We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lot better than i expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novum Hotel Konigshof Hamburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Novum Hotel Konigshof Hamburg
Ranked #253 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    44
    40
    22
    22
See reviews for
7
54
37
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Did not get the room we reserved. Told upon arrival that we had been registered only as one guest instead of toe, and only one bed instead of the expected toe beds desired. Desk clerk continually had to call her supervisor via telephone and could make no decisions herself. Told no larger rooms available but offered an additional room and standard rate, which we rented. So our expected cost for our one night stay doubled. Hotel made no attempt to offer a discount for either their mistake or the mistake from budgetplaces.com. It was a frustrating experience in which I felt was a deliberate bait and switch scheme to get more money from us.

That said, the rooms were clean. The breakfast was very nice. The location was very convenient to the central train station, but the neighborhood was lower class.

Room Tip: Did not get the room we had reserved
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

The hotel is situated close to the central station (approx 7 min walk). The station is a good area for eating out and bars, so geographically the hotel is situated in a good place. However, to get to the hotel you need to walk through some pretty dodgy streets. The street the hotel is on is also fairly shabby and didn't feel too safe. Wouldn't risk walking it at night, so got taxi's back.

The hotel itself is nice. Nothing too fancy, but certainly clean and well kept.

Our room was on streetside, and at night it got incredibly loud. The choice between a boiling room and fairly loud noise with the window shut or unbearably loud noise with the window open was not a pleasant one. People remained talking and shouting outside until at least 4am every morning, which made for a terrible night's sleep. We were only there over the weekend so this may not be true through the week, but nonetheless was a significant disturbance to our weekend.

Overall a nice hotel in a good location, but hampered by dodgy area and noisiness at night

Room Tip: Rooms that are not street-side would probably be quiet, ask on booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattyb121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovumGroupHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Novum Hotel Konigshof Hamburg, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Matt,

Thank you for your review and your honest words, regarding you stay in our Hotel Königshof.
We will discuss your critizied points with the team.

We would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations.

Kind regards,

Königshof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamburg hotels

Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

This hotel is located in the WORST AREA so do not show up late at night for your own safety. Also do not show up past 6pm because if a staff member is not at the front desk you will NOT be let in. I was extremely disappointed with this hotel and company. There is no 24 hour front desk. Myself and partner were left standing outside for an HOUR trying to get into the hotel. We had to walk to other hotels to use a phone to CALL the front desk to be let in. After so long we were so upset (please note first sentence for unsafe area) that when we were let in we immediately called the manager. The person we spoke with on the phone (Sebastian at Novum) said we would not be charged and can cancel the reservation since we had such awful service. This was a complete lie. We were charged and tried calling the company multiple times long distance to which the service was AWFUL. Finally it came down to getting through by email to which the manager did not help credit my account. TERRIBLE SERVICE AND POOR COMPANY CUSTOMER SERVICE.

Room Tip: Do not book it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ironbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Seem like the hotel has been recently refurbished and although are room was small it was also one of the cheaper ones.The location was great just a few minutes from the railway station but it would probably feel a bit intimidating if you are a single female. The breakfast was very good and plentiful and the staff were all friendly except the rude male receptionist who could never seem to help anyone and always threw the key at you but then you just trow it back when you go out

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geordiejohn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I have stayed here several times. You get really good value for money, even though it seems as if prices have gone up quite a bit since my last stay. Rooms are basic, but you can get a good nights sleep. Breakfast is included and is plentiful. Location is close to the central station in a quiet side street.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie2616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tartu, Estonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

The location is near the main railway station and in order to get to the hotel, you need to pass lots of suspicious places and prostitutes...not so safe at night!
The room was quite okay, a bit old-fashioned but still decent. Room cleaning every day. Breakfast was surprisingly good, enough options to choose from: coffee, tea, juice, cereal, several yoghurts, different breads and spreads, ham, cheese, apples, etc.
Reception desk people don't speak much English but are still helpful if you know some German.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue_Fl0wer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hammerbrook
Novum Hotel Belmondo Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Terminus Hamburg
#124 of 318 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Eleazar Hamburg City Center
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Hamburg Stadtzentrum
St. Georg
Hotel Polo Hamburg
Hotel Polo Hamburg
#238 of 318 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Konigshof Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Konigshof Hamburg

Property: Novum Hotel Konigshof Hamburg
Address: Pulverteich 18, 20099 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly Novum Hotel Königshof Hamburg Innenstadt)
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Konigshof Hamburg 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Koenigshof is located in close proximity to the main train station. The former town house with a beautiful facade from the 19th Century was converted into a comfortable small hotel with 22 rooms. Discover St. George with the old tradition of cinemas, theaters and the diverse range of dining options. The shopping street Mönckebergstraße and the Lange series are within walking distance from the hotel. Attractions such as the Michel, the HafenCity with the Elbe Philharmonic, the Alster or the Colonnades are easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Novum Hotel Konigshof Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Konigshof Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing