We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hamburg Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
Ranked #52 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent staff and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Having grown up in Hamburg I once in a while return and stay at a hotel. And wow ... the city has changed the last 25 years. The area where the hotel is always has been very central in walking distance to the "Alster", Opera and main shopping areas. But the road was not one of those you one would have wanted to pass alone at night at that time. Complete change ... modern, buildings, renovated or wramped up, cosy, great shops around.

The hotel is modern and inviting, every staff member will greet you with a smile, ask if they can help. Lobby is inviting, the restaurant/bar offers some straight forward snacks - but with style. The room was well equipped and spacious, have seen for the first time "no minibar" in the room. At check in staff does mention and refer to the vending machine next to reception. Not sure this is a great idea.

Parking is available, but a public one offering direct access to the hotel. Charges of 28 Euro a day is an impressive lot. As the room rate generally seems to excludes breakfast a night will not turn as cheap as one might think at the end. But if you walk around the corner, you'll find some bakeries that might not offer a rich buffet breakfast - but "breakfast basics" that serves my needs well.

Overall I would summarise: Great place to stay, would return do recommend. Just be aware of your budget.

Room Tip: Think all rooms are equally quiet as the hotel is off any mainroad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Torsten_Kr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    435
    144
    47
    21
See reviews for
245
230
53
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at this property over a weekend getaway. It is a very nice property, however we had some problems during the stay that made us rate our experience as only "average".

Good things up front: the hotel was clean and comfortable. Nice lounge, restaurant, pool/spa, comfortable beds, nice shower. The staff was friendly and professional. Despite a heavy tourist crowd, the front desk staff maintained classic German efficiency.

Bad: The rate I paid for the size of the room was very expensive. Nice room, but not that nice (250 Euro on Friday and 350 Euro on Saturday). Parking fee was not included.

We did not have the do-not-disturb sign on the door when we left, however the room had not been cleaned. A pre-printed note about not disturbing our privacy was under the door. We saw several other rooms with the same note under the door as we walked down the hallway, and assumed (perhaps) the housekeeper on the 5th floor may not have been as conscientious as he should have been.

Also, since Executive Lounge was being refurbished, a conference room on the 6th floor was used instead. The staff in the lounge was superb. The amenities were okay (what was left of them...more on this in a moment.) The problem was the door was open to the public, and it was incredibly crowded the whole time we were there. On the first night the lounge was completely out of food well before closing time. On the second night, there were folks piling their plates so high, you'd think they were stocking up for a hurricane. The breakfast experience was like trying to get into a fest tent in Munich during Oktoberfest. I'm sorry to sound like an elitist, but I spend lots of time in Marriott properties and expect the lounge to be exclusive (because I pay for it); however we found out many guests were not Marriott Rewards members. Not much to do about that except laugh it off.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Modern, efficient hotel in a great location.

The lobby is nice and inviting. The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. the children thoroughly enjoyed the pool. We did not have breakfast there as we chose the Starbucks a block away (20 euros for 4 instead of 20 Euros per person).

Check in was speedy friendly and efficent, check out was similarly pleasant.

Hop on Hop off bus also stops right in front if you want to go out and take a tour of the town.

During the summer, they have a Summer in Hamburg at the plaza around the corner, they set up a little pool area (maybe a foot deep) with some sand and chairs. There are also multiple food vendors ranging from crepes to champagne. Very fun!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wandering-from-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Really enjoyed my recent stay here. OK, it's a Marriott -- but in a good way! Very high standards of accommodation, excellent restaurant and superb staff. Stayed on the club level. Club breakfast was substantial -- many cold items and several hot ones as well. The hotels's restaurant served very nice snacks (tapas style) and excellent dinner. The hotel bar / lounge opened onto a most inviting terrace (I believe meals could be taken there as well). Staff was excellent in providing information such as where to find free wi-fi (Starbucks, just down the block), SIM card (Vodafone, just around the corner), movie listings, etc.

Location is also excellent. Took the train from the airport to Gansemarkt U-Bahn (need to change from S-Bahn to U-bahn along the way, but no hassle). The hotel is practically across the street from this station (though tucked quietly away from the main street). S-Bahn/U-Bahn Jungfernstieg is slighly farther away but very convenient.

A most positive stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAStein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We, a family of five, stayed here one night and enjoyed the hotel very much. We had an executive studio which could accommondate all five of us. The room was large and we had sufficient space to enjoy the room. Breakfast in the executive lounge was included in the room price.

The hotel has a perfect location if you want to go shopping. We spent a day walking from the hotel to the railway station and back. We had then visited most of the major shopping areas.

The hotel has a nice pool area in the basement. The kids loved the pool. Our experience is that choosing hotels with a pool is a trick when travelling with children.

The hotel also had parking underneath the hotel. Therefore we did not have to spend time searching for available parking.

We would definately stay at the same hotel if we are coming back to Hamburg. There is no reason to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Executive rooms include access to the executive lounge with breakfast and snacks throughout the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Movi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Partille, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

I liked this hotel very much already from the beginning: a doorman parked our car and brought our lugage to our room. We had a nice room for a family, and it was very affordable. Pool area looked nice even though we didn't have time to use it. Very nice breakfast buffe, although it was not included in the price (which we knew).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located about 15 minutes' walk from the main train station, and is an easy walk provided you don't have too much luggage. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 3pm, so we were asked to wait for a half hour. This stretched to an hour and a half and as it turned out, our room had been ready for a while, but the first staff member had gone on break and either forgot to tell her replacement, or her replacement forgot to come and tell us!

Not a great start, but the rest of the stay was fine. The room, with two double beds, was comfortable. Somewhat noisy neighbours next door, but that's not the hotel's fault. The swimming pool was small but perfect for children.

Overall a positive experience.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Flipzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
#34 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Neustadt
SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#18 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamburg Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamburg Marriott Hotel

Property: Hamburg Marriott Hotel
Address: ABC Strasse 52, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#36 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#43 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#63 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hamburg Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hamburg Marriott Hotel is located in the heart of a charming seaport, making us a popular downtown Hamburg Germany hotel. Our central Hamburg hotel is near famous attractions, cultural landmarks, prestigious businesses, and electric nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hamburg Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hamburg
Hamburg Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing