We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location a Little Misleading”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre
Ranked #64 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The hotel is advertised as Hamburg City Centre which is a little misleading as Lubecker Strasse is a good 2km or so from the central area, however there are U-Bahn stations within a easy walking distance of the hotel with easy connections to all areas and the Airport. The Holiday Inn Express is modern, clean and comfortable. I had a good room with a double bed, sofa etc and a modern bathroom with shower and toilet. A continental breakfast is included. Wi-Fi is €5 for 24 hours.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clembo1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear Clembo1957,

Thank you for your stay in our hotel and for taking the time for your feedback. We are glad to hear, that you felt well with our hotel, but we are sorry for the little misleading. We still hope to see you soon again.

Sincerely,
Your team from the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013

Hotel has good location near U-bahn station. Free breakfast, soft bed, very clean room, nice bathroom. Tea and coffee making facilites in room. Nonsmoking hotel - so if you are smoker you have to smoke outside. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merlotte23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear Eestist,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoy your living in our hotel and we hope to see you soon again.

Sincerely,
Your Team from Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

hotel in great situation between two ubahn stations with short journey to the city centre,staff friendly and helpful and breakfast no problem at all. As for the tv being mainly german do i need to say anymore. Would stay here again and would recommend it to friends.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank john_clark50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear john_clark50,

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would also like to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards
Your Team from Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Great hotel with super friendly staff has the pe reflect location for maxing out a visit to Hamburg. Great free wifi and the usual high standard if free breakfast buffet. To be highly recommended. Wonderful powerful shower.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank IGW187351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear IGW187351,

Thank you for your stay in our hotel and for taking the time for your feedback. We are glad to hear, that you felt very well with our staff and we are looking forward to welcoming you back with us again.

Sinerely,
Your Team from Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Located 2 underground stops from the Hbf, it is located on the edge of the town centre. You can walk to Lake Alster from here in 10 mins too. The room was usual size, not for families with larger children, but would probably suit families with small childen. There is a supermarket attached to the hotel, so this was useful for drinks and snacks. The beds has small blankets that just covered the bed and pillows (even the soft ones ) were too small and hard. The shower door in my room was broken so the bathroom got very wet. TV is mainly German, apart from BBC World and some news channel from USA. I never userd the breakfast room as it was too busy and was told to wait, which I didnt. I just went to a nearby cafe.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank European_Traveller71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Dear European_Traveller71,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding facilities.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the blankets and bathroom showers. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Stayed here recently and can quite honestly say that it was excellent.
The rooms are basic but comfortable and very clean and the bed was comfy. We asked for more pillows and they were brought to us within 5 minutes of asking.
The staff are very helpful and knowledgeable and were able to help us with directions to get to various sightseeing locations as well as giving us good information about local places to eat.There are a number of nice places to eat very close to the hotel and just next door there is a big supermarket that has a fabulous bakery with a coffee shop!
The UBahn yellow line takes you to a lot of the places of interest and is only 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is located in between the Yellow and Blue lines so is very accessible for getting around.
Breakfast is included and there is an excellent choice including boiled eggs, cold meats, cheeses and jams. The only down side was that it is VERY busy between 8.30am - 9.30am and you may have to wait for a seat.
I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel for your stay in Hamburg.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KirrieFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Dear KirrieFee,

Thank you for your stay in our hotel and for the good review.
We are glad to hear that you enjoy your living in our house and we hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards
Your team from the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel last week. The hotel is at a great location with lots of restaurants nearby, minutes from the U Bahn (Lubecker strasse) and 10 minutes on foot from Lake Alster. The reception area is large where you can enjoy drinks from the bar till late. Wifi is not free which I found totally unacceptable.
Rooms were clean and modern with tea coffee making facilities and a safe. It appears the safes in the hotel are all out of order. We booked a double but we were given a twin room. Safe was not working there. We changed it next morning to a double and safe wasn't working there either. The TV channels were all in German but you culd get BBC and CNN International news.
Breakfast was OK - nothing extraordinary. You get the usual tea/coffee, juices, eggs, breads, buns, meat etc. Be sure to get your breakfast between 6:30-8 AM or you'll have to queue. The place becomes mad between 8 and 10. If you wake up late, I'd say stay in bed till 10 AM. Breakfast is from 6:30-11AM.
Bar is open till late (no restaurant at the hotel) which is good as you can enjoy some drinks watching the big telly on a sofa before you head out for a meal in the evening. There are plenty of shops, restaurants and takeaways and they are very cheap compared to skyrocketing prices in Copenhagen and STockholm. For e.g. we had a Pizza, Penne Arabbiatta and three drinks for 23 Euros at the buzzing Einstein Cafe and Bar.

Tips:
1. Group Ticket: If you are more than one person travelling, REMEMBER always to take a cheaper group ticket (which is valid for 5 people) instead of two singles or two day tickets. Take the day group ticket or even longer. Transport is dirt cheap in Hamburg.

2. From Lubecker Strasse U Bahn to Hotel: As you come out of the U Bahn, look both sides. You'll spot the high rise Novotel at a distance. Walk in the opposite direction to Novotel. You'll reach Holiday Inn in 6-8 min.

3. Walking to Lake Alster: Go to the reception and say that you want to walk to Lake Alster. They'll give you a wallet map with walking directions. A beautiful walk along the lake and a must do. You'll enjoy it.

4. Eating: Although there are plenty of restaurants and shops nearby, you'll definitely want to go to Altona (U Bahn). Lots of shops and malls there. Another option is to go to JungFernSteig (U Bahn) and near the lake there is Europa Passage Mall where there are many shops and restaurants. You can easily walk to this mall from magnificent Rathaus as well. The main Hauptbahnhof stations also has lots of places to eat.

5. Breakfast: Be sure to have your breakfast early between 6:30-7:45 when it is not busy. The place gets crazy after that. The plates are small - so you can't even load it up to avoid repeat queuing.

I would recommend going to Copenhagen by Train (which goes on the train ferry) after your Hamburg trip if you have time (takes 4 hours).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank prash123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear prash123,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridge Inn Hotel
#222 of 319 in Hamburg
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre

Address: Luebecker Str. 109, 22087 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: £69 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamburg's first brand new entirely non smoking hotel will open in Autumn 2009! The brand new Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre is located in the center of Hamburg only a few minutes away from all of Hamburg s numerous attractions. The subway station Luebecker Strasse and Wartenau are only a few minutes on foot. The Alster is only a short stroll away and gives you quite a view across this historic city. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre offers 179 non smoking luxurious en suite air-conditioned bedrooms, each with flat screen colour TV with a variety of channels, modem point, High Speed Wi-Fi Internet Connectivity, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre has an interior designed full service bar with 50inch flat screen TVs, a comfortable dining area, air conditioning and high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the entire hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre offers affordable on-site car parking with direct access to the hotel. Stay Smart, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre is expecting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing