We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a quick stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Ranked #77 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
104 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Great place for a quick stopover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I stayed here for 1 night on a road trip. The hotel is on a quiet street in St. Pauli, but close enough to walk to the harbour for a cruise and to Reeperbahn to enjoy the nightlife.

Check-in was smooth, staff very friendly and helpful and parking was within the hotel at a fee. Rooms were small and basic. Complimentary breakfast is provided in all Holiday Inn Express hotels and it was also basic here. I found the bed too soft and the pillows even softer. It seems to be so in the other hotels in Germany too.

Overall, a pleasant stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaywai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    236
    80
    16
    8
See reviews for
56
173
22
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

it is a good hotel in a very good location - just beside of the famouse night life area from hamburg and there had been also few good restaurants just nearby. there was also a metro station 2 minutes away. hotel is pretty nice outfitted.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CireAranjo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

The hotel is not very near the center. It's near Reeperbahn, near the Bismarck monument on one side and the History Museum and a long park on the other side. However one can use the subway to the center (5 stations, we were told). Subway is close to the hotel.
The room was small. New, clean, modern, but small.
The sink in the bathroom is unusually high. Also didn't like the fact that flushing button is located behind the toilet lid (when it's raised), hence making it not comfortable to use.
Shower is good, but it doesn't keep same temperature well.
What was very annoying was the fact that the bathroom had a glass door. At night you can turn on a blue light in the bathroom to see where you're going, but the light goes through the glass door, reflects in the mirror and then shines at the beds. Annoying!
Parking costs 15 euros and otherwise it's difficult to find parking in the area, as it has many parking places only for residents.
You need the key to use the elevator.
Breakfast was good and abundant, even had herrings. There is only one coffee machine, which created a big line during breakfast.
Internet is for a fee, although Priority Club members get it for free.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear transy,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. We are pleased you liked our location as well as our breakfast options. However, I am deeply sorry you found some aspects of our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Overall, we has a very pleasant stay - the positive points below overwhelmingly outweighed the minor negative ones.

Main good points:
- Good location - a few minutes' walk from St Pauli Metro station and 10 minute trip into city centre.
- Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful.
- Room was a decent size (but not large), and clean, with a good sized shower room/cubicle.
- Plenty of soap/shampoo available in room - via large squeezable dispenser.
- Safe provided in room.
- Kettle provided in room.
- Lifts required door access card before use, for added security.
- Good breakfast selection.
- Free ice dispenser in lobby!

Less good points
- A/C in room was underpowered, although (presumably intentionally!) it just about ensured that the room was comfortable. Large window could be opened for ventilation.
- No refrigerator in room
- Apart from news channels (BBC, CNN, CNBC?), there were no English language TV channels
- hotel is just a couple of minutes' walk away from the 'sleazy nightlife' strip, although it didn't really detract from the appeal of the hotel.

Room Tip: Little to choose between front facing and rear facing rooms, as far as we could tell
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripFloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Durkheim, Germany
Level Contributor
191 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Hotel is close to Reeperbahn. Landungsbruecken are within walking distance. The hotel is located in a relatively quiet street, close to other budget hotels.
The rooms are o.k., but don't expect too much space. The bed, although brand new, is quite an experience.
The staff at the check-in is friendly. Parking in the hotel garage was not possible (full), book in advance.
Summarized: a good deal in Hamburg

Room Tip: I stayed on the 5th floor (german numbering)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wulf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I was not sure when 6 off us went to Hamburg for a 4 night stay,The hotel is just far enough away from the Reeperbahn to be quite, but not far away as to have a long walk to get there.
I was very surprised at Hamburg the place is fantastic full of live and very vibrant the bars up and down the Reeperbahn are what you would expect them to be loud and even louder, but go off some off the streets and you find a wonderland of local bars ,Irish bars with live music in them that has to seen to be believed. I was in Hamburg 40 odd years ago very short stays and I was greatly shocked at the city it has to be one of the most beautiful cities I have been in for a long time.
There is a lot of work going on along the docks and a lot of building work at the Harbour.
I would recommend a walk through one of the many parks and there are a few to choose from
stop of at one of the many little squares and sit and have a beer or a drink of your choice and enjoy the local culture the meals are superb and don't cost the earth, all in all a great few days and we will be going back

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Stayed two nights. Room (priority club type) was above average quality, clean and relatively quiet if not exactly huge. Caution...as has been previously noted the water in the showers can be troublesome (early morning shower had nothing but scalding hot water).

Breakfast is okay but the place is super crowded most of the time, although the staff work hard to keep things clean and replenished. Location is excellent, right next to the Reeperbahn, very walkable to the harbor and central city, u-bahn about a block away.

Front desk staff polite and responsive. For an american-style chain, the price is not excessive (as long as you're getting some type discount). Overall, not bad, but not some place I'd go out of my way to book...I'd probably try something else on my next trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gc3inDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#20 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#97 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Neustadt
Novum Hotel Holstenwall Hamburg Neustadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Address: Simon-von-Utrecht-Str. 39a, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing