We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre
Ranked #58 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Although the name suggests it is in the city centre, it isn't, but it is only 5 or 6 minutes walk to the train and then only a few stops to all the attractions and the city centre. This is such a nice Hotel to stay at, it doesn't matter. There is a supermarket right at the back door, very handy for little extras. And a couple of restaurants nearby too.
The staff at this Hotel really make this place great! They are very helpful and knowledgable about their city. Nothing was too much trouble, and they had a lot of suggestions about what to do to make the most of our stay.
The Hotel itself is very nice, very clean and the included breakfast was more than enough. The rooms are a good size, the bed super comfortable, the bathroom modern. We had no problems with internet, although it isn't free, it is only 5 euros for 24 hours, and the speed was good.
We would stay there again, without doubt!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    310
    156
    34
    11
See reviews for
193
216
37
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Although this location is not in the center of the city as the name suggests, it is still an outstanding property when visiting Hamburg. The staff is friendly and helpful with information about Hamburg. There is a subway station about 100 yards from the Hotel. There is a ticket machine with an English feature making it easy to use. The subways come very frequently (we never waited more than 3 minutes) and within ten minutes you are at the main train station and the start of the shopping district.

There is a Pizza Joey right next to the Hotel which is similar to a Dominos or Little Caesar. A few houses down there are a couple of Bistros that seem to be visited by the locals, so I would imagine that the food is good. But the best part is that there is a REWE grocery store out the back door of the hotel. This is a modern chain of stores. It has a bakery and you can get a cold beer or soda from a cooler at a very reasonable price. The best part is that the store is open until 10 pm on weekdays.

There is a small parking lot in the front and back of the hotel, which is free. There is also a fee park garage.

Breakfast is the usual European Holiday Inn Express fair. There is excellent free internet for Platinum Priority Club Members. Air conditioning worked great.

If you are driving from town to the hotel, you cannot make a left hand turn into the hotel. You need to approach the hotel so that you will be heading toward the town and can make a right hand turn into the hotel.

We enjoyed our stay very much and will be staying there again this November when we will visit the Hamburg Christmas Markets.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank europetraveler810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

5 min. walk from Lübecker Strasse U bahn stop. This hotel offers quite good value at 78 € a night for a standard room. The room is very well equipped and furnished. But considering how well it was actually designed it was very odd that there were no hooks to hang clothes or coat, and there wasn't one of those folding racks for your suitcase. I found that strange. Fortunately it should be fairly inexpensive to make this upgrade. Check-in and check-out very efficient.

Internet was included with a code. I stayed on the 4th floor and it didn't work the first night. Once it worked the speed was decent for emails but no music or video. So no high marks on this.

Breakfast was just ok. No american breakfast items but quality is pretty good.

I recommend this hotel mostly for business travelers.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casperdenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
190 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel during the SMM show. The hotel is pefectly located in the center, a supermarket is 20 meter nearby, many restaurants in the street. However, if you come for business you are in trouble. During this stay there was no internet at the hotel and I had to listen to many excuses of the staff (weekend, problems in the network in Hamburg, etc.) I had to use the Internet for hours and to send many emails, and was unable to do it. It was a catastrophe. All the people at the reception could do was to send me to an Internet Cafe. This is not what you expect from a Holiday Inn hotel !

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boazweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Dear Mr. "haimboaz",

Thank you very much for staying with us in our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre.
We are delighted to hear that our good location met your expectations.
I am sorry to hear that the internet connection was down during your stay and I would like to apologize for the trouble it may caused.
We will continue to work on improving this issue and you are willing to give us another chance to convince you that we can do better the next time you visit Hamburg.

Your team from Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

It doesn't appear from the outside as the most glamorous of hotels - next to a supermarket and a pizza delivery company. However this Holiday Inn Express is a good value and modern place to stay near the city centre.

The receptionist was helpful - the room clean and comfortable - and there was a fairly good selection on offer at the breakfast buffet (although it did get very busy around 9am),

Parking costs an extra €10, the garage is under the neighbouring supermarket. Other reviewers talk about parking for free in the supermarket's car park - which I'm sure is possible for overnight stays. However a warning that the store is open until late and there are big notices everywhere warning of fines for vehicles spotted staying for more than one and a half hours.

Access to the city is via the LubeckerStrasse station - which is a 5 minute walk away. It's on lines U1 and U3 and only a few stops from the city centre attractions.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BexleyStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Dear Mr. BexleyStuart,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre and your nice words here on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your friendly words regarding our front desk staff, the cleanliness of our rooms and the good selection of our breakfast.
Whenever you should come back to Hamburg we will be looking forward to welcoming you as our guest.

Your team from Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
96 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This seemed a fairly nice but standard newer HI Express, and we succeeded in getting a room toward the back. Twice in fact since my wife thought the queen bed in the first one was small and preferred twin beds. All went well until around 9 pm when we started noticing a strange alarm like noise that came on for a few seconds every 5 to 10 minutes. We still cannot figure out what it was but after nearly a couple of hours of consulting with the front desk and hoping it would go away, we finally were transferred to the last empty room in the hotel. Where we had a great night's sleep. The origin of this noise mystified both us and the staff, and the best we came up with had to do with a cell phone or "handy" getting messages while left on a hard surface in an adjoining room. Anyway, as they say in Germany, "Ende gut, alles gut" so I recommend this hotel.
Not in center but then you are paying less. Good public transport. Quiet and comfortable. Neighborhood suitable for walking and in fact quite high end if you head up toward the lake.

Room Tip: You likely do not need to check for weird noises, that is one in a million. But you can ask for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craxiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Dear Tripadvisor member "craxiter",

thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre.I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Hamburg and had a pleasant stay with us.
I am sorry to hear that there was some trouble with a strange noise at the beginning of your stay but I am glad that our staff was able to solve the problems quickly.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back as our guest soon.

Your team from Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

You kind of know what to expect with a Holiday Inn Express - basic, good value, clean rooms, comfortable beds, generally quite central locations. Well, the one on Lübecker Straße adds a couple of things. For a start, it looks very new. The fixtures and fittings are a step up from the sister hotels that I have stayed at in the UK and USA. They do a pretty substantial buffet breakfast. There's a room safe. And all the staff speak excellent English, although I am hopeful that they appreciated my dismal attempts to speak a little bit of German.

Don't expect luxury toiletries, a full cooked meal or the full turnover service. But I was pleasantly surprised, my son and I stayed in a good location, easy for U-Bahn and S-Bahn stations, quite a few cafes and restaurants within a short walk, and got more than we had expected.

Room Tip: We had a room close to the front of the hotel - the rooms at the back are less noisy although you re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weepaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Dear Mr. "weepaddy",

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre and your review here on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to hear that our rooms, our friendly staff and the location met your expectations and we are pleased that we could deliver what you expected.
Whenever you should come back to Hamburg we will be looking forward to welcoming you as our guest.

Your team from Holiday inn Express Hamburg City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Holiday Inn Hamburg
#85 of 318 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre
Address: Luebecker Str. 109, 22087 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamburg's first brand new entirely non smoking hotel will open in Autumn 2009! The brand new Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre is located in the center of Hamburg only a few minutes away from all of Hamburg s numerous attractions. The subway station Luebecker Strasse and Wartenau are only a few minutes on foot. The Alster is only a short stroll away and gives you quite a view across this historic city. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre offers 179 non smoking luxurious en suite air-conditioned bedrooms, each with flat screen colour TV with a variety of channels, modem point, High Speed Wi-Fi Internet Connectivity, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre has an interior designed full service bar with 50inch flat screen TVs, a comfortable dining area, air conditioning and high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the entire hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre offers affordable on-site car parking with direct access to the hotel. Stay Smart, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre is expecting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing