We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Steaks, Service a miss”

Block House Gaensemarkt
Ranked #104 of 3,653 Restaurants in Hamburg
Price range: US$4 - US$31
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Neustadt
Description: Our Block House restaurant has space for 205 guests and a large facade which affords a view of the bustling Gänsemarkt square. People come to the bistro area for an after-work drink or for a relaxing break while shopping.
Iowa
Level Contributor
209 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Good Steaks, Service a miss”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We always visit Block House when we are in Hamburg. We went here for lunch and had the Filet Steak. The service was not as good as in the past. The waitress on the next door table had all 4 meals on a tray and handed them across the table for the guest to take out of her hand. That is not what I would expect from a good Restaurant !!! I did mention this to the Asst. Restaurant Manager. The Filet Steaks at Block House are small (180 grams) but the quality is very good and mostly consistent between all Restaurants. Potatoes are hit and miss. If you get one from ?? the skin could be bone hard and black in places. The salad and the garlic cream are excellent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank estadosunidos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    149
    55
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good meal!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

After just arriving in Hamburg, we had our first meal at Block House. We all had a steak for lunch - food flavor and was cooked to order. Very similar to an American steakhouse!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sherry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sverige
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fast service, excellent food”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have eaten on many of Block House restaurants in Germany and this one delivers as well. 10-15 minutes after we entered the restaurant we ate our excellent steaks. The server was observant and gave os extras to our meal without charging for it. Yummy!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seatower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Most cosy and best service of BH in Hamburg city center”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

While food in all BH is great ( and same ) service is the best as unrushed and off the general tourist track. Often favoured by locals . Service staff - some of them I remember seeing over last 10 years and stil working there - says a lot...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CityOrchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Block House - A Hamburg Institution”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Simply one of the best steaks you'll ever have. The seasoning is perfect, and their Steak Pfeffer is so good they sell it in the stores (along with their Sour Cream for the baked potatoes, and now their soups, sauces and even Carpaccio and more!). I usually try to go to the Block House at least once a week or so when I'm staying for an extended time in Hamburg, even if it's just for soup or one of their salads. The Carpaccio is simply the best I've had, anywhere. And they have a mean rib-eye. It's simple, it's delicious and it's consistently top notch. And maybe the best part is - they're open most nights until midnight!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank shelblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Block House Gaensemarkt also viewed

 

Been to Block House Gaensemarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing