We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not special”
Review of St. Pauli

St. Pauli
Book In Advance
More Info
US$20.51*
and up
Hamburg Red Light District Introductory Walking Tour
Ranked #37 of 302 things to do in Hamburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This neighborhood located on the city's western side provides an incredible collection of nightlife opportunities, particularly on the infamous Reeperbahn.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
211 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Not special”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I think I had too high expectations, thinking that St. Pauli would be something like East London. I will admit that it was a rainy day when we walked around here, so maybe that had an effect and made thing look more dark, sad, dirty and unappealing.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Antoanna888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    174
    101
    40
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
158 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“went because of the revies but...”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

it must be the worst part of town.
for sure it is the most dirty and ugly part.
i don't recommend going there and i don't understand why anyone said it's nice...

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kar808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braga, Braga, Portugal
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ecletic neighborhood”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I quite enjoyed wandering around the neighborhood. Seemed very characteristic. There was a St. Pauli game so there were a lot of devoted people walking around wearing supporting gear.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jorge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
119 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Where John Lennon grew up?”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Maybe it is because I live near Amsterdam that I was not very impressed, or maybe I was being too hard on it. It all seemed very generic, but then again the restaurants, and clubs and nearby musicals all seemed very interesting and worth checking out. Did I however visit any of these? No... If you wanna have a "good time" and this is your kind of thing, definite recommend. Mind you though, Hamburg has much more to offer, and don't waste your money at the overpriced restaurants!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LebaneseCreole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muenster, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“mixture of touristic and original”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Many musicals are located here and lots of pornshops...
Be prepared ;-)
There are loads of nice but overcrowded clubs! Some of them fairly priced and some way overpriced!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank omamalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Pauli also viewed

 

Been to St. Pauli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing