We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel to get around for city break!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre
Ranked #57 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great hotel to get around for city break!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Checked in for 3 nights 2 rooms at the holiday inn express on Halloween!

Hotel is in good location only 2 stops on u ban (underground) to hamburg city and 20 mins from airport which costs about £25.

Friendly hotel staff and efficient - 2 lights were blown in our room when we checked in so I called up the reception and they were happy to change our room or maintenance can fix in the morning (we have a cot in our room so we decided to leave it that night) we went out the next day and the lights were fixed when we got back!!
Free breakfast was good and good selection too - staff kept on bringing food out even near the breakfast end time!
There's a supermarket opposite the hotel and restaurants nearby... I would definitely come back to hamburg and stay at this hotel again!
If you go to hamburg definitely check out the miniature wonderland- it's amazing :)
Thank you again holiday inn express!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pangster81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear guest Pangster81,

thanks for taking the the time to give us a feedback after your stay at our hotel.
We are glad that you had such a nice stay here and spent nice days with a lot of sightseeing in Hamburg.
I am sorry for the trouble with the lights in your room at arrival. But we are glad that our staff found a solution and could fix this on the next day.

We would be glad to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre.

Kind regards,

Melanie Bröhan
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    301
    148
    33
    11
See reviews for
187
208
37
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Very clean room, staff were very helpful with a charger for my daughters phone too, they lent one without any cost, in addition they were happy to print out our boarding passes.

Free WIFI was great too, you will need one set of login details for each device, available from reception.

There is only a small car park that seemed to fill up after 6pm, I guess you could get 10 or so cars in total parked.

Communication was not a problem as you would expect.

If you are used to the UK Holiday Inn Express doing evening snacks like pizza than be aware this is not the case here, however there are a lot of places to eat in the local area within easy walking distance.

There is a bar for drinks and peanuts etc.

You do get breakfast, however we left at 5am so we missed out on this.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the ground floor that are to the back, 010 - 015 from memory, as they have windows on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear guest Darren I,

thanks for your feedback after your stay at our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you had a nice stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Center.
We have a parking garage which has a lot of parking places available. Only the parking area behind our hotel is quite small with only a few parking places. But the costs of both parking areas are the same and will be charged with 10€ per night.
At our hotel we only have a breakfast restaurant, but nearby there a some restaurants for lunch and dinner in walking distance.
Concerning the rooms you can request a desire if you like to have a quiet room, a room on the 1st floor, a room with one big bed or two seperate beds and so on.

It would be nice to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Center.

Kind regards,

Melanie Bröhan

Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We booked another Holiday Inn this year because the one we had in Berlin was so nice that we thought stick to what we know and we were not disappointed,in fact our rooms were better than last year.
We flew in from Edinburgh and found the Train system very easy to use which was handy as the underground was just 5 mins walk from the hotel.The rooms were very clean and tidy and had towels changed every day,the breakfast was very good and plenty.
At the back of the hotel was a very handy supermarket.
To get into the city centre the underground took just 10mins we found the cheapest way to get around was a all day 5person ticket to use after 9am and costs 10.40euros which was a bargain.
We found the people very friendly and helpful and the city is amazing especially if you go up st..Michaels church tower as you get a 360 panoramic view.If you go down to the harbour there is an old coffee ware house serving an amazing array of different coffees from around the world well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Choose a family room as this gives you a sofa bed to sit on
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear guest Susan J,

thanks for your positive feedback after your stay at our hotel.
I am glad to hear that we could come up with your expectations and you have spent nice days in Hamburg with a lot of sightseeing.
Thanks for the praise about our staff. I will pass it on to our staff in all departments and they will be glad to hear such a nice compliment.

We would be glad to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Center.

Melanie Bröhan
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
177 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

US brands in Europe tend to model themselves to their parent counterpart, and it's mostly a good thing. If you want to tour; but still maintain some contact with home experiences, it's a good pick. Great mostly English speaking staff, all were courteous and helpful. One big difference is the breakfast buffet, done in European style with great coffee, a nice assortment of mixed items, and while nothing is hot; there is plenty of variety including meats and cheeses, nearly something for everyone.

Add on's can be frustrating. Unless you are Platinum in their rewards program, internet is an extra and that's still the case in most of Germany in my limited experience. Parking is an extra; although a little less onerous if you're platinum, and it's safe and lighted.

I had a single room; and it was small; but spotless, nice desk to work at; roomy shower with good pressure and temperature, no issues.

This is a pretty crowded venue; so it may be difficult to extend a stay if you love it, plan ahead. One big thing, and it's not a problem but so you know before you go: rooms are paid in advance upon check in, so if you leave early, you'll need to negotiate. I didn't, so it was no issue, but I tried to extend and no way, booked sold. Pricing was very competitive for services offered. Good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I wasn't expecting much, so I was pleasantly surprised. Short taxi or train ride from the main train station. Supermarket next door. Close to 2 local train stations for easy access to the rest of the city. Nothing really in walking distance.
Room was modern, clean, very spacious and comfortable. TV was a bit small but other than that fantastic. It's annoying to have to pay 5Euro per day for wifi in the room though. Could go into the lobby for free wifi though.
Breakfast was standard German fare, which I enjoy. During peak times it's very busy but there are signs about that in the lifts, so you can plan when to go down accordingly.
Friendly staff and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NaHu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Modern rooms, friendly staff, huge buffet breakfast. Staff refilled food stations constantly. Huge TV screen in lobby where people watched the German national soccer team (in the evening).
Big supermarket behind the hotel - super convenient.

Room Tip: Get a room away from Lubecker St - it's a traffic artery and can be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbafan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

It’s a nice 3* hotel not far from the city centre for adequate price if you make an early booking. The hotel is located close to the metro station Lubecker Street, which provides quick and easy access to the city center
Modern, clean and spacious enough room with tea and coffee making facilities, kind staff, adequate breakfast, parking facilities, supermarket opposite the street.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D_M046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Holiday Inn Hamburg
#95 of 318 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre
Address: Lubecker Strasse 109, 22087 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamburg's first brand new entirely non smoking hotel will open in Autumn 2009! The brand new Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre is located in the center of Hamburg only a few minutes away from all of Hamburg s numerous attractions. The subway station Luebecker Strasse and Wartenau are only a few minutes on foot. The Alster is only a short stroll away and gives you quite a view across this historic city. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre offers 179 non smoking luxurious en suite air-conditioned bedrooms, each with flat screen colour TV with a variety of channels, modem point, High Speed Wi-Fi Internet Connectivity, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre has an interior designed full service bar with 50inch flat screen TVs, a comfortable dining area, air conditioning and high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the entire hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre offers affordable on-site car parking with direct access to the hotel. Stay Smart, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre is expecting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing