We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, central place to stay in Hamburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Ranked #67 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

This Holiday Inn Express is wonderfully located a short 2 min from famous Reeperbahn as well as from the subway. It's a very new hotel and it shows: the rooms are very clean, not worn down, but not made for a resort vacation. The beds are fine and the showers huge (for Europe).

Downside is the service. I've stayed here several times, it's always been an unnecessarily long wait for check-in, staff is unattentive. Once, even though half a dozen people were waiting for a cab in front of the hotel, they were unable or unwilling to call the cab company.

Tip: visit the bar at fancy, stylish East hotel right next door - fabulous!

Pros: Location, cleanliness, baths.

+-0: Beds (kind of hard), breakfast.

Cons: Service, no gym, room size.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HDYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2012

Dear HD Yankee,

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe. I am delighted to hear that our rooms and the location met your expectations.

I would like to apologize for the slow service you experienced during your stay. I understand that you have had a long day before reaching the hotel and that you were eager to settle into your room. I can only assume that my colleagues’ attention was focused on helping another guest, which is why they appeared to be inattentive.

I hope you accept my apology and are willing to give us another chance to convince you that we can do better the next time you visit Hamburg.

Kind Regards,

Fabienne Mueller
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

If you are looking for no mess no fuss accommodation, this is it. It feels fresh and clean. Like any modern hotel, the rooms are on the small size but it is adequate. Great bathroom. The area is interesting, it is very near some great local restaurants and pubs, plus only a block away from the subway, so very convenient.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms on the side of the hotel that is not the entrance side as the road is fairly busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vuvuzela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and overall we were very pleased with the hotel.

First impressions were good, the hotel is modern and clean and the reception staff are very friendly, helpful and speak excellent English, which was good as my German isn't the best!

The rooms are a good size, and the bathroom has a really nice big shower. I personally found the bed a little too firm and it was on the small side, although I did sleep ok and firmness is a personal preference. Minor issues were that the maid didn't replace mugs that had been used, and one day we didn't have any towels but reception very quickly sorted this for us. The hotel has a policy that if you are happy to re-use your towels to hang them up, and even though we did this they were still replaced with fresh ones. These are very minor issues that did not impact on our stay at all.

Breakfast is excellent and is included in the price. It's a continental style with a selection of various breads, meats, cheese, fruit and cereals. All a very good quality. They did run short of some items on our final morning but this was at their busiest time, and they were always re-stocking the food. The breakfast is served from 6.30-11.00am at weekends and until 10.30 on weekdays. I really liked this as it's nice not to have to get up too early when you are on a break!

There is a small bar in the reception area which we used on a few occasions. While the prices are slightly higher than other bars, it wasn't overly expensive as you can often find in hotels. You are served by reception staff and they are all great people - especially Tobias - what a great guy!!

The hotel is 2 minutes walk from the St Pauli U-Bahn station which is a great way to get around the city. You are also only a few minutes walk from the Reeperbahn which while not to everyones taste is a great place for a night out with plenty of places to eat.

I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoE615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Near to metro, clean rooms, no bar or facilities to speak of but you get a spotless room with a comfortable crisp bed and a shiny bathroom with superb water pressure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

It is your basic holiday inn express and is a great hotel. Was also really close the the U-Bahn and around 30mins walk to the centre. However I think I would try a city centre hotel next time as not much in the area if you do not like the sex industry or the football team

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srm1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This is the second time I am staying in this hotel after the good experience I had while staying there last march. Service is excellent and staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. Location is just 2 minutes walk to Hamburg’s famous Reeperbahn St. where you can find very good restaurants, Cafes and other things to do… one thing that they should improve is their internet speed, and it is very slow. I also wrote this in my last review about this hotel. I will stay in this hotel again in my next visits in Hamburg.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moreno132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Dear Moreno132,

thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at out Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe again. It always delights us to read the opinions from guests returning to the hotel.

I am sorry to hear that the internet connection was quite slow during both of your stays. We will continue to work on improving this issue. I am, however, very glad that our service and offers met your expectations and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards,
Fabienne Mueller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The receptionist required payment in advance, something quite odd in my opinion. After seeing the room, besides small, I agreed to it - aprox. 80 per night - sounded somehow fair. It proved to be a bad choice: bad was not comfortable at all, and the water system was not independent from the shower, so if you are showering and someone is using the sink, you can be seriously burned by the water temperature change. Still on the bathroom, water was leaking from both sink and shower, because of a poor sealing on the pipes.
Breakfast was fair, except for the fact that the juice glasses were as small as 100ml, and it's quite a challenge to access the juice machine.
The only reason why I wouldn't rate it poor is because it decently blocks street noise - although it's really close to the main street, you can sleep quietly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xGabizinhax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#19 of 321 in Hamburg
887 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#70 of 321 in Hamburg
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
Hotel St. Annen
Hotel St. Annen
#1 of 321 in Hamburg
383 reviews
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe

Address: Simon-von-Utrecht-Str. 39a, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £54 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing