We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Dame Hamburg Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Ranked #3 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Classic, updated former Four Seasons in central Hamburg facing Alter Lake. Location could not be better to get a great first impression of Hamburg. Room was spacious, clean, upscale and quiet. Unfortunately, it had a view of a wall, but enough natural light came in.

Room Tip: Room 570 is near an elevator but has no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KARXPRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

421 - 427 of 1,389 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

Great location in the center of Hamburg. Very nice room and good amenities. A very European style Grand Hotel.
However, the first room we got was near (or above) the restaurant and very noisy. We had to change room (the lady at reception could not help us, we had to talk to the "head of customer service").
We preferred to have outside breakfast at the lake house or in a cosy tea room than at the hotel.

Anecdote: the cleaning lady wanted to order my belongings for me. Lots of my stuff was hidden in various places when I came back, and I had to look for them!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AdvisorJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I have stayed here many times over the years and I just love it. It is a very traditional house right on the Alster with very beautiful suites and amazing views. The General Manager Ingo Peters certainly does a terrific job in running this place - and most people, like the wonderful Mr. Winkels, have been working here for decades. The service is extremely personal and everyone knows you by name, it is truly like coming home each time..

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for stay at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten and your kind comments made during your last stay in our hotel.

We always appreciate our residents taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service.

Your compliments are a great motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

Yours sincerely

Raimund Schied
Executive Assistant Manager

Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I spent one night at this hotel during a business trip. Very well located close to main shopping area. The room was just amazing, very spacious, with a really big walk-in closet and a lovely bathroom. Everything so clean and well kept. Incredibly comfortable bed and sofas. Staff was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iris Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Indeed this has one of the best locations in the city overlooking the small lake and minutes from the main shops, the town hall and the underground station. Apart from a rather surly welcome from the doorman and some confusion at the desk...my stay improved. Loved my room with a great bed and perfect pillows, it overlooked a small courtyard and because of the double doors it was incredibly quiet - so ideal for a great night's sleep. Also liked the bathroom amenities which were rose based from Le Labo. Not sure I liked the public rooms which were a tad gloomy, albeit grand...but best of all, and increasingly rare in 4 and 5 star hotels WiFi was available everywhere within the hotel and was FREE.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

My wife and I recently spent two very enjoyable nights at this traditional luxury hotel. The decor is classic with lots of wood and brass and marble, the location superb, right in the centre, with great views over the Binnenalster.

The service was impeccable, the room we had, one of the cheaper ones, was clean, quiet and well-equipped.

The breakfast room was beautiful and had a great selection of German breads, meats, pastries etc. as well as cooked to order options too. My wife and I ate at the two star Haerlin restaurant in the hotel and had an exceptional meal although expensive.

Highly recommended, as is Hamburg city, and a welcome change from the usual international hotel chains.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

...if you think that Hamburg is a modern Venice, than this hotel is definitely "the Danieli"!
The confort is amazing! The lication is superb and the service is impeccable!
For a romantic weekend in the Hafenstadt as well as for a business trip! I like it very much!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmarpessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 321 in Hamburg
2,449 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 321 in Hamburg
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Le Meridien Hamburg
#28 of 321 in Hamburg
1,490 reviews
Rotherbaum
Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten

Address: Neuer Jungfernstieg 9 - 14, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#1 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#5 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £225 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten is the epitome of a traditional European grand hotel. Since its opening in 1897, the elegant hotel at Binnenalster Lake in the heart of Hamburg welcomes its guests from all over the world in charming magnificence and timeless elegance. Many cultural and architectural sights as well as numerous shopping facilities and Congress Center Hamburg are within close distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vier Jahreszeiten
Fairmont Hotel Hamburg
Fairmont Hamburg
Hamburg Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing