We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel about 4 or 5 metro stops from Hamburg city-centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre
Ranked #65 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We managed to book 8 rooms this time for our large group and all of us were happy staying here. It is 4 or 5 stops on the Metro from Central Station and cheaper than staying in the city-centre area.
The rooms were spotless and well equipped, with a nice walk-in shower room from the toilet area.
The free breakfast is a nice bonus, and the choice of food on offer is good. The breakfast room is quite large but it still can be very crowded at certain times, because the hotel is usually quite full.
There is a large TV screen in the lobby, which was very popular for watching World Cup matches.
The staff are always very welcoming here, and for sure we shall come back again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room facing the street because the back rooms facing the supermarket can be quite noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest Mrs. Sandra C


Thank you very much for staying with us in our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre.
It is great to hear that you have spent a great time with us, and we appreciate the detailed review of your stay. We are pleased to see that especially our rooms/shower room have completely convinced you.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back as our guest soon.

Kind regards,

Dennis Strich
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is clean (the rooms are small but adequate), and the breakfast is fabulous. But the name is a misnomer--it is nowhere near the city center of Hamburg. We were given a map of Hamburg when we checked in, and the hotel was off the map. We had hoped to be within walking distance of the center of town--no such luck. The area around the hotel is not particularly pleasant, and a rather long taxi ride from the actual center of town. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear guest Susan M,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your recent stay with us. I´m very pleased to know that you enjoyed the facilities of the hotel specially the cleanliness and the breakfast.
We hope despite the disappointment regarding the location, to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again at some point in the future

kind regards,

Filipe Santos
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We chose to stay in this hotel, and pay a little more, as breakfast was included, and it was away from the very centre of the city. Good Choice!! The hotel is very modern, spotlessly clean and with welcoming staff. I speak some German, but not enough to hold a conversation ... not a problem. Front desk staff spoke perfect English and were extremely helpful, as first time visitors to Hamburg, asked us where we wanted to see, and told us exactly how to get there, with a free map. The room was excellent, clean and fresh. Good double size shower and comfortable beds. Continental breakfast buffet was excellent and set us up for the day. There's a small supermarket at the rear of the hotel open 7am to 10pm. Our room overlooked their car park but there was no noise or disruption. We didn't use the supermarket as we were only staying one night, but it was good to know it was there if we needed it. Located about three minutes walk from Lubecker Strasse U-Bahn station, we were in the city centre inside ten minutes. Top Tip - buy an after 9am ticket for the HVV (Hamburg Transport). It covers the regional trains, underground, buses and ferries, all day for 5.90 Euros. People were paying 20 Euros for boat trips, when you can travel for miles on the HVV ferry routes included on the all day ticket. Thoroughly recommend this hotel and will definately stay again when we return to Hamburg.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear guest Rob N,

thanks for your nice and very positive feedback after your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre.
We are glad that you were satisfied with your stay at our hotel and have spent nice days in Hamburg.
Thanks a lot for your praise about the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff.
Nice to hear that you visit such a lot of places of interest and have received a few of informations of our staff.
We would be glad to welcome you back soon at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre.

Kind regards,

Melanie Bröhan
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

It is a hotel that is 5-7 minutes from the U-Bahn and is very close from center,from the airport is only 25 min drive.
There is a complimentary breakfast also.
The hotel for the money is fine,it is not so expensive for this tipe of a hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaleV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Center to spend your holidays

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Hamburg

Looking forward seeing you again soon

Kind regards,

Filipe Santos

Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and as Holiday Inn's go it was fine, it is what you would expect. Our room was clean and spacious the bed was comfortable. The pressure in the shower is fabulous it really gives you a good start to the day. The breakfast available is perfect also light and filling, fresh bread and crossiants with cheese ham etc, really good. Only gripe would be no breakfast tea only one they had tasted bit funny for me.

Another issue was the blocked drain in our shower we didn't notice the smell until we came back from being out all day. The smell was disgusting like rotten turnips and stayed for the duration of our stay. We didn't report this as the housekeeper must have known due to our window being opened and the shower screen being held open. Not a massive issue but definitely a must to be fixed.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear guest Rachel M,

thanks for taking the time to give us a feedback concerning your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre.
We are glad that you had a quite nice stay at our hotel.
I would like to apologize for the circumstances with the shower during your stay. Of course the housekeeping department should have recognized the smell in the bathroom and the opened window. We will talk to the housekeeping department and will train them how to handle in this case to avoid such kind of situations.
But please give us an Information next time to react in this case and to afford you a nice stay at our hotel.

We would be glad to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre.

Kind regards,

Melanie Bröhan
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The hotel is located close to the subway station Lubecker strasse, which is an excelent starting point if you want to explore the city.

The easiest way to travel is by subway. Start by buying a day ticket (called "9 o'clock ticket as on workdays it becames valid only at 9 am, but works all day during a weekend). For just 5,90€ you can travel in the "big" Hamburg area. This one will also get you to the airport.

Also the supermarket, which is accessible from he backyard, is a plus.

The rooms are nice and clean, very comfortable bed, flat screen TV - in short, simple and elegant. WIFI works perfectly (you just need to get a user id / password from the reception and it's valid for 24 hours).

Breakfast was a nice surprise, because we were not aware that it was included in our rate (on the other hand the rate was quite high). Not very comprehensive, but enough to fill your belly.
It is by the way the only meal they serve, but you can get some drinks from the bar.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Jola,

thanks for your feedback after your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre.
We are glad that you had a nice stay at our hotel and were satisfied with the location of the hotel and the accessibility to the public transportations.
The Holiday Inn Express hotels only serve breakfast. But if you need informations about restaurants for dinner nearby our staff will help you.
We don´t have a minibar in the room but we have a vending machine where you can buy some drinks or otherwise you can get drinks at our hotel bar which you can take up to the room.

We would be glad to welcome you back soon at our hotel.

Kind regards,

Melanie Bröhan
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Positives : Clean rooms with decent interiors, efficient staff, location averagely good with huge supermarket in the same premises. Good number of cafes nd restaurant around hotel for take aways or sit nd enjoy.
Negatives : I hve been to 4 holiday inn exp in 3 different countries amongst all this had so bad brkfast. 3-4 kinds of bread, tea coffee nd hot chocolate? Ya some time boiled eggs if availabe...hw can sch a huge hotel with so poor breakfast !!! Why not some beans or some boiled vegetables ? Is that really too difficult ?

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank bhavsar1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear guest Gujar,

thanks for your feedback after your stay at our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with your stay at our hotel and that you was satisfied with the location of the hotel, the rooms and the staff.
I regret that you were not satisfied with the breakfast buffet. We offer a continental breakfast buffet- this is the standard off all Holiday Inn Express Hotels in Germany. It is a breakfast buffet without warm dishes- we only offer boiled eggs.

We would be glad to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre.

Kind regards,

Melanie Bröhan
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altona-Altstadt
NH Hamburg Altona
NH Hamburg Altona
#52 of 321 in Hamburg
926 reviews
Bridge Inn Hotel
#220 of 321 in Hamburg
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre

Address: Luebecker Str. 109, 22087 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: £61 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamburg's first brand new entirely non smoking hotel will open in Autumn 2009! The brand new Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre is located in the center of Hamburg only a few minutes away from all of Hamburg s numerous attractions. The subway station Luebecker Strasse and Wartenau are only a few minutes on foot. The Alster is only a short stroll away and gives you quite a view across this historic city. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre offers 179 non smoking luxurious en suite air-conditioned bedrooms, each with flat screen colour TV with a variety of channels, modem point, High Speed Wi-Fi Internet Connectivity, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre has an interior designed full service bar with 50inch flat screen TVs, a comfortable dining area, air conditioning and high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the entire hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre offers affordable on-site car parking with direct access to the hotel. Stay Smart, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre is expecting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing