We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, spotless and value for money!!!”
Review of Arcade-Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arcade-Hostel
Samoens, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great hotel, spotless and value for money!!!”
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We stayed 3 nights and were the only ones in the hotel basically. Had a lovely quiet room and hired a laptop for 24 hours for 10 euros. The staff were lovely, super helpful provided us with maps etc and let us leave our backpacks in the reception for an afternoon.
The rooms were very clean and the cleaners were around all day. The breakfast was nice with a good selection!
Located 10 minutes drive from the main station, we paid for a taxi as we arrived late at night (16 euros) and he had no issue finding the hotel. The television had English channels, nice to unwind after weeks on end of backpacking.
Great hotel, would go back!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miasmith9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
27
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We stayed at the Arcade Hostel in late February before moving into our own apartment in Hamburg. We choose the hostel because it is not far away from the Autobahn exit and therefore easy to find. But don't be mistaken, it doesn't mean you can hear the cars, not at all. The hostel is located in the 2nd row with an own, free parking lot located behind it. Buses into the city are conveniently leaving about 100m away and need approx. 30min. The room was nice and clean, all furnished by IKEA which creates a nice warm feeling while not increasing the cost. We payed 39 Euros for a double room with the toilet on the floor but shower and sink inside the room. We booked directly through the hostels website which was cheaper than booking it via another website. The hostel also offers snacks, drinks and breakfast for an additional 6 Euros. We didn't use it, but it looked quite alright for that kind of money.
If you come to Hamburg and don't mind taking the bus to the city center or want to go to Hagenbecks Tierpark or a game of the HSV, I can only recommend staying at Arcade Hostel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWiedemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

this hostel was more like a hotel - rooms were very comfortable, with tv and bathroom, and also very clean. the staff were welcoming and friendly.
we were only in hamburg for two days, and during winter, so upon reflection would have booked somewhere closer to the city centre. it was difficult to get a real impression of the city in such a short time whilst staying in a location which was out of the way.
for a longer stay, or for people who are familiar with the city, i would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Ja! All I can say is, that I never saw such a great hostel anywhere. We just spend one night there. But it was great. And the breakfast is the most tasty breakfast I ever had away from home! ;)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shevron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Eimsbüttel
TRYP by Wyndham Hamburg Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altona-Altstadt
Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Pauli
Eimsbüttel
NewLivingHome
NewLivingHome
#119 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Ibis Budget Hamburg Altona
#120 of 318 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcade-Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcade-Hostel

Property: Arcade-Hostel
Address: Kieler Str. 385, 22525 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Eimsbüttel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 97 Speciality Lodging in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Arcade-Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Arcade-Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing