We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best curtains ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre
Ranked #58 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best curtains ever!”
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

We were assigned a room on the front of the building adjacent to the busy road and yet the sound proofing was good enough that we didn't hear the traffic (aside from the occasional faint siren), and the curtains so good that the room was completely dark. Those that didn't set alarms over slept because no daylight got in!
Rooms are comfortable, staff friendly and the breakfast is reasonable.

Hotel is convenient for two Underground stops, the nearest being just on U1 line.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ChrisHesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    310
    157
    34
    11
See reviews for
194
217
37
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Hotel is 2 stop from main city centre and was very easy to locate. Staff was more than happy to help you and room was very clean.
Breakfast is good if you are not looking for a somewhat special.Free wi fi and a grocery store nearby if get stuck with something on a long trip.Maybe hotel can get some new lockers in room as mine got stuck twice with correct code.

We stayed for a night and recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vishokeenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear guest Vishokeenda,

thanks for your great feedback after your stay at our hotel.
It is nice to hear that you had a good stay and spent nice days in Hamburg.
We are glad that you were satisfied with the benefits and our hotel staff during your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre.
I will pass the Information concerning the lockers forward to our technique department and we will find a solution for this kind of problem.

We would be glad to welcome you back at the Holiday inn Express Hamburg City Centre.

Kind regards,

Melanie Bröhan
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Checked in for 3 nights 2 rooms at the holiday inn express on Halloween!

Hotel is in good location only 2 stops on u ban (underground) to hamburg city and 20 mins from airport which costs about £25.

Friendly hotel staff and efficient - 2 lights were blown in our room when we checked in so I called up the reception and they were happy to change our room or maintenance can fix in the morning (we have a cot in our room so we decided to leave it that night) we went out the next day and the lights were fixed when we got back!!
Free breakfast was good and good selection too - staff kept on bringing food out even near the breakfast end time!
There's a supermarket opposite the hotel and restaurants nearby... I would definitely come back to hamburg and stay at this hotel again!
If you go to hamburg definitely check out the miniature wonderland- it's amazing :)
Thank you again holiday inn express!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pangster81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear guest Pangster81,

thanks for taking the the time to give us a feedback after your stay at our hotel.
We are glad that you had such a nice stay here and spent nice days with a lot of sightseeing in Hamburg.
I am sorry for the trouble with the lights in your room at arrival. But we are glad that our staff found a solution and could fix this on the next day.

We would be glad to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre.

Kind regards,

Melanie Bröhan
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Very clean room, staff were very helpful with a charger for my daughters phone too, they lent one without any cost, in addition they were happy to print out our boarding passes.

Free WIFI was great too, you will need one set of login details for each device, available from reception.

There is only a small car park that seemed to fill up after 6pm, I guess you could get 10 or so cars in total parked.

Communication was not a problem as you would expect.

If you are used to the UK Holiday Inn Express doing evening snacks like pizza than be aware this is not the case here, however there are a lot of places to eat in the local area within easy walking distance.

There is a bar for drinks and peanuts etc.

You do get breakfast, however we left at 5am so we missed out on this.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the ground floor that are to the back, 010 - 015 from memory, as they have windows on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear guest Darren I,

thanks for your feedback after your stay at our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you had a nice stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Center.
We have a parking garage which has a lot of parking places available. Only the parking area behind our hotel is quite small with only a few parking places. But the costs of both parking areas are the same and will be charged with 10€ per night.
At our hotel we only have a breakfast restaurant, but nearby there a some restaurants for lunch and dinner in walking distance.
Concerning the rooms you can request a desire if you like to have a quiet room, a room on the 1st floor, a room with one big bed or two seperate beds and so on.

It would be nice to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Center.

Kind regards,

Melanie Bröhan

Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We booked another Holiday Inn this year because the one we had in Berlin was so nice that we thought stick to what we know and we were not disappointed,in fact our rooms were better than last year.
We flew in from Edinburgh and found the Train system very easy to use which was handy as the underground was just 5 mins walk from the hotel.The rooms were very clean and tidy and had towels changed every day,the breakfast was very good and plenty.
At the back of the hotel was a very handy supermarket.
To get into the city centre the underground took just 10mins we found the cheapest way to get around was a all day 5person ticket to use after 9am and costs 10.40euros which was a bargain.
We found the people very friendly and helpful and the city is amazing especially if you go up st..Michaels church tower as you get a 360 panoramic view.If you go down to the harbour there is an old coffee ware house serving an amazing array of different coffees from around the world well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Choose a family room as this gives you a sofa bed to sit on
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear guest Susan J,

thanks for your positive feedback after your stay at our hotel.
I am glad to hear that we could come up with your expectations and you have spent nice days in Hamburg with a lot of sightseeing.
Thanks for the praise about our staff. I will pass it on to our staff in all departments and they will be glad to hear such a nice compliment.

We would be glad to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Center.

Melanie Bröhan
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
184 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

US brands in Europe tend to model themselves to their parent counterpart, and it's mostly a good thing. If you want to tour; but still maintain some contact with home experiences, it's a good pick. Great mostly English speaking staff, all were courteous and helpful. One big difference is the breakfast buffet, done in European style with great coffee, a nice assortment of mixed items, and while nothing is hot; there is plenty of variety including meats and cheeses, nearly something for everyone.

Add on's can be frustrating. Unless you are Platinum in their rewards program, internet is an extra and that's still the case in most of Germany in my limited experience. Parking is an extra; although a little less onerous if you're platinum, and it's safe and lighted.

I had a single room; and it was small; but spotless, nice desk to work at; roomy shower with good pressure and temperature, no issues.

This is a pretty crowded venue; so it may be difficult to extend a stay if you love it, plan ahead. One big thing, and it's not a problem but so you know before you go: rooms are paid in advance upon check in, so if you leave early, you'll need to negotiate. I didn't, so it was no issue, but I tried to extend and no way, booked sold. Pricing was very competitive for services offered. Good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I wasn't expecting much, so I was pleasantly surprised. Short taxi or train ride from the main train station. Supermarket next door. Close to 2 local train stations for easy access to the rest of the city. Nothing really in walking distance.
Room was modern, clean, very spacious and comfortable. TV was a bit small but other than that fantastic. It's annoying to have to pay 5Euro per day for wifi in the room though. Could go into the lobby for free wifi though.
Breakfast was standard German fare, which I enjoy. During peak times it's very busy but there are signs about that in the lifts, so you can plan when to go down accordingly.
Friendly staff and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaHu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Holiday Inn Hamburg
#82 of 318 in Hamburg
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre
Address: Luebecker Str. 109, 22087 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamburg's first brand new entirely non smoking hotel will open in Autumn 2009! The brand new Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre is located in the center of Hamburg only a few minutes away from all of Hamburg s numerous attractions. The subway station Luebecker Strasse and Wartenau are only a few minutes on foot. The Alster is only a short stroll away and gives you quite a view across this historic city. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre offers 179 non smoking luxurious en suite air-conditioned bedrooms, each with flat screen colour TV with a variety of channels, modem point, High Speed Wi-Fi Internet Connectivity, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre has an interior designed full service bar with 50inch flat screen TVs, a comfortable dining area, air conditioning and high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the entire hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre offers affordable on-site car parking with direct access to the hotel. Stay Smart, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre is expecting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing