We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel One Hamburg Alster
Ranked #22 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed here on business for 3 nights in early July on my own. Very comfortable room & bed - as nice as the pictures shown. Realised I forgot toothpaste on my first night and went to ask reception where I could by some and the girl at reception gave me a mini dental kit for free, saving me walking out to the shops at gone 10pm. 5 minutes walk away from a Lidl which was handy, and the lebanese kebab shop provided an amazing takeaway dinner for less than 10euro for a lamb kebab, rice and salad!
Breakfast was okay, I didn't really have more than tea to be honest, it looked very basic, croissants etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xlolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    375
    56
    12
    4
See reviews for
66
229
85
246
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This hotel gives you good value for your money: The rooms are modern in a minimalistic style, clean and are equipped with aircondition - great!

The neighborhood is quite boring, but take the U-bahn just a step away from the hotel and you will quickly arrive in the center of Hamburg.

Note: The breakfast is not worth the 7,5 Euros - there is a small selection and it looked boring. Go to the city center and find some proper breakfast like i did.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 19th floor such as room 1911-1921 and you will have a fantastic view over the inne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesper R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We were 5 days in Hamburg. The hotel is clean and beautiful with friendly personnel. The windows view is not very nice. The rooms are too small. There is no minibar in the rooms. There is no soap in the restroom either. The internet WIFI is free but it is problematic and too slow. The breakfast is too expensive for this average breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rouzbeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

8 guys on a football and long weekend. stayed at Motel onw. Very central with good transport connection. clean rooms and good shower. Service at desk was excellent breakfast seemed popular but we went across the park for coffee etc

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pendergrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This is a modern motel with all that you need for an enjoyable and convenient stay. Plenty of car parking, clean and quiet rooms and great variety for breakfast. The price for breakfast is very reasonable, given the choices available. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woofnwinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

we stayed here for 4 nights and were very impressed from the reception to the room to the location to breakfast. The rooms are small but perfectly formed. They are very well sound insulated. The breakfast in the morning was perfectly acceptable in a continental style. We enjoyed wandering around Hamburg and the hotel is a simple 5-10 minute stroll from the Central station and all hamburg has to offer. Well recommended. We used the free wifi (ask for extra codes if you want to use different phones/ ipads as the code is only good for 1 item!). Hired a car and parked it in the underground garage for a night. €11 for direct access and security well worth it.

Room Tip: we asked for the top floor. got the corner room on 19th. Brilliant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMMEYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Good value for money, friendly staff, clean and functional. The rooms are not huge, but they are very well designed and the soundproofing is great. There is no phone, minibar or kettle in the room. However, there is a TV, desk and free wifi. The breakfast at 7.5 Euros per person is very good value for money, but I would suggest eating early as the queue for breakfast after 8.30 was long – this was, however, at the weekend and may not be such a problem on a weekday. The metro station is just outside the door making getting into the city easy. Car parking under the hotel at 11 Euros a day was also very convenient. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svanfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
ARCOTEL Rubin
#63 of 317 in Hamburg
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Motel One Hamburg - Altona
#69 of 317 in Hamburg
330 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#29 of 317 in Hamburg
1,447 reviews
Ibis Hamburg City
#43 of 317 in Hamburg
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Hamburg Alster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Hamburg Alster

Property: Motel One Hamburg Alster
Address: Steindamm 102, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Hamburg
#16 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#31 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#42 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel One Hamburg Alster 2.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget Design Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel One Hamburg Alster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 1 Hamburg Alster
Motel One Hamburg Alster Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing