We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Ranked #36 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We had been traveling for about a week in Germany and this was a great place. The location was fantastic because it was within walking distance to restaurants, shopping and cruises. The staff was extremely helpful and the rooms were good sized with very comfortable beds. An excercise room and spa were available but I did not use it. All this it was at a good price.

The only downside was there was only one computer for use in the lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

the hotel is opposite a taxi rank and a short walk from the U/S bahn. Middle of all the expensive shops south of the alster, so a very good location. Good restaurant, if rather German (only German wine and lots of meat and potatoes, fish all seems to come covered in sauce, bacon, etc, even in Hamburg Germans dont seem to like fish and try to hide it!) but other options nearby. Good friendly service and reasonable fitness centre. Still charges for wifi and decor dark and unwelcoming. Have recently started offering tea/coffee facilties in the room. Bathrooms old and need updating.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaffelaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We frequently stay at the Hamburg Renaissance Hotel while visiting our son. While some of the rooms may be small, the deluxe rooms are large enough, certainly by European standards, and the bathrooms are spacious with adequate room for toiletries. The beds are very comfortable and the overall feel of the hotel is clean and cared for. We particularly enjoy the breakfast served in the hotel restaurant, which offers a large variety of menu items, from traditional American breakfast foods to more more native European selections. The breads are scruptious and my husband loves that after two days the chef knows his favorite omlette ingredients.
Hotel location is near all of the major attractions and U-Bahn stations, but for us the most fun is walking the city of Hamburg enjoying all the wonderful sights it has to offer.

Room Tip: We request a room facing the inner courtyard and have never experienced any noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iminphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Hamburg seems to have become a very popular city for weekend travelers, so we were a bit surprised by the relatively high hotel prices in spite of the many hotel options. We settled for the Renaissance, mostly for its location in the heart of the shopping district--Hamburg is known for very classy shops--and excellent public transportation options; there are several subway (U-Bahn) and regional train (S-Bahn) stops near the hotel, including a direct S-Bahn link to the airport. A very affordable day pass provided us with easy access to many parts of the city.

The hotel probably dates from the early 1980s when the Hanseviertel shopping arcade was completed. It has a typical US hotel feel, including the many pillows on the bed, the color of the furnishings, and type of bathroom sink. But this went hand-in-hand with the usual quality you get when staying at a Marriott property. Given the prices at the hotel, we opted for getting breakfast in one of the cafes in the Hanseviertel, which we enjoyed a lot. Finally, as remarked by others, we found the staff at check-in extremely helpful, efficient, and pleasant to deal with. Overall, we felt that the relationship between the hotel's price and services offered was about right.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGECHAMPION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed here for 1 night pre a cruise. I chose it for its location, close to everything (the Marriott is just 2 streets away if you are looking for 5 star). I was a little disappointed with the size of the hotel, the reception and bar were basically the same place - just inside the main entrance door. I agree with previous comments that the staff were helpful, particularly in reception and the bar, I found though that the staff in the restaurant for breakfast were aloof. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay, it is suited to a city break visit, but nothing longer. The room was adequate in size and decor and what you’d expect from a 4 star - the bed was particularly comfortable and pillows were great, We booked a delux room, so I’m not sure what size the standard room would be like. I felt the price was a bit hefty for what we got. 209e for 1 night B&B. So in summary, if you’re looking for a central location, comfortable room and bed and you get a good rate, then you can’t go wrong with this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBF.Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed here hwen visiting relatives and found the room to spacious and the beds were really comfortable. The staff on the desk were great and helped us to arrange transport and answered our numerous questions with a smile.
We ate in the restaurant and even though the newspaper menus were a little odd, the food was very tasty and one of the better meals we had in hamburg.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaymaker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

The hotel is very well located near Jungfernstieg and is set in an old newspaper printing building. The interior design is old school and in line with the feel of the building. Breakfast is very nice and the staff are also friendly.

Some areas of the hotel could do with being refurbished (7th floor in particular feels a little bit neglected), but there is a small gym also on site and the good location compensate for the musty feel in some areas.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sassy_Traveller_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
#48 of 321 in Hamburg
1,105 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Neustadt
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 321 in Hamburg
2,447 reviews
Neustadt
SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Hamburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Hamburg Hotel

Address: Grosse Bleichen, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#44 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#77 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £129 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Hamburg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxurious comfort in northern Germany at the Renaissance Hamburg Hotel. Located in the heart of Hamburg, our hotel offers ideal access to the city's vibrant shopping district and beautiful Alster Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Hamburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing