We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel One Hamburg Alster
Ranked #22 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Good value for money, friendly staff, clean and functional. The rooms are not huge, but they are very well designed and the soundproofing is great. There is no phone, minibar or kettle in the room. However, there is a TV, desk and free wifi. The breakfast at 7.5 Euros per person is very good value for money, but I would suggest eating early as the queue for breakfast after 8.30 was long – this was, however, at the weekend and may not be such a problem on a weekday. The metro station is just outside the door making getting into the city easy. Car parking under the hotel at 11 Euros a day was also very convenient. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svanfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2013

This is a perfect hotel for the business traveler as it includes everything you need. Breakfast, free internet and a very simple room with TV. Price performance is perfect compared with other hotels. The service was outstanding and every real clean and proper.

Room Tip: Through internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maldewereld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

I have grown to be a big fan of the MotelOne (MO) properties, just because I have never been let down - yet.

It is a bit like eating at a burger franchise: they are more or less all the same and you know what to expect. I also quite like the modern corporate design of MO and although their prices vary from location to location, they are almost always among the most reasonably priced. As I have written some reviews of other MO properties, I will just list some facts and pros and cons about the Hamburg-Alster.

Location is very good, although the name is a bit misleading: the hotel is located on Steindamm, not directly on the Alster, although some rooms on the upper floors command spectacular views of the latter. Very convenient for those who get off at Hamburg Central Station, as you only need to catch the subway (U1, direction Großhansdorf) and get off at the next stop (Lohmühlenstraße).The MO is directly outside the subway exit, a tall building with 18 (?) floors. Steindamm is pretty seedy in places, especially toward the central station area, but probably not overly dangerous. Still, the subway may be your best bet for getting downtown.

PROs: central location, general state of rooms, furniture, reasonable price, good value for money, friendly staff, very fast elevators, easy connection to public transport

CONs: Air conditioning not working (shut down for winter?), room relatively stuffy (but windows *can* be opened)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cosmopolite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

This is the second time we stayed in this hotel in Hamburg. Last year it was still new and I was very pleasantly surprised that a year later it is just as clean and fresh as then. This is not a luxury hotel by any means, but it does provide good size rooms, with very nice bathrooms and a great lobby that is always buzzing with guests enjoying a drink and having a pleasant time. Just be aware, that like in any German hotel, the mattress is extremely firm!
The staff is professional and friendly. The breakfast is a great deal at 7.50 Euro, with which you get free WiFi access for a day. If you don't take the breakfast, WiFi costs 5 Euro. With breakfast you get a great selection of fresh veggies, fruit, cold cuts, breads, eggs, etc. This is a pretty typical European breakfast offer in these parts. It is fresh and a good start to the day.
It may seem that the location is not the best, but in fact the subway station is just outside the front door, and for 9.90 Euro, you can buy a day pass for up to 5 adults, which can get you into the center of the city in about 10 minutes, and arrives very frequently. If you drive, there is underground parking right under the hotel as well.
Overall, this is a basic hotel that offers great value for money. I will stay here again next time we go to Hamburg.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators, as you can hear them if you are next to one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyLifeAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

How can you criticise Motel One? They give you excellent value for money but you do get what you pay for. The rooms are very small and you have to pay for the internet though it is reasonable compared to some other hotels. Unfortunately from our room we heard the lift going up and down all night! Very convenient for transport - either a 10 minute walk from the Hauptbahnhof or one stop on the U-bahn. But again, for business, it is safe, convenient, clean and value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCrC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Just came back from a weekend in Hamburg at the One Motel Alster. Is is quite new, everything is very well organized, the Furniture is great (Danish Arne Jacobsen), and everything works well. Nice breakfast. You don't have everything, but you have what you need. The bed is a bit hard, but on the other hand, you don't wake your partner up, every time you move! The bathsrooms are clean and new. Small. It is acroos a hospital, so expect an ambulance, also at night. I missed a possiblity to make a cup of tea. The bathrooms offer shampoo and a glass of plastic, that's all. Very nice staff, all of them, from the cleaning help to the reception, everybody greets and are very polite.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen-Lise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We liked our 2 night stay in this motel. We parked our car in their parking garage.The receptionist was friendly and gave us a map of Hamburg and told us about the attractions. The motel is within walking distance to the aussen Alster lake, which is very nice. Room is compact and nicely decorated. We booked the room incl. breakfast buffet which was comprehensive and free wifi is included. The U-bahn is next to the motel and there are some restaurants and shops in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naatje67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hammerbrook
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
#15 of 321 in Hamburg
914 reviews
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#6 of 321 in Hamburg
1,513 reviews
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#14 of 321 in Hamburg
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Hamburg Alster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Hamburg Alster

Address: Steindamm 102, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Hamburg
#32 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#43 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £83 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel One Hamburg Alster 2.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget Design Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel One Hamburg Alster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 1 Hamburg Alster
Motel One Hamburg Alster Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing