We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Amedia Hamburg
Ranked #83 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The property just become part of the BW system. My room was clean and had plenty of space. The air conditioning in the room worked well and there was plenty of light. The in-room snacks were cheaper than locally purchased items. The train station is less than a 100 yards from the hotel making travel around Hamburg very easy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

I spent 3 nights here while on a business trip and would happily choose it again.
The hotel is located 1 stop from the airport with a station almost on the doorstep so it's ideal for travellers. Overall the hotel is clean and has everything you need, a comfortable bed, TV, WiFi and a pretty decent restaurant.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the road and I could imagine that the noise bothers a light sleeper (not me!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulFC1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights.

Hotel is located right next to the railway station
Staff are excellent
Rooms are clean and pleasant with a nice big window to open


It is worth mentioning that the shower and toilet were separate in our room, the shower had a frosted panel of glass looking towards the bed and clear glass looking towards the sink (which is open and not separated from the room), the toilet had frosted glass for the door. Although this didn't bother us at all and will probably not bother most people it all depends who you're travelling with and how close/comfortable you are with them.

I would stay here again if needed to be close to airport (one stop on train).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flipfamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The hotel is, even if quite out of hand, good connected and fine for being a 4 star hotel. The problem arises in the morning when going for breakfast, the only thing that seems to matter there is to hand over your card. Now, I certainly can understand that BF has to be monitored, but there are many nice ways to do that, f.e. with a nice hostess/host at the entrance asking for your room number, otherwise a waiter/waitress coming to your table and asking NICELY, in this case no problem.
Having breakfast in the Amedia Hamburg though really would have been good because the buffet was fine, but it is just soooo distrubing that the staff really bothers, and not in a nice and polite way, even without saying "good morning" just to get the damn breakfast coin.... I mean, we are clients there, we pay so we surely do not want to get bothered in the morning, before having had a coffee, for that coin - leave alone without friendlyness! Maybe they could work and train their staff on that?

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_holzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The hotel is modern and a good recommendation. The open bathroom is not my style, but the generously sized shower with an ample amount of water from the showerhead is great. The downside is the tiny desk which is no good for working in the room.

The buffet breakfast offered a good variety. With ceiling to floor windows,the dining room was well lit and friendly. My room included breakfast.

The free Wifi is a plus.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

A very good business hotel, ideally located with very courteous staff and reasonable rates. I had a very comfortable stay in the hotel and will certainly go back. The metro station is just 50 metres from the hotel which makes it very ideally located - both for the airpport and the city centre. It is also close to a main road (the Alsterdorfer Strasse) - a nice place for walks etc.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonty2069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Amedia is ideally located, one stop on the S-Bahn from the airport, and with easy access by the same, to the city. The hotel is literally at Oldsdorf station. An old building with very modern interior, simply furnished and spotlessly clean. The adjoining restaurant serves a decent dinner at reasonable prices, but with the good transport links, the delights of the city centre are easily available.

Some of the criticisms here of the simplicity, and comparison with chain hotels are unjustified in my opinion. Amedia is way ahead of the Ibis and Leonardo types, and whilst it is not a Marriott or a Hilton, you are not paying those sort of prices.

If you don't want to pay the earth, and place more importance on cleanliness than facilities you will probably never use anyway, then Amedia is perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Alsterkrug Hotel
0.9 mi away
Ibis Hamburg Airport
Ibis Hamburg Airport
#65 of 321 in Hamburg
1,161 reviews
1.4 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Hamburg City Nord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Hamburg Airport
1.0 mi away
Leonardo Inn Hotel Hamburg Airport
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Hamburg Airport
Courtyard Hamburg Airport
#72 of 321 in Hamburg
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Amedia Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Amedia Hamburg

Address: Alsterdorfer Strasse 575, 22335 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: £54 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Amedia Hamburg 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the name of our entire staff, we welcome you cordially to the BEST WESTERN Amedia Hotel Hamburg. Design hotels are plentiful, but this one is a prime example of its type. It has all of the advantages you would expect, and more. It is the most important meal of the day, so be sure to make use of our daily breakfast service when you stay with us. There are lots of parking spaces available to guests. Feel free to use our hotel's secure parking lot. Our hotel offers, for a nominal fee, to keep your car safe either in our car park or one of the secure garages.Our competent hotel chef is happy to provide a menu well-suited to any taste of dishes for both diabetics and vegetarians. Outdoor seating is available at the restaurant and bistro-cafe. Air conditioning and Internet access are standard in each of the appealingly arranged rooms. Enjoy the Internet access, the writing-table and the easy-to-use telephone available in all our rooms. Landline calls are free of charge in 24 countries worldwide. There is also a well-stocked mini-bar and a safe offered to be used by the guests in every hotel room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Amedia Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing