We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great worth que”

Block House Gaensemarkt
Ranked #118 of 3,710 Restaurants in Hamburg
Price range: US$5 - US$33
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Neustadt
Description: Our Block House restaurant has space for 205 guests and a large facade which affords a view of the bustling Gänsemarkt square. People come to the bistro area for an after-work drink or for a relaxing break while shopping.
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great worth que”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Que for little time . When nice lady spoke in engilsh to us. Took us in for our meal.
Lovely steak and service.
Menu is in english. Great.
Top place reccomended

Helpful?
Thank nobody126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    152
    56
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“30 years later and still great steaksl”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Discovered the Block House chain when we lived in Hamburg almost 3 decades ago. The menu has stayed the same ( only the prices have gone up....pushing €20 now). My wife had a Mrs Rump Steak and I had the Mr Rump Steak - simples. Served jacket potato with sour cream and a slice of garlic bread, and a large salad as starter, I find a 'Weizen' beer goes down well with their succulent steaks.

Block House steak restaurants are found all over Germany now and we've tried a few in various cities and never had a bad meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JP10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathpeffer, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“fabulous steaks”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Recommended by the hotel desk staff. THANKS! Although we turned up without a reservation and had a wait of some 40 minutes we persevered and had the most superb meal. The staff from the get go were so efficient, all conducted in English for our benefit - including the menu. We both had steaks of differing size and cut and from the first bite we sat opposite each other just drooling! The tastes were superb, meat cooked to perfection and washed down by a nice Malbec at the best price we found in the city. Needles to say, we returned for more later in our stay and happily discovered the same pampering of our taste buds.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michaelfleming687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great quality food.”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Found by accident whilst shopping in the mall there. Waited around 15 minutes for a table and was given a free glass of wine whilst waiting. Lots of locals eating there so we reckoned it must be good and it was. Had steak with salad, baked potato and garlic bread and it was excellent. Hubby had more or less the same. I did try with my German, however the waitress realised we spoke English and spoke to us the same. Had some very nice wine and beer and were pleased we went. Would definitely return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Exvoguemodel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Good quality food”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The concierge of our hotel recommended the place as we didn't really want to walk too much. We were pretty surprised with the quality and the service. The environment is quite relaxed. At our arrival we spoke in English and since then, everybody addressed us in English, english menu, etc. I had a nice Irish Steak and the quality was fabulous.
We actually mentioned it in our travel blog :-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smcwtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Block House Gaensemarkt also viewed

 

Been to Block House Gaensemarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing