We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth !” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marco Polo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Marco Polo
Ranked #236 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

Complete rip off was not worth 50€ per night with one roll of bread and coffee n cheese and milk.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hifzur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    8
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
7
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

The room was dirty (stains, and I saw how they "cleaned" the rooms) and cold. If you want to take a shower at "rush hour", prepare yourself for cold water. Poor breakfast, you can get a less expensive and better one in chain bakeries.
The room was dirty (stains, and I saw how they "cleaned" the rooms) and cold. If you want to take a shower at "rush hour", prepare yourself for cold water. Poor breakfast, you can get a less expensive and better one in chain bakeries.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tiagofm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamburg hotels

Lomdon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Terrible hotel. My wife and I came to Hamburg with our 2 year old son, and the location of this hotel was close to where our relatives live. The hotel is badly managed:
- no response to emails, only phone calls are answered
- over the phone they confirmed that we will have a suite (2 rooms) for 85 EUR, on arrival they said someone else had paid more for the room so we can not have it. We stayed at a normal room.
- it is very noisy, every drop of water from all rooms is heard in all rooms.
- room heating is turned off or low regularly, only on complaint they turn it on. Then it turns low again. Both me and my wife are having a cold after two nights here.
Because of this hotel we decided to go home after two nights, we had planned 5 nights but we can't continue to stay here.
There must have been a change of owner or management, I can't understand how this place has deserved the good ratings that brought us here. Stay away, there is better choice even on budget.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olaf O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Stayed here for a huge conference, and this was by FAR the most affordable hotel in town. Fantastic location a block or less from the U and S-bahns, room was very clean and quiet, and the staff are super friendly and helpful, speaking both German and English. I got a 1-person room with bathroom and it was great, good size, and just like the pictures on the website.

I did not have the breakfast, but it looked pretty standard -- nothing special, but good. I would definitely stay here again if visiting Hamburg. My only complaints were small -- no alarm clock/radio or hairdryer in the room -- but I believe that had I asked the staff they would have found them for me.

Room Tip: Even if some of the booking sites show no rooms left, email the hotel directly and ask! Not all are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

We came to Germany for a week's holiday/birthday celebration. Three nights in Hamburg and 4 nights in Berlin. We found Marco polo on last-minute .com and compared the price to hostels in city centre (the cheaper range all in the red light district).
Being on a budget we both found the hotel very clean & tidy, quiet and with friendly staff. We didn't have breakfast there as it is 4 stops into the centre of town and often went to one of the cafes in the main station for a coffee and selection of Danish pastries ETC.
The only down side of our stay was that we had to change rooms after the 2nd night, The chap said that we were moving into a better room & that our other room had been booked apparently.... Not too much of a problem considering the price range and the 2nd room was a little smaller than the first but equally as good...
Regards cookie Dave.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cookiedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Heikotel-Hotel Windsor
#173 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Wandsbek
Hotel Marienthal Hamburg
Hotel Marienthal Hamburg
#271 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Hamburg Alsterring
#57 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Harburg
B&B Hotel Hamburg-Harburg
B&B Hotel Hamburg-Harburg
#137 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
St. Georg
Hotel Kieler Hof
Hotel Kieler Hof
#229 of 318 in Hamburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marco Polo

Property: Hotel Marco Polo
Address: Boernestr.14, 22089 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Marco Polo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Marco Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing