We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The dream hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Ranked #2 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The dream hotel”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Cosy, elegant, facing a lake, walking distance to everything in the city. It's perfect. I was accommodated in a junior suite with lake view. Breakfast was great. And it was event greater to receive a welcoming smile each morning from the personnel.

Room Tip: lake view, higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrinaStanescu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,055
    180
    53
    21
    12
See reviews for
188
540
102
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

My husband took me twice stayed this hotel, top services, from concierge to rooms... The Grill restaurant food was excellent!! Typical classic European style! The Spa therapist massage was the best treatment I ever had so far, even beat the Top Spa in Asia!! A must stay hotel in Hamburg!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast US
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Vier Jahreszeiten prior to embarking on the Queen Mary 2 for the transatlantic westbound trip to New York. I had often heard of this Grande Dame of Hamburg but was a little apprehensive that it might have suffered under a chain ownership. It was, in fact, perfect.
Like the town of Hamburg itself, the hotel has all the grandeur of the old days of the Hanseatic era, traditional elegance but also modern in ever sense, with every modern convenience you can imagine from high speed WiFi to Nespresso machines in the rooms. The view of the Alster and the row of old shipping company head offices is spectacular, and being in walking distance from the Old Town, the Museums and many of the great restaurants of Hamburg was wonderful. The halls, reception and tea areas, are beautiful. Service is impeccable - in the rooms as well as in the restaurants.
A stay we will want to repeat one day soon. A hotel in the great tradition of turn of early 20th century palaces.

Room Tip: The Chinese restaurant at the Vier Jahreszeiten is excellent. Also recommend the Café de Paris with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BVRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the best hotel in Hamburg. A great central location over looking the Alster Lake. Lake facing large comfortable room like a junior suite. The entire hotel staff from the doorman to house keeping was friendly and ever ready to assist. Great breakfast too, however did not get a chance to try out the restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Loved the hotel & staff. Breakfast was superb. Great location, do not miss the bar, very unique.
Next time will definitely make a stop at the restaurants.

We arrived late at night, and we had a great club sandwich and drinks at the salon. It had a number of couples and larger parties having drinks (it was a friday night) so it was lively and with a nice ambiance…not noisy at all!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoviajocontacos J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is one of the nine luxury hotels suggested by the Five Star Alliance. In my opinion, this is the grandest of all grand hotels in Hamburg. It is an icon, it is Hamburg's grand dame over looking Binnenalster ( Inner Alster), a breath taking lake at the heart of the city which is also the soul of Hamburg. It is one of the oldest hotel founded in 1897 with state- of- the - art technology.

No taxi drivers will understand if you were to mention Fairmont Hotel because the English translation here is "Four Seasons" but it has nothing to do with The Four Seasons chains of hotels. The hotel is known to locals as Four Seasons.

We stayed 9 nights in October when leaves and foliage were changing colours. Our room was a standard courtyard room. The size was very adequate, not huge but the length of the bathroom is longer than the width and breadth of the room, very impressive with beautiful new marble, shower cabinet, separate bathtub, double sinks and not to mention a separate toilet area. I appreciate the large walk-in closet area for suite cases and clothes. All standard amenities were available as well as an espresso machine for coffee. A hot water boiler was brought to our room on request.

The overall service was excellent. House keeping were most obliging as we requested our room to be cleaned on short notices on several occasions when we were at breakfast. The Concierge was an immense asset with nothing but the best recommendations for different restaurants.

Tea service at the main floor Wohnhalle is something not to be missed. It is an experience always be remembered fondly. It is traditional in the real sense: formal and proper. Breakfast at Cafe Condi is a delight but sitting by the window over looking Lake Alster will allow you extra special moments. Condi Lounge is a great place to sit in the afternoon for an informal cup of tea. Two other in- house restaurants are supposed to be excellent, one is a 2- Michelin star and the other is The Grill.

The lobby is a beautiful place to sit where one sees people come and go. The business centre is opened for all at no extra charges. The wi- fi is also freely available to all within the hotel.

We had room service of continental breakfast once. This is not recommended; rather costly at 30 euro per person for a few pieces of cold bakery.

Overall, we were most fortunate to have spent some lovey times here. I understand the rooms overlooking the lake are supposed to be superb and I do not doubt this for a minute. But which ever room you choose, it will be a great missing for those visiting Hamburg but not have the opportunity of staying in this majestic institution.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmund L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Location is very central.Our room had a lake view, which was very beautiful especially in the evening!
The rooms are big with big bathroom (our bathroom had a bathtube).
There is a parking, very connvinient to come there by car.
The breakfast is perfect- mix from buffet and a la carte menu.
A big choice of cheese, ham and eggs.
I can recommend it if you go to Hamburg.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 317 in Hamburg
2,332 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 317 in Hamburg
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#8 of 317 in Hamburg
1,400 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#26 of 317 in Hamburg
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten

Property: Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Address: Neuer Jungfernstieg 9 - 14, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#1 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#5 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten is the epitome of a traditional European grand hotel. Since its opening in 1897, the elegant hotel at Binnenalster Lake in the heart of Hamburg welcomes its guests from all over the world in charming magnificence and timeless elegance. Many cultural and architectural sights as well as numerous shopping facilities and Congress Center Hamburg are within close distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vier Jahreszeiten
Fairmont Hotel Hamburg
Fairmont Hamburg
Hamburg Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing