We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Barcelo Hamburg(Hamburg)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
ARCOTEL Onyx(Hamburg)
US$141
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (775)
Filter reviews
775 results
Traveller rating
186
353
185
36
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
353
185
36
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslubecker strasserewe supermarketeuropean holidaygroup ticketsmall supermarketboiled eggsdecent staydouble bedtrain systemcontinental breakfastunderground stationincluded in the ratecold meatsshort walkfree wifieasy accessstayed here for nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
243 - 248 of 775 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My only complaint about this hotel would be the hard pillows. The room was very clean and the shower was nice and large with plenty of hot water.

I don't know why the shower door wasn't designed to swing in. It's not my bathroom and I don't have to mop up water. There’s a market right next door that stays open relatively late and has a choice of salads and cold beer if you want to just hang out in the room.

Everything in the room was functional. The heavy drapes keep out the ever present May sunshine.
The main reason I chose this hotel is an early morning flight and Frühstück gets started at 6:30am and it's adequate. For those on a really tight schedule, coffee and croissants are available.

The hotel is conveniently located to 3 lines of public transportation. Both Lübecker Straße and Wartenau are very close to the hotel. Wartenau has facilities for the disabled. Landwehr is a little further but it’s a straight shot from the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Dear SDMcGee,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us feedback. I am pleased you liked the convenient location of our hotel as well as your room accommodations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you were not fully satisfied with the pillows in your room. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Stayed here with young family during the Easter holidays. We had travelled to Hamburg by train and chose this hotel as its is located within two stops on the U1 - UBahn from Hamburg Hauptbanhof. Staff were friendly and helpful at check-in. The hotel appears quite new and is comfortable. Rooms are a bit small especially when sofa bed is extended but the price value was good and we were only really using the room for sleeping in anyway!

Breakfast was a bit hectic, the hotel was busy due to school holidays which meant that getting a table a table at peak times was sometimes difficult. However there was always plenty of food available once we had a table. Take note if arriving late in the day as there are no other food options during the day or evening in the hotel. However there are a number of eateries close by and a Rewe next door. Exploring the city is pretty easy from here as the proximity to the UBahn makes it easy to travel about the city.

In summary, a reasonably comfortable hotel, in a good location and good value for money .

As well as doing usual city sightseeing etc. we also went to the Beatles museum - Ubahn - Reeperbahn and spent a few hours there easily and also managed to keep a 7 year old interested too. You can even make your own karaoke recording of a Beatles tune. We also spent an evening in Minatur Wunderand - a huge model railway and miniature world - with cities, airports, harbours etc. Ubahn - Baumwall. You could easy spend the whole day here. It was very busy and a tip would be to reserve your entrance time on line in advance to avoid having to wait in long queues .

We enjoyed Hamburg as a city for a mini break, its big,brash, noisy, quite pretty and has quite a few attractions to keep kids occupied too!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guidedug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I've been in this hotel dozens of times when doing business in Hamburg. I've tried all other Holiday Inns, Crown Plaza and also the Interconti but always come back to this one because the price-performance ratio is really good. It does have, however, some annoying weaknesses but I can live with those.

Pro:
- Quite new hotel
- Modern and fresh design
- Conveniently located 500 yds to a subway station with 2 stops to downtown
- Very reasonable prices
- Compared to other European Holiday Inn Express the rooms are a little larger and a lot nicer (see photos). At least this is true for the Priority Club Rooms which are also away from the noisy street. The bathrooms are very stylish with marble, black tiles, glass walls for the spacious shower and a frosted glass bathroom door. Wow!

Con:
- The breakfast ist really the absolute minimum. Yes, you can eat it but that's all. The breakfast attendant sometimes disappears and the buffet runs out of food and coffee while staff takes a break. You will not find them, probably they leave the building. Incredible.
- The service is terrible. Every time I come they have new staff. If you want something it will be difficult. They once gave me a room without a chair and they did not manage to get me one in three days. Housekeeping is also terrible. Yesterday I ran out of shampoo in the shower and as a precaution I attached a colored sticker to the dispenser. Nothing happened. If you leave your sleeping t-shirt on the bed they will not fold it and just ignore it.
- Needless to say there are no other facilities such as, e.g., a gym.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear Carlos C,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! We always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations by providing our guest spacious rooms and giving them the feel of Europe with the designs we incorporate in our bathrooms. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. Rest assured that we work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we strive to be the best hotel in the area.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Niice hotel. Centrally located.Stayed here on the Easter weekend.Comfortable and clean rooms. Staff was extremely friendly. Breakfast could have been better. But all in all it was definitely value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adityarele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Mr adityarele,

thank you very much for your recent stay with us in our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre.
We appreciate your friendly words regarding your stay, and we are more than happy to be able to create you such a nice stay. We will pass your review to all members of our staff.
Whenever you should come back to Hamburg we will be looking forward to welcoming you as our guest.

Yout team from Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

The hotel rooms are well-designed and very comfortable. It is well located between 2 metro stations and it is easy to take the train to the Central Station or City Centre from both stations. The supermarket right behind the hotel is so convenient. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast which offered a nice variety and was replenished very efficiently when there were many guests. Wifi is available but it is chargeable. (It would be a nice touch if wifi was complimentary for all the guests). The reception staff were pleasant and friendly except for a lady staff on the day shift who was not rude but seemed quite aloof. Overall, we had a wonderful stay in a nice hotel in a lovely city! We would recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank PatPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012
Google Translation

Sehr geehrter PatPJ,

herzlichen Dank für Ihren Besuch in unserem Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre und Ihre anschließende Zeit, uns auf Tripadvisor zu bewerten.
Wir freuen uns, dass Sie besonders die gute Lage unseres Hauses hervor heben und wir mit der Freundlichkeit unseres Personals sowie der Einrichtung unserer Zimmer überzeugen konnten. Es ist schön, dass Sie unser Haus sowohl für Städtetrips als auch für Geschäftsreisen jederzeit weiter empfehlen würden.
Wir freuen uns sehr, dass Sie sich als unser Gast rundum wohl gefühlt haben und wir Sie vielleicht bei Ihrem nächsten Aufenthalt in Hamburg wieder begrüßen dürfen.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Ihr Team vom Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews