We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tradition at its best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Ranked #2 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Birmingham
1 review
“Tradition at its best!”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We went for a three days business trip with my boyfriend to Hamburg and had been recommended to stay in the city center at the lake. The hotel was lovely, the employees much warmer than the weather and the room just stunning. We somehow felt like in one of the Grand Dames in London. The afternoon tea in the living room was exceptional.
We appreciated the central location to water, shopping and nightlife and fell i love with the beautiful city and its people.

Room Tip: Have a Lake View Room! A must when in Hamburg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Dear guest

Thank you very much for the kind comments made on tripadvisor from your last stay at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahresezeiten Hamburg.

We always appreciate our residents taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service.

Your compliments are a great motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg.

Yours sincerely
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg

Raimund Schied
Exec. Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,032
    176
    48
    22
    11
See reviews for
182
528
100
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HongKong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We got a beautiful room on the first floor overlooking the Aalster.
Overall the hotel leaves a tired impression: carpet in the corridors is worn out, paint on some windows is cracked…
Staff is professional and friendly, but not over dynamic.
Breakfast is poor and served in a series of small connecting rooms with practically no daylight.
At night, the lounge with the open fire is cosy and inviting.
Did not live up to the expectations and is substandard compared to Vier Jahreszeiten in Munich

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WillemL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your comments on tripadvisor during your last stay at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg.

We greatly appreciate your comments. This is certainly not the level of service we pride ourselves in rendering to our valued customers, such as yourself, and for which we gained our reputation. We truly value your patronage and would never take it for granted.

It is my sincere hope that this incident does not keep you up from coming back to Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg.

Yours Sincerely
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg

Raimund Schied
Exec. Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Newfoundland
Level Contributor
321 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I was in Germany for business and decided to spend the weekend in Hamburg as a weekend off from work. I reserved the hotel on August 2, a Deluxe King Lakefront Room (with balcony on the fifth floor) Nonsmoking, for a stay 29 - 31 October. Based on the website, and reviews, I was looking forward to my stay. But hopes turned to disappointment when I checked in. I was told I had been given an upgrade to a suite on the first floor, however I purposely booked the top floor for the view, and so no one would be walking on the floor above. Given the fifth floor rooms were fully booked, I was forced to settle for the Maria Callas Suite on the first floor -- a wonderful room, but for several reasons (not least of which is footsteps above my head and noise of furniture being moved when they cleaned up downstairs at 11PM and set up at 6AM) it wasn't an upgrade by my standards or expectations. The Customer Service Manager, Herr Heyder, did everything he could to ameliorate the situation, but his options were limited.

While I would recommend the hotel, for the reasons suggested in other reviews, I would suggest that if one wants a specific room type, to not trust the reservation service -- call the hotel directly and be sure to take the name of the person you spoke to, the date and the time. The hotel claims Fairmont reservations only told them the room rate I was paying (I was given a lower rate for the room because I was using an upgrade certificate given to me as a Platinum Presidents Club member) -- they had not been informed what room type I reserved (Fairmont apparently issued me a printed confirmation specifying room type,but they say the information was not given to the hotel). I wonder what Fairmont reservations will say to explain the situation. Regardless, I am left with a room I didn't want and a relaxing weekend that was anything but. My concern now is whether my future reservations with Fairmont will be equally uncertain. But that is a different issue.

So, the bottom line is that this is a wonderful hotel, if you get the room your reserved, but don't have confidence that the room you reserve is the one you will be assigned.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are preferred, but you can't assume the room you reserve is the room you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RAKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your comments on tripadvisor during your last stay at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg.

We greatly appreciate your comments. This is certainly not the level of service we pride ourselves in rendering to our valued customers, such as yourself, and for which we gained our reputation. We truly value your patronage and would never take it for granted.

We were already in direct contact with you and it is my sincere hope that this incident does not keep you up from coming back to Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg.

Yours Sincerely
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg

Raimund Schied
Exec. Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
82 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

this hotel is a "grand classic" hotel now operated by Fairmont. The check-in was excellent and my room was on the top floor overlooking the lake. The view along with the balcony which I enjoyed on a sunny October afternoon made for a great visit. The fitness room is outstanding for a European hotel. But perhaps the best treat at the hotel is the main dining room. Reserve in advance and you will have a great meal with fantastic service. My first trip to Hamburg and I found it enjoyable with a lively waterfront to wander around on a Saturday and take a harbor tour. I highly recommend the Vier Jahreszeiten and Hamburg.

Room Tip: A view of the lake is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Dear guest

Thank you very much for the kind comments made on tripadvisor from your last stay at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahresezeiten Hamburg.

We always appreciate our residents taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service.

Your compliments are a great motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg.

Yours sincerely
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg

Raimund Schied
Exec. Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
311 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Recently I was fortunate enough to be in Hamburg on business and to get to stay at the Vier Jahreszeiten. After some initial confusion when I told the taxi driver to take me to the Fairmont and he replied "Yes, the Four Seasons" and I said, "No, the Fairmont", I realized that Vier Jahreszeiten translates as the Four Seasons. From a previous visit to Hamburg I knew the hotel had a terrific location on the Inneraltse, a small lake in the heart of the city, and that it was within walking distance of most sites. Upon arrival it was immediately apparent that service is everything at this hotel. The staff wore their crisp uniforms without affectation or servility, but as if they really enjoyed being in the business of making their guests feel welcome and respected.
At checkin I received the good news that I had been upgraded to a junior suite overlooking the water. As the pictures attest, the view was excellent. The suite was enormous and included a gas fireplace (not needed thankfully), a very practical working area, some very nice antique furniture and a huge bathroom with separate shower and tub and two vanities.
For the three days I stayed here I could not have been treated better than if I was a guest in a friend's home. Whether it was the front desk, concierge, doorman or restaurant personnel, the service was warm and ultra professional. All were fluent in English.
When I went down to breakfast I would find the room completely done up, even though I was only out of it for 30 minutes. Other than breakfast, regretfully my business did not allow me to experience the restaurants or lounge. A good reason to come back.
Obviously this level of service and amenities does not come without a price, but I believe in the case of Vier Jahreszeiten, that price is worth it.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maritimeexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear guest

Thank for your stay at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg and the kind comments made on Tripadvisor.

We always appreciate our residents taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service.

Your compliments are a great motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

Yours sincerely

Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg

Raimund Schied
Exec. Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We've stayed at the Vier Jahreszeiten twice now, first time for my partner's birthday and once just for a treat. Both times the service has been fantastic. The hotel is really beautiful (it even has a very cute small bar for smokers), with beautiful public areas. We've also eaten at the Asian restaurant, which was fantastic. Breakfast is also great, particularly the omelets, which are made to order. The rooms are spacious and luxurious, with loads of closet space and we had a separate bath and shower, which was wonderful. The rooms are also lovely and quiet and the beds are really cosy (except that they have the crack in the middle, but most hotel beds do these days).

Can't wait for another reason to go back. This is good old fashioned luxury at it's best and if you can get a good deal (which we did from resfeber.se) it's fantastic value for money.

Room Tip: We've been twice and never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear guest

Thank you for your stay at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg and the kind comments made on Tripadvisor.

We always appreciate our residents taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service.

Your compliments are a great motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

Yours sincerely

Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg

Raimund Schied
Exec. Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lviv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I think that the Fairmont hotel is one of the best hotels in Hamburg. Very nice location, near Alster , nice view ,very good service, very good breakfast, our room was nice, very clean hotel . Charming hotel , really

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlexnderV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear guest

Thank you for your stay at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg and the kind comments made on Tripadvisor.

We always appreciate our residents taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service.

Your compliments are a great motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

Yours sincerely

Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg

Raimund Schied
Exec. Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 319 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 319 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#8 of 319 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel St. Annen
Hotel St. Annen
#1 of 319 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten

Property: Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Address: Neuer Jungfernstieg 9 - 14, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#1 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#5 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten is the epitome of a traditional European grand hotel. Since its opening in 1897, the elegant hotel at Binnenalster Lake in the heart of Hamburg welcomes its guests from all over the world in charming magnificence and timeless elegance. Many cultural and architectural sights as well as numerous shopping facilities and Congress Center Hamburg are within close distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vier Jahreszeiten
Fairmont Hotel Hamburg
Fairmont Hamburg
Hamburg Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing