We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Ranked #3 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 August 2010

There are hotels that really make the difference and this is definately one of them. It is not easy to find hotels like this in Europe. From the perfect customer service from the staff to the attention to every detail in the room this hotel merits top rating.
Shall I come back to the great shopping city of Hamburg, I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romeu40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 523 of 1,390 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2010

We visited Hamburg in January and a really frosty January it was. That's why in our memories this Fairmont hotel is a warm, elegant and giving a unique view on the Inner Alster Lake hotel. We had a room with a balcony and could enjoy snow-covered Hamburg in peace and tranquility that only a cozy hotel can give.

The room we had was truly charming, of a decent taste, in a classical style of course, with comfy bed, tea-coffee facilities and always spotlessly clean. I appreciated the double doors much as I just can't bear any noise during my rest and Fairmont gave me the quietness I needed.

Now, why we rated it 4 poitns - we have two complaints here.

First, when we came we found out that there were some works under way in the hotel building. The letter we found in our room said these were some necessary security improvement works or something. Anyway it was an unpleasant surprise because their Michelin-star Haerlin restaurant was closed because of this and we were not informed about it beforehand. Meanwhile we were planning to celebrate our small special occasion in there and had to look for another place to dine eventually (we do not like Asian cuisine much that's why thier Dog Cheng's resataurant didn't suit us).

And second. What I first look for in high-class places is the "invisibility" of the staff. With nothing to reproach about the level of service itself we had some inconvenience with somebody constantly belling the door with: "is everything OK?", "shall I already open/close the curtains?" and - this one even made us laugh - "I brought you a weather forecast for tomorrow". It seemed a bit obtrusive and did not allow you to relax completely.

As for the reception desk, they were always verry correct and helpful. They sent us all the confirmations we needed for our visas very fast and professionally and we appreciate that.

The room service is fast and great.

And - the location, yes, the location that shows you Hamburg as a really charming place that has nothing to do with all that fuss and loads and cranes you see in the port.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalie_and_Nikolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

i was at this hotel when it wasn't a Fairmont yet and I have to say that it has improved a great deal. The renovation has been done with great taste and the hotel looks amazing although they are still works in progress so we could take advantage neither of the Doc Cheng nor of the Café Condi which I remember being a real gem.

The room was spacious, beautifully appointed and the bathroom was sparkling new and renovated with great taste an attention to detail. Everything was perfect from the moment we walked in to the moment we checked out: the staff were extremely nice and helped us out during our four day stay. Laundry service was impeccable as well.

Location couldn't be better, within walking distance from every sight, Hamburg is such a beautiful city and this hotel is the cherry on top of the cake.

A luxury hotel with a lot of history which doesn't just relay on top of that but works hard to maintain its position as the best hotel in Hamburg!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanderluyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

This was my second trip to this hotel and I travel for business to all parts of the world. This hotel is one of my favorites. I am not sure if it is the old world charm or the staff or the location, but adding them all up makes this hotel a must when visiting Hamburg.

On this trip I was lucky to have a room with a balcony that overlooked the lake. It was a nice day and I choose to spend the afternoon on my deck reading a book. Very relaxing. Service is great, location is great and facility is great. I will always stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkfromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your very nice feedback about your stay in our hotel.

We looking forward to welcome you again at the Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg during your next vist in Hamburg.

With best regards

Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg
Raimund Schied
Exec. Assistant Manager
raimund.schied@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Our two-night stay at the Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten was a joy. I can not remember when any hotel, never mind an overseas hotel, made my wife and I feel more at home. Our guest room and bath combined traditional and contemporary features in a perfect mix. The bath's heated tile floors and towel racks, along with the plush bedding, added a special touch. We enjoyed a wonderful view over Inner Alster Lake from our room and dinner table, and enjoyed stepping out on our balcony to watch the Hamburg Marathon. The atmosphere, food (great pastry chef), wine, and service will make you want to dine in the hotel. Hamburg is a wonderful city to explore on foot and the Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten offers the perfect location.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calilregit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2010
Google Translation

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your very nice feedback about your stay in our hotel and your comments at "tripadvisor".

We looking forward to welcome you again at the Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg during your next vist in Hamburg.

With best regards

Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg
Raimund Schied
Exec. Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

This is a nice and traditional hotel. Even though the very traditional
style is normally not my prefered I liked it. Everything is very well
looked after and the historic elements of the building are highlighted.
Impressive is the state of the art technology that is integrated
throughout the rooms and buildings. The dining variet is good too. If you do not
have a lot of time I recommend to have at least a coffee in the "wohn
raum", an impressive but somehow cosy chimney hall.
The location is very central and direct by the river.
What I liked most about the atmosphere of this hotel is that obviously it is one of the best locally with many high profile guests staying there - yet ther is absolutely nothing pretentious about it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melachocolat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

We spent the weekend there with friends and all agreed it was one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in. The staff are unbelievable, very friendly, courteous and helpful wherever you go. The standard rooms are lovely and spacious with huge bathrooms and the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. The breakfast buffet had plenty of variety and the meal in Doc Chengs was excellent. Would certainly love to stay there again

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 321 in Hamburg
2,449 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 321 in Hamburg
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Le Meridien Hamburg
#29 of 321 in Hamburg
1,490 reviews
Rotherbaum
Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten

Address: Neuer Jungfernstieg 9 - 14, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#1 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#5 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £226 - £404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten is the epitome of a traditional European grand hotel. Since its opening in 1897, the elegant hotel at Binnenalster Lake in the heart of Hamburg welcomes its guests from all over the world in charming magnificence and timeless elegance. Many cultural and architectural sights as well as numerous shopping facilities and Congress Center Hamburg are within close distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vier Jahreszeiten
Fairmont Hotel Hamburg
Fairmont Hamburg
Hamburg Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing