We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise and good value for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Amedia Hamburg
Ranked #83 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Coming late into town on a flight with 6 hours of delay and busted business meetings, you have just that one wish: Hope the night won't be a disaster! This hotel is just some 10 minutes drive from the airport, so you are in quickly.

First impression: The lobby was clean and modern looking, the personnel was somewhat tired, but helpful at 8:30 pm. The room was pretty new, not small, the shower was nice and Wifi for free - not common in major German cities.

The place is situated about 200 yards way from a subway and train station, with frequent runs into town, so a great starting point for a tour towards downtown.

Breakfast (included in the booking) was rich and good (at 8:00 am), orange juice almost gone, and the servants a little "lazy"

Had just one night to stay there, but the overall impression was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe_Lorenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Amedia Hamburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2012

This was a great hotel. 2 mins from the subway station that connects directly with the Hamburg Airport. The price was great and the room clean and confortable. Breakfast seemed pricey but we just went to a cafe by the subway. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I was scared to book at this hotel based on all the recent reviews on this site. But, I had little option since I needed to be very near to the airport (and other hotels were either too cheap-hence worse-or too expensive).

This is my second stay at this hotel - I stayed here in December and am currently staying here.

So, the good points:
- Clean rooms, very modern
- Great shower - this is very important to me - hot water, good pressure
- Nice restaurant
- One stop from the airport (less than 5 minutes train ride)
- about 10 stops from the main stations
- 2 minute walk from the train station
- the reception is very helpful
- Good Internet speeds on the Wifi

Why it is not rated 5:
- The beds are on the smallish side - for my 6ft+ frame, that is a big problem.
- The TV is very small - but I hardly ever watch it, so its not a negative for me
- The breakfast is very expensive - for 14 euros, what is on offer is very little - I've had better
- One of my colleagues who stayed there in December complained of poor wifi in his room
- the work desk has a stool for a chair

Both the times I stayed, I asked them to provide me a room which has two of these beds combined together, so that I don't suffer from the smaller sizes. Both times they changed my room.

I will stay here again anytime I need to be near the airport.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whoisvaibhav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

The next generation of hotel? Hopefully not! The recently opened hotel is a great disappointment and does by far not keep the expectations they arouse. There is a big gap between promise and reality. A few examples:

Amedia: We will fascinate you with an excellent breakfirst.
Reality: After 08h30 you have to wait for more than 30 minutes to get a free table. Breakfirst room is totally overcrowded. If a table is available, you are not served. If you complain at the reception desk, they can not influence as the restaurant does not belong to the hotel. A "fascinating" start into the day.

Amedia: The hotel lives a modern touch, technology and design.
Reality: The hotel has a modern, colourful design and concept. So far so good. Unfortunately the design is bourne by an open, not closable en-suite bathroom. Furthermore, water tightness of shower is not given. Bathroom in consequence is flooded.

Amedia: Free media.
Reality: Right, but what does it help if you can not benefit of it. Remote control system was not working at all.

Further grievance:
Safe was not switched on.
Elevator did not work.
Not enough staff at the reception desk.
Not enough parking space.
Hotel seems to look for short-term investment payback by contracts with "Cheap Coach Trips". Hotel guests are accordingly.

Conclusion: Never again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Business_Travel_Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amoebe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comethelmaelouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marcus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Alsterkrug Hotel
0.9 mi away
Ibis Hamburg Airport
Ibis Hamburg Airport
#59 of 319 in Hamburg
1,155 reviews
1.0 mi away
Leonardo Inn Hotel Hamburg Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Hamburg Airport
Courtyard Hamburg Airport
#66 of 319 in Hamburg
417 reviews
1.4 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Hamburg City Nord
2.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Hamburg Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Amedia Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Amedia Hamburg

Address: Alsterdorfer Strasse 575, 22335 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: £57 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Amedia Hamburg 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the name of our entire staff, we welcome you cordially to the BEST WESTERN Amedia Hotel Hamburg. Design hotels are plentiful, but this one is a prime example of its type. It has all of the advantages you would expect, and more. It is the most important meal of the day, so be sure to make use of our daily breakfast service when you stay with us. There are lots of parking spaces available to guests. Feel free to use our hotel's secure parking lot. Our hotel offers, for a nominal fee, to keep your car safe either in our car park or one of the secure garages.Our competent hotel chef is happy to provide a menu well-suited to any taste of dishes for both diabetics and vegetarians. Outdoor seating is available at the restaurant and bistro-cafe. Air conditioning and Internet access are standard in each of the appealingly arranged rooms. Enjoy the Internet access, the writing-table and the easy-to-use telephone available in all our rooms. Landline calls are free of charge in 24 countries worldwide. There is also a well-stocked mini-bar and a safe offered to be used by the guests in every hotel room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Amedia Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing