We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK hotel, perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Hamburg Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Ranked #36 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Skåne, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“OK hotel, perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed here in november. Just as good as expected for a 4 star hotel, nice and tidy. Clean rooms, we got a huge room, I think it was extra large in some way, highest floor. Magic beds, very comfortable. The hotel is in walking distance to everything, parking garage just across the street.
Could absolutely consider to stay here again.

Room Tip: stay in a room on the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    323
    108
    27
    18
See reviews for
116
222
50
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

No in-room coffee - well, at least not the drip kind, just instant stuff.

Also no free wireless internet, not even in the lobby - even though coffee shops all around have free wireless.

Room was otherwise OK

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R18303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

If you want to be able to shop till you drop, just by walking right out of the hotel - this is the place to stay. Its a Marriot Chain hotel, so standards are good.
Normally when we have used Marriot, these are new, square, black-and-white look-alike hotel - but this one is really living up to the "renaissance" art-deco.
Nice Junior Suites (we had two).

I can surely recommend the hotel, the location for family shopping in Hamburg.

Room Tip: I general all the rooms on 5th floor are nice ..... but..... Remember to be sure to book including...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Balling_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

The rooms bathroom are clean but beginning to look old. With the number of hotels updating their rooms, one tend to expect more modern facilities. Wi Fi is charged at euro 12.50 for 24 hours and parking for euro 25 per day.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SelinaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

My fiance and I visited Hamburg the weekend before Christmas and were very pleased with the surroundings and service we received at this hotel. Any staff we encountered were helpful and friendly, giving us a complementary upgrade on arrival. The reception/lobby/lounge/bar etc areas have all been recently renovated to a modern and comfy style that was very nice to sit in with a drink in the evenings. Accommodation wise, the rooms are your usual generic style but comfortable and very clean. Despite the city being packed with festive shoppers and party-goers, we found the hotel quiet and restful. For a city break, it was all that we needed seeing as we spent all day and evening enjoying the Christmas Markets and the city sights.

We stayed on a room only basis but did have one evening meal in Brocheks, the hotel restaurant. It was modern German fare that went down well with the local wine available on the menu.

The Renaissance is in a fabulous location, amidst beautiful (but expensive!!) shopping streets and close to the Alster Lake and the Rathaus. Hamburg in general is a highly accessible city; it's really easy to get about on foot or using public transport but this hotel is in a great spot for exploring.

All in all well worth a try!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toast29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

If you travel for business, this is NOT the hotel for you. The biggest issue is the internet service at the hotel. I need to download fairly large files on a regular basis in the 10-20meg range. The hotel's internet speed was literally operating at 1KB per second (slower than dial-up modems from 1993). When I asked about this, they told me they just have poor internet. This is NOT acceptable at a higher priced business hotel in the year 2013. I will never stay there again because of this. Besides that, the hotel rooms were probably last updated in 1987. Old carpeting and bathrooms, outdated fitness center with equipment that barely functions. Very disappointed in this hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTheWestin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice, bar and restaurant are both excellent, breakfast was especially good.

Gym is a bit basic but has reasonable cardio equipment, not a free weight to be found though.

Location wise it's perfect, 2 minutes from everything.

Only issue is the wifi, abysmally slow, loading a page on the Internet is slow and there is no chance of placing a video call or downloading any work files. It's not the be all and end all of the hotel but in 2013 you expect a pretty good wifi service and not to have to put in an 8 digit username and password every time you reconnect to the network.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank willerbywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
#53 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Neustadt
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#18 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Hamburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Hamburg Hotel

Property: Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Address: Grosse Bleichen, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#44 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#77 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Hamburg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxurious comfort in northern Germany at the Renaissance Hamburg Hotel. Located in the heart of Hamburg, our hotel offers ideal access to the city's vibrant shopping district and beautiful Alster Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Hamburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing