We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern functional hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre
Ranked #65 of 323 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Modern hotel, well maintained and quiet with good sound proofing, although the room's heating/air conditioning system was fairly noisy. The rooms are functional, bright, and clean with a fantastic shower in the bathroom. However, I found the double bed, although well sprung, quite uncomfortable, but then I must admit I am used to sleeping on a memory foam mattress. The breakfasts are good and plentiful and the staff are all pleasant and helpful. The hotel is well placed for sightseeing in Hamburg, being close to 2 U Bahn stations with fast and frequent trains to the city centre with a journey time of about 5 - 10 minutes. We bought the excellent value Hamburg Card online before travelling to Hamburg which gave us 3 days unlimited use of the trains (including the one to and from the airport) and buses plus discounts to many of the museums and attractions. The purpose of our trip was to visit the Christmas Markets, which were fantatstic and had a brilliant atmosphere. My overall opinion is that this hotel is good value if you are looking for a budget short break.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eurofile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2012

The Hotel Holiday Inn Express lies between two subway stations, three stops from the City Centre. It is a modern hotel, but very basic in comfort. The room are extremely narrow. The double bed was 140 cm. Even the single beds were below normal standard size. An uncomfortable metallic chair was placed on the ridicule small desk. In the bathroom the same picture, modern but totally basic. Only soap from a dispenser is provided.
The breakfast was catastrophic with poor quality the breakfast items, most of them industrially packed and insufficient in choice. Even thre bread was not tasty. The breakfast room was overcrowded, supplies irregular and the staff mostly trainees overwhelmed and disorganised.
During our stay the internet was not functioning. There was no point in informing priority club members that the internet fee of € 5.- is waived for guests adhering to the fidelity program.
Parking is available for € 10.-- per 24 hours at the supermarket. The ticket has each time to be validated at the reception.
Taken into consideration the basic comfort, the lousy breakfast, the noise from the delivery vans of the supermarket in the early morning hours; staying in this hotel may only be worth for consideration at a rock-bottom promotional rate. In no way it can be compared in comfort and service with any HIEX in the US. We decided to shorten our stay and to leave for another hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riesst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Dear Riesst,

I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the set up of your room and the outside noise. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource of improving guest satisfaction.

I trust that the above issues will not deter you from choosing us as your hotel on your next visit to Germany.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Although the name suggests it is in the city centre, it isn't, but it is only 5 or 6 minutes walk to the train and then only a few stops to all the attractions and the city centre. This is such a nice Hotel to stay at, it doesn't matter. There is a supermarket right at the back door, very handy for little extras. And a couple of restaurants nearby too.
The staff at this Hotel really make this place great! They are very helpful and knowledgable about their city. Nothing was too much trouble, and they had a lot of suggestions about what to do to make the most of our stay.
The Hotel itself is very nice, very clean and the included breakfast was more than enough. The rooms are a good size, the bed super comfortable, the bathroom modern. We had no problems with internet, although it isn't free, it is only 5 euros for 24 hours, and the speed was good.
We would stay there again, without doubt!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Although this location is not in the center of the city as the name suggests, it is still an outstanding property when visiting Hamburg. The staff is friendly and helpful with information about Hamburg. There is a subway station about 100 yards from the Hotel. There is a ticket machine with an English feature making it easy to use. The subways come very frequently (we never waited more than 3 minutes) and within ten minutes you are at the main train station and the start of the shopping district.

There is a Pizza Joey right next to the Hotel which is similar to a Dominos or Little Caesar. A few houses down there are a couple of Bistros that seem to be visited by the locals, so I would imagine that the food is good. But the best part is that there is a REWE grocery store out the back door of the hotel. This is a modern chain of stores. It has a bakery and you can get a cold beer or soda from a cooler at a very reasonable price. The best part is that the store is open until 10 pm on weekdays.

There is a small parking lot in the front and back of the hotel, which is free. There is also a fee park garage.

Breakfast is the usual European Holiday Inn Express fair. There is excellent free internet for Platinum Priority Club Members. Air conditioning worked great.

If you are driving from town to the hotel, you cannot make a left hand turn into the hotel. You need to approach the hotel so that you will be heading toward the town and can make a right hand turn into the hotel.

We enjoyed our stay very much and will be staying there again this November when we will visit the Hamburg Christmas Markets.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank europetraveler810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

5 min. walk from Lübecker Strasse U bahn stop. This hotel offers quite good value at 78 € a night for a standard room. The room is very well equipped and furnished. But considering how well it was actually designed it was very odd that there were no hooks to hang clothes or coat, and there wasn't one of those folding racks for your suitcase. I found that strange. Fortunately it should be fairly inexpensive to make this upgrade. Check-in and check-out very efficient.

Internet was included with a code. I stayed on the 4th floor and it didn't work the first night. Once it worked the speed was decent for emails but no music or video. So no high marks on this.

Breakfast was just ok. No american breakfast items but quality is pretty good.

I recommend this hotel mostly for business travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casperdenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel during the SMM show. The hotel is pefectly located in the center, a supermarket is 20 meter nearby, many restaurants in the street. However, if you come for business you are in trouble. During this stay there was no internet at the hotel and I had to listen to many excuses of the staff (weekend, problems in the network in Hamburg, etc.) I had to use the Internet for hours and to send many emails, and was unable to do it. It was a catastrophe. All the people at the reception could do was to send me to an Internet Cafe. This is not what you expect from a Holiday Inn hotel !

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boazweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Dear Mr. "haimboaz",

Thank you very much for staying with us in our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre.
We are delighted to hear that our good location met your expectations.
I am sorry to hear that the internet connection was down during your stay and I would like to apologize for the trouble it may caused.
We will continue to work on improving this issue and you are willing to give us another chance to convince you that we can do better the next time you visit Hamburg.

Your team from Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

It doesn't appear from the outside as the most glamorous of hotels - next to a supermarket and a pizza delivery company. However this Holiday Inn Express is a good value and modern place to stay near the city centre.

The receptionist was helpful - the room clean and comfortable - and there was a fairly good selection on offer at the breakfast buffet (although it did get very busy around 9am),

Parking costs an extra €10, the garage is under the neighbouring supermarket. Other reviewers talk about parking for free in the supermarket's car park - which I'm sure is possible for overnight stays. However a warning that the store is open until late and there are big notices everywhere warning of fines for vehicles spotted staying for more than one and a half hours.

Access to the city is via the LubeckerStrasse station - which is a 5 minute walk away. It's on lines U1 and U3 and only a few stops from the city centre attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BexleyStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Dear Mr. BexleyStuart,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre and your nice words here on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your friendly words regarding our front desk staff, the cleanliness of our rooms and the good selection of our breakfast.
Whenever you should come back to Hamburg we will be looking forward to welcoming you as our guest.

Your team from Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altona-Altstadt
NH Hamburg Altona
NH Hamburg Altona
#52 of 323 in Hamburg
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre

Address: Luebecker Str. 109, 22087 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 323 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: £51 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamburg's first brand new entirely non smoking hotel will open in Autumn 2009! The brand new Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre is located in the center of Hamburg only a few minutes away from all of Hamburg s numerous attractions. The subway station Luebecker Strasse and Wartenau are only a few minutes on foot. The Alster is only a short stroll away and gives you quite a view across this historic city. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre offers 179 non smoking luxurious en suite air-conditioned bedrooms, each with flat screen colour TV with a variety of channels, modem point, High Speed Wi-Fi Internet Connectivity, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre has an interior designed full service bar with 50inch flat screen TVs, a comfortable dining area, air conditioning and high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the entire hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre offers affordable on-site car parking with direct access to the hotel. Stay Smart, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre is expecting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing