We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to everything :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novum Hotel Continental Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #187 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We have just spent 3 nights in this hotel visiting the Christmas markets. As people have said the hotel is opposite the station, so is very convenient when coming from the airport. The hotel has the smallest reception that i have ever seen lol, but thats fine. we had a room on the second floor, and at the back of the hotel, and we just looked onto other rooms. i didnt mind not having a view really, as this made it very quiet with no street noise, but it did make the room a little dark, so i think they maybe need some really bright lights in there. The room we had was big, the bathroom modern, and the whole place was spotless. As people have said, they are no English channels on the tv, but that didnt bother us. breakfast was lovely with a good choice of food. The station opposite has lots of shops, including a couple of little supermarket type places if you wants snacks or water etc, plus many places to eat in there. As i said we were there for the Christmas markets, and they are all in easy walking distance, around the town centre. i would definitely recommend this hotel, and would stop here again. my only negative is that they could do with stronger lights in the place, as the room and stairwells were a little dark, but its only a minor thing :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n0rthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Nice, updated and spacious rooms. Clean and updated bathroom as well. Allthough the windows muffle the traffic sounds very well, the rooms facing the street are still affected by busy morning traffic noise. The breakfast is a treat: scrambled eggs and bacon, different breads, youghurt, cheeses and cold meats. Just a stones throw from the main train station and the shopping area, as well as many small restaurants in the St. Georg quarter makes it a perfect location. A great value for money!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EuTravelMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at the Continental Novum for 3 nights , firstly I will focus on the positives , location is great near the main central station ,everywhere spotlessly clean , good bathroom, the negatives however for me far outweigh this , one of the smallest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in with really dark furniture which made it even worse we spent as little time as possible here , breakfast poor, cigarette burn in the headboard of bed , lamp with no bulb , window broken , noisy building work woke us early the Monday morning at our window, unfriendly guy on reception of no assistance throughout stay. I could not recommend a stay here for E 283 for 3 nights there has got to be better out there in my opinion , very disappointing & we travel a lot

Room Tip: We had room 51 a nice bathroom tiny bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed two nights here. The hotel looks outdated on the outside, and could use some sprucing up. I was nervous at first because of its outward appearance. However, the hotel seems to have been recently renovated. I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel corridors were spotless. Our room was spotless and renovated as well. It is a small double room, but that is customary. The bathroom was HUGE! Very clean!! That is always the biggest thing for me, and I was very happy. The breakfast is very good--usual offerings but a nice assortment and quality. The woman running the breakfast room was really quick in clearing tables and setting new ones, so there was never a wait for a table, even though breakfast was very busy. The room we had was noisy due to some outside construction in the side street. I assume this is not usually an issue. Right across from train stations, which can be good or bad depending on who you ask--for us it was not great, but that was a small price to pay for the cleanliness and the value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meghan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We ended up here when the hotel chain shifted our booking from a another of their hotels.
Without telling us until we arrived at the original hotel to check in.

The Continental is in a great location, opposite the central train station, and a short walk from the city centre.

The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. We had our adult daughter with us, and the 3 person room was quite large.

The front desk service was adequate, neither good nor bad.

I thought the luggage storage was a bit odd. With no concierge, we were simply told to "put your bags in that room". Which happened to be up half a dozen steps (why do hotels put steps in the lobby when they know we will have heavy bags?) and with no lock on the door. It felt rather insecure, but our bags were still there when we collected them several hours later.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haydn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Thanks to Hotel.com we had a room for two persons for EUR 40 instead of nearly EUR 100 what the hotel ask if you go there without reservation. Location is ideal, next to the main station. Parking is free on a little place next 50 metres from the hotel. Service was okay, we had a small room on the back of the hotel, view wasn't nice on the backstreet but rather quiet. Rooms are rather dark but modern and proper.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the front if you want to have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsorso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Kronprinz Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Eleazar Hamburg City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Norddeutscher Hof Hamburg
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Hamburg Stadtzentrum
St. Georg
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
#56 of 321 in Hamburg
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Continental Hamburg Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Continental Hamburg Hauptbahnhof

Address: Kirchenallee 37, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: £40 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Continental Hamburg Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Continental is a house with Mediterranean flair. Spacious rooms paired with bright, friendly colors emphasize this style yet. The central location, opposite the Central Station allows quick transport connections within the city. The adjacent theater also promises a relaxing and entertaining evening. Various restaurants are all a few steps then form the culinary end to an exciting day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Novum Hotel Continental Hamburg Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing