We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
Ranked #54 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
666 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Not much to say on this hotel, this is of course a big chain with no personality and the service reflects this, however eveyrthing was functional, the room and bathroom were quite good, the bed excellent, and service efficient. Didn´t have time to experience the pool but it looked large and nice. The two main plus of the hotel are its truly excellent location, allowing for a very easy visit of the city by foot and the, relatively, reasonable price. Having experienced a range of other places in Hamburg in the same service category, I´d day this is the best so far.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    436
    151
    48
    21
See reviews for
248
233
54
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
149 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

On reading a few of the reviews we expected far less. The hotel is not old, it is well kept, rooms are big and appropriately furnished with plugs where you expect them. it is set in a charming square and you can easily walk everywhere.

Breakfast was very good, no waiting time, nice ambiance, food good and plenty. Very good service.

Some glitches though: the hairdryer had not been cleaned properly and the duvet and pillows smelled and were greyish, clean but not comfortable.

Wifi is incredibly expensive, just walk down the street to the Vodafone shop and get yourself a sim card. We did and for our tour of Germany we had no problem: 1GB for a month, just perfect for €19,99.

Check in smooth, crew and staff very nice apart from the young gentleman who checked us out, aloof an unsmiling, more of a cash register than a human being.
All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanderluyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The hotel is centrally located in Hamburg. The hotel rooms are a very reasonable size and the breakfast buffet is superb. the staff were very attentive and the piano singer in the bar provided a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester Vermont
Level Contributor
116 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

We were shocked out of a deep sleep with jack hammers on the roof above our room. We had adjacent rooms banging on our walls as they thought we were making that notice?! Front desk was clueless when we called. Once some one went to check out the issue they found workers causing this awful noise. This was a miserable way to wake up and no real apology from staff. If this is how the property functions stay away or at least come not expecting a pleasant experience.

Check out our other reviews we are not negative very often.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vermontresidents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The hotel was in the middle of celebrating its 20th birthday when we visited and it was obvious that it has not had a face lift for the past 20 years. The hotel is old, worn and in poor condition. The room was tolerable however the spa and pool was pathetic as there was used towels everywhere – incredibly unhygienic. What was most frustrating was the construction in the form of loud drilling at 7 in the morning. There was no notice, warning and apology from the hotel. All of the above meant it was a very poor stay in a poorly maintained hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lohao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 1 night and I'm not impressed by the hotel. The staffs are not the best out there. The attitude of the staffs are like as if they are working at a Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton. The rooms are typical Marriott - clean, comfy bed, nothing out of the ordinary.

The location is not good - it's not exactly in the very city centre of Hamburg. It's located at the very end of the shopping area of central Hamburg. The closest department store is Alsterhaus, and if you want to go to the other big German department store such as Galeria Kaufhof, which is located at the other end of the shopping district, it will take you at least 20 minutes to walk there or 2 U Bahn stops.

I got access to the executive lounge and it's definitely not impressive with it. The offerings were similar to the previous visits. Basically at cocktail hour you get sushi (It was frozen and they had a total of about trays per night), once they are out, there is no more. There were some snacks but they are not that good. Cakes during dessert time was frozen cakes - there is a bakery right outside the hotel and their cake is much better.

During the breakfast hour at the lounge, I took a roll on one hand and a piece of tissue on the other hand (I needed to blow my nose and I didn't have any tissue with me). A staff came to me and said that I'm not allowed to take food out of the lounge! I told her that I needed the tissue to blow my nose - what an attitude - you can stop me if I actually took that out of the lounge.

So if you have an option to spend EUR 40 to buy lounge access, I'd recommend that you spend the money on something else.

If you want to save money on parking, there are street parking around the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPHBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
243 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The hotel is not a new property. Its 25 years old. However it is well maintained. If you look closely you can see the years (for example the buttons on the elevator).
Staff is nice. Housekeeping is doing an extra-ordinary good job with the cleaning and the evening turn-down service.
Location of the hotel is superb. Actually it is much better then the more expensive 5 stars in the city.
Breakfast is good. Swimming pool is also good sized (maybe a bit shallow for swimming).
Internet is good although very expensive if your not a gold member.

The only thing that the hotel does not have is bikes to rent. This would be a very useful thing in this city.

Would certainly come back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
#35 of 318 in Hamburg
720 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Neustadt
SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 318 in Hamburg
2,174 reviews
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#17 of 318 in Hamburg
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamburg Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamburg Marriott Hotel

Property: Hamburg Marriott Hotel
Address: ABC Strasse 52, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#36 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#44 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#63 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hamburg Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hamburg Marriott Hotel is located in the heart of a charming seaport, making us a popular downtown Hamburg Germany hotel. Our central Hamburg hotel is near famous attractions, cultural landmarks, prestigious businesses, and electric nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hamburg Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hamburg
Hamburg Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing