We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but very nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Ranked #2 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
las vegas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Expensive but very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

During a two week trip to Prague and Germany we made a last minute decision to visit Hamburg and found that hotels in general in Hamburg that day were pretty pricey. We booked the "cheapest room" and it was our most expensive one of the trip. It was also the nicest room we booked on the whole trip even though its view was of what was essentially a very large airshaft with some plants at the bottom euphemistically called a "garden view." What we liked:
1) great upscale, lively location with a variety of restaurants nearby overlooking a lake, easy walk from the main train station,
2) Room sort of gave the illusion of being an apartment with a large bathroom separated from the bedroom by an extremely large walk-in closet.
3) Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Obviously it would be nice to overlook the lake but our "garden view" room was still very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruiser25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,011
    173
    47
    21
    11
See reviews for
180
521
98
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
165 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

I stayed for one night at the Vier Jahreszeiten in Hamburg. I have stayed there before and it is in my view the best hotel in Hamburg. The staff is very friendly and I love the new roof terrace. It is a pity that it closes early as it would be a great place for an after dinner drink. This time my room was not so nice as it only looked into a closed patio. The rooms with a view over the Binnenalster are obviously much nicer. I was unlucky that the restaurant at the Binnenalster had some electrical problems and so could not dine there as it is a lovely place to be. Certainly a place to recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amaya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
365 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over the summer. Really friendly staff. The beds here are unbelievable and you may never get up. Nespresso machines in every room. I was lucky to occupy a balcony room and it was amazing especially with the pleasant temperatures outside.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We dined at the Jahreszeiten Terrace and the experience was second to none during our three weeks vacation traveling through Germany. The view of the Inner Alster Lake and surrounding buildings is beautiful, the architecture well appointed, and the cuisine delicious and authentic. We were truly impressed by the professional, efficient and personal services provided by Ms Bauer. Perfection - we wishes we would have had more time to enjoy the hotel and will certainly return and spend more time.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank martinehlersbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

What a beautiful and classic hotel. Wonderful details of craftmanship in the building and furniture. Staff effortlessly went the extra mile in order to please us and make our visit a good one. Food and cakes second to none. Prices reasonable. See you again at Christmas!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azhiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The Vierjahreszeiten Hotel in Hamburg was one of my late father's favourites, so I decided to "treat" myself to two nights there en route to Denmark for a meeting and holiday.
The hotel met all my expectations of excellent service, with delicious food, "spot on" information on travel, shopping for replacement sunglasses, and above all an atmosphere of calm and care. Its décor was appropriate to its history, and was not just an attractive façade from a bygone era, but maintained the historical elegance throughout while also achieving all the modern facilities one needs and expects. In particular for me, the quietness of the whole hotel (no "doof doof" music, nor any other music at an intrusive decibel level), and the total absence of fragrances in any common areas, and in guest rooms were major positives. I wish all other hotels - of all levels - would take a leaf out of this hotel's book!
Would definitely stay for a couple of nights again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank annamsfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Visited Hamburg for holiday and spent 2 nights and this was one of the best hotels we have stayed at. We had a wonderful room on top floor with great view. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Quality of food excellent

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank mandjpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#4 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#7 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel St. Annen
Hotel St. Annen
#1 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten

Property: Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Address: Neuer Jungfernstieg 9 - 14, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#1 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#5 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten is the epitome of a traditional European grand hotel. Since its opening in 1897, the elegant hotel at Binnenalster Lake in the heart of Hamburg welcomes its guests from all over the world in charming magnificence and timeless elegance. Many cultural and architectural sights as well as numerous shopping facilities and Congress Center Hamburg are within close distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vier Jahreszeiten
Fairmont Hotel Hamburg
Fairmont Hamburg
Hamburg Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing