We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Hotel with a few flaws...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Ranked #76 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Vienna
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Modern Hotel with a few flaws...”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The location of the hotel is in the St. Pauli district, parallel to the once "infamous" Reeperbahn. The hotel is quite modern, easy access to the city center by walking or by public transportation. We stayed two nights at this hotel, the room we had is the exact copy of the Holiday Inn at Dresden City Center, I guess they had the same interior designer. The room is very small, there is just one table and an office chair, no extra cabinet to put your luggages and no chair where the second guest can sit, relax and watch tv.

The airconditioning was not working in our room, we called the front desk and somebody came to the room to check, after a while, he told us that a/c is actually not individually climate control, but it is controlled centrally and it is located on the roof top, so the airconditioning unit works according to the temperature on the roof top, if the roof top temperature is low, then the heater will be automatically turned on. This is one of the weirdest things I have ever heard. It was hot and humid when we were in Hamburg, although it was raining, the temperature and humidity were unbearable. Since the climate control was not working properly, we asked them to opened the window (it was locked for safety reason?). However we couldn't have a good night sleep because the 2nd night, there was a party going on in the courtyard and it was really annoying loud, the people were chatting and laughing so loud, inconsiderate of the other guests in the hotel.

There are lots of places to eat. I can recommend the Man Wah Dim Sum restaurant located at the Reeperbahn, it's one of the best Chinese restaurants that I have ever eaten, they serve authentic Cantonese cuisine, the service is excellent and fast. Don't miss this restaurant, you'll love it, that is if you enjoy Chinese food, if not, you still have lots of other choices, but no guarantee if they are good or bad...

Just in case the management of this hotel read this review: Please put at least an extra chair in those rooms that have just one office chair, your guests surely want to sit and watch tv on a chair and not in a bed, and a foldable chair for the luggage, it is very inconvenient and very stressful for senior citizens to bend down to get things out of the luggage, because the luggages can just be put on the floor since there is no alternative. Have a heart for the seniors and partially disabled guests please!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maximilliane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    242
    82
    16
    8
See reviews for
61
175
22
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

We booked this hotel for my Stag do as it was a reasonable price and located right at the top of the Reeperbhan ideal for partying and drinking the night away but just off it so it was quiet at night.
The hotel staff were very friendly and efficient - they were able to give us directions to a bar where we were meeting some other frineds. The rooms were a good size , comfortable and very clean. The buffett breakfast was all you could want in the morning.
As i said before the location is great it runs on a road adjacent to the Reeperbhan so just away from the noise but minutes from the bars and clubs. The S bahn station is a 10 min walk that will get you straight into the centre of Hamburg. For a budget trip i could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davehudds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for four days on an April city break. The hotel is very modern and spotlessly clean, the staff were unfailingly helpful and able to answer all our questions. The room was not vast but big enough for the two of us, with a flat screen TV (BBC world only - seems to be the norm in Europe!) and a kettle. The bathroom was very smart with a large shower, the beds comfortable and the room very quiet - in fact we never heard any other residents or outside noise. Breakfast was included - the usual continental mixture of cheeses, cold meats, rolls, croissants etc. Wi-fi was 5 euros a day and worked perfectly.

The best thing about the hotel was its proximity to St Pauli station on the (yellow) U3 line which takes you to most places you want to go to, including the Rathaus and the main line station.

My only gripe is with the hotel's website - the instructions for getting to it are totally wrong! Not only do the train instructions turn into driving instructions, but these have been copied (in English) into the German, French, Italian and Spanish instructions as well (I checked!). Anyone wishing to travel by public transport from the airport ahould get the S1 line to Ohlsdorf, change onto the U1 as far as Kellinghusenstrasse, then take the U3 to St Pauli - a really easy journey (even with suitcases) which takes about 20 mins and costs under 3 euros.

Recommended restaurant - Da Benito, a little Italian restaurant round the corner - good food and excellent service. If you like Indian food, avoid the Maharaha at all costs - the food is appalling and the service indifferent!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Telfordsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

I decided to stay in this hotel because I have a membership card for this hotel chains. I have only good experience.
Hotel is located just few minutes’ walk from the St. Pauli station and just a walking distance from the center. The hotel is excellent, staff is helpful and friendly, room was clean and comfortable with A/C. Breakfast is good and rich with a good selection of food. Internet connection was not bit slow but still ok and acceptable.
I will definitely stay there again in my next visits.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moreno132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vonolberg, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review, 21 March 2011
Dear Moreno132,

thank you very much for your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe.

I was delighted when I heard about your positive comments here on TripAdvisor especially as you are a member of our Priority Club Rewards Programm.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and had a great time in Hamburg.

I have shared your comments with my team and we all would be delighted to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe.

Best Regards

Nikolas von Olberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2011

As said before excellent hotel, ideal location in quiet road .Taxi stand outside. Staff very friendly and helpful, special mention for Fabian Muller and Murker Kisker who were especially helpful
One was struck by the cleaniness of the hotel and rooms. Good breakfast and plenty of it.
Would recommend the bus tour of the city leaving from the dock area.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uk_tony1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vonolberg, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
Dear uk_tony1942,

thank you for your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg St. Pauli Messe.

I am very pleased to read, that not only our good location but also the service provided by our staff could convince you.

It is always a pleasure to share a Comment like this with our whole team.

We are looking forward wellcoming you again in Hamburg.

Nikolas von Olberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Ideal location right by FC St Pauli and only a couple of stops from the centre of Hamburg. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the rooms were compact and very comfortable complete with a monster hot shower. Staff were very nice and more than happy to offer maps/advice on transport. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful, nice touch with quality branded coffee/fruit juices. Checkout was not until 12pm which is a refreshing change. All in all a spot on hotel, keep it up!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris1981Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vonolberg, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Dear chris1981Liverpool,

thank you very much for taking your time writing those motivating and uplifting comments about our hotel.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and had a great time in Hamburg.
If you ever visit Hamburg again we would be delighted to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe

Best Regards

Nikolas von Olberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duisburg, Germany
Level Contributor
165 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

I stayed here for a couple of nights when I was visiting Hamburg during school holidays. The hotel was quite crowded and hence the staff was very busy. In spite of this the staff was helpful and polite. The breakfast was included in the room price and was fine. However, the variety was lacking. Also, its easy to get public transport from close to the hotel. So, the whole city can be reached easily.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hgaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vonolberg, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Dear hgaur,

thank you for your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe and taking our time to share your positive impressions here on tripadvisor.com.
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in Hamburg and hope you will continue choosing Holiday Inn Express for your next trip.

Best Regards

Nikolas von Olberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#20 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#92 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Neustadt
Novum Hotel Holstenwall Hamburg Neustadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Address: Simon-von-Utrecht-Str. 39a, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing