S-Bahn (overground trains). Despite lots of nice bars and restaurants in the area, it feels safe and the rooms are towards the back of the building and very quiet. My room was very clean and nicely decorated. The only downside is that there's no lift, and although staff were lovely and very helpful, nobody was offering to help me carry my suitcase up to the my room on the fifth floor. Other than that, I'd highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: This hotel has no lift. If you don't want to climb too many stairs, ask for a room on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulinaSmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This place is fantastic. Would highly recommend. Its in the hip part of town with plenty of cafes, shops and really beautiful buildings. Quick walk to the U-bahn. We stayed in an apartment (Planten and Blumen) which was really well sized with an amazing terrace. Not only did it have a place to eat with the family outside but also two comfortable sun lounges. If the location of the hotel wasn't so fantastic we probably would have relaxed the day away happily. The hotel is also super clean. Interesting, but still minimalist enough not to be overpowering. The staff are really nice and helpful. The toiletries in the bathroom Crabtree and Evelyn and L'Occitane were a really nice touch. Just a warning, the apartment is on the fourth floor with no lift - would be impossible for anyone in a wheel chair.

Only recommendation is block out curtains. We had a baby with us who was impossible to put to sleep without any darkness and who woke at 5 with the sun. All hotels should really invest in good quality heavy drapes.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneGecko3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I stayed at My Place with my Dad for two nights. The rooms are simple but comfortable and well-organised. The bathroom was small but came with a proper hairdryer and lovely L'Occitane toiletries. Breakfast costs extra but is reasonable at €7.50 and is served in a homely, sunny kitchen-terrace on the top floor with views over the neighbourhood.

The neighbourhood itself is delicious. A boho refuge to the West of the Old Town filled with cute shops, funky restaurants, cafes and bars. It's within a kilometre of the beautiful Planten un Blomen park for a bucolic stroll to the city and lake for some sight-seeing.

It's a fairly new hotel so the information guide is only available in German, a shame cos I'm sure there was a wealth of information in there! You can borrow an iPad from reception free-of-charge though, and most of the staff speak excellent English. They were very helpful with information about the good running routes in the area.

Downsides:
No tea/coffee-making facilities in the room; there is no lift so getting to the higher floors or breakfast could be hard for older people or those with mobility issues; lovely friendly staff but the service could be a little minimalist sometimes and you couldn't always find someone when you wanted them.

But in sum, a great hotel. I'd recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauralovesit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Altona-Altstadt
Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Pauli
St. Pauli
Hotel St. Annen
Hotel St. Annen
#1 of 319 in Hamburg
343 reviews
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#13 of 319 in Hamburg
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#8 of 319 in Hamburg
1,408 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 319 in Hamburg
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Place

Property: My Place
Address: Lippmannstr. 5, 22769 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Altona-Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — My Place 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of the hip neighborhood "Sternschanze" you find the small boutique hotel MY PLACE with its individually furnished rooms and apartments. With free Wi-Fi and a perfect connection to the transportation system of Hamburg, you will have a great stay! The subway station Sternschanze is 7 minutes walking. From the calm sidestreet where the MY PLACE is located, you just need to turn around the corner, and you are in the trendy district "Schanze". Various sweet cosy cafes, bars, bistros, restaurants and small alternative boutiques invite to go shopping and to stroll around. You can also reach St. Pauli and Reeperbahn within 15 minutes. The hotel rooms are named after the districts from Hamburg, and surprise you with individual design. Alle rooms, suites and apartments are modern furnished and come with a bathroom, TV and Wi-Fi. In the cosy lounge WOHNZIMMER, open from 8am - 8pm you can help yourself with coffee, tea and cookies - water or fruits - all on the house! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HRS, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your My Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing