We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great modern hotel, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Ranked #76 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great modern hotel, convenient location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for four days on an April city break. The hotel is very modern and spotlessly clean, the staff were unfailingly helpful and able to answer all our questions. The room was not vast but big enough for the two of us, with a flat screen TV (BBC world only - seems to be the norm in Europe!) and a kettle. The bathroom was very smart with a large shower, the beds comfortable and the room very quiet - in fact we never heard any other residents or outside noise. Breakfast was included - the usual continental mixture of cheeses, cold meats, rolls, croissants etc. Wi-fi was 5 euros a day and worked perfectly.

The best thing about the hotel was its proximity to St Pauli station on the (yellow) U3 line which takes you to most places you want to go to, including the Rathaus and the main line station.

My only gripe is with the hotel's website - the instructions for getting to it are totally wrong! Not only do the train instructions turn into driving instructions, but these have been copied (in English) into the German, French, Italian and Spanish instructions as well (I checked!). Anyone wishing to travel by public transport from the airport ahould get the S1 line to Ohlsdorf, change onto the U1 as far as Kellinghusenstrasse, then take the U3 to St Pauli - a really easy journey (even with suitcases) which takes about 20 mins and costs under 3 euros.

Recommended restaurant - Da Benito, a little Italian restaurant round the corner - good food and excellent service. If you like Indian food, avoid the Maharaha at all costs - the food is appalling and the service indifferent!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Telfordsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    236
    80
    16
    8
See reviews for
56
173
22
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

I decided to stay in this hotel because I have a membership card for this hotel chains. I have only good experience.
Hotel is located just few minutes’ walk from the St. Pauli station and just a walking distance from the center. The hotel is excellent, staff is helpful and friendly, room was clean and comfortable with A/C. Breakfast is good and rich with a good selection of food. Internet connection was not bit slow but still ok and acceptable.
I will definitely stay there again in my next visits.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moreno132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vonolberg, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review, 21 March 2011
Dear Moreno132,

thank you very much for your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe.

I was delighted when I heard about your positive comments here on TripAdvisor especially as you are a member of our Priority Club Rewards Programm.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and had a great time in Hamburg.

I have shared your comments with my team and we all would be delighted to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe.

Best Regards

Nikolas von Olberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

As said before excellent hotel, ideal location in quiet road .Taxi stand outside. Staff very friendly and helpful, special mention for Fabian Muller and Murker Kisker who were especially helpful
One was struck by the cleaniness of the hotel and rooms. Good breakfast and plenty of it.
Would recommend the bus tour of the city leaving from the dock area.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uk_tony1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vonolberg, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
Dear uk_tony1942,

thank you for your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg St. Pauli Messe.

I am very pleased to read, that not only our good location but also the service provided by our staff could convince you.

It is always a pleasure to share a Comment like this with our whole team.

We are looking forward wellcoming you again in Hamburg.

Nikolas von Olberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

Ideal location right by FC St Pauli and only a couple of stops from the centre of Hamburg. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the rooms were compact and very comfortable complete with a monster hot shower. Staff were very nice and more than happy to offer maps/advice on transport. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful, nice touch with quality branded coffee/fruit juices. Checkout was not until 12pm which is a refreshing change. All in all a spot on hotel, keep it up!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris1981Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vonolberg, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Dear chris1981Liverpool,

thank you very much for taking your time writing those motivating and uplifting comments about our hotel.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and had a great time in Hamburg.
If you ever visit Hamburg again we would be delighted to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe

Best Regards

Nikolas von Olberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duisburg, Germany
Level Contributor
167 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2010

I stayed here for a couple of nights when I was visiting Hamburg during school holidays. The hotel was quite crowded and hence the staff was very busy. In spite of this the staff was helpful and polite. The breakfast was included in the room price and was fine. However, the variety was lacking. Also, its easy to get public transport from close to the hotel. So, the whole city can be reached easily.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hgaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vonolberg, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Dear hgaur,

thank you for your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe and taking our time to share your positive impressions here on tripadvisor.com.
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in Hamburg and hope you will continue choosing Holiday Inn Express for your next trip.

Best Regards

Nikolas von Olberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

New hotel and has everything you need for a short stay in Hamburg. Just one block away from the Reeperbahn, the notorious streeet with lots of sex on offer, but alos within a two minute walk of the TUI Operettenhaus.
Breakfast (continental) is included in the roomrate and is sufficient. All in all a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaximBezembinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vonolberg, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Dear MaximBezembinder,

thank you for your positive comment here on tripadvisor.com.
I am glad to hear that you liked staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards

Nikolas von Olberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2010

picked this hotel for location, was not dissapointed. 200meters from st pauli station underground from airport [ via 2 stops 30 mins journey time]. 1 minute walk to reeperbaun street, this street is where all the red light area is including the streets off this one. the pubs and nightlife is great, if you want to get a cheap drink, walk across the road, you will see" burger king"thats where all the "toms" are.down that street towords the port are a good selection of pubs and clubs. long neck bottle 1.60 500ml beer 2euro. back to the hotel, there is the etap hotel and ibis hotel beside the holiday inn. plus a couple other. the hotel tv is not good if you can only speak inglish, unless you enjoy watching bbc world news! on the last evening we found a great little pub " angi pub" i think, or name is very close to this. beer 1 euro!! walk out hotel turn right 500 meters on same side of hotel. also there is a big amusement park behind the hotel about the size of a small village, great for family.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genesisfanIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vonolberg, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Dear genesisfanIreland,

thank you for your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe and taking your time to share your positive impressions here on tripadvisor.com.
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in Hamburg and hope you will continue choosing Holiday Inn Express for your next trip.

Best Regards

Nikolas von Olberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#20 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#95 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Neustadt
Novum Hotel Holstenwall Hamburg Neustadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Address: Simon-von-Utrecht-Str. 39a, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing