We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good location, really bad inernet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
Ranked #53 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good hotel, good location, really bad inernet”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed in the hotel for 5 nights. The rooms were good, comfortable and spacious. The Piano bar was open till late and the staff polite and courteous. The reception staff was also friendly and helpful. However, despite all the positives, the one major negative was the internet. It simply does not work. At times, it took 4-5 minutes to open a web page and at other times even worse, it would simply disconnect. I reported this to the staff and they advised that the internet has got better than before and it was worse before. I am regular business traveler and this was amongst the slowest internet facilities I have experienced. The hotel management really need to sort this out as it is difficult for business travelers to stay without a good working internet connection. I also had a colleague staying on another floor of the hotel and he too was experiencing same internet issues.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    455
    155
    50
    21
See reviews for
257
237
56
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

- always makes a difference.
The location of this Hotel is great. Right in the center of Hamburg; close to the beautiful sea in the center, the canals and all the beautiful buildings and shops.

The interior overall maybe is a little bit "messy" allthough always very clean. But it seems as the hotel could use a more consequent style of decor. The room we tayed at (275)was nice and definitely welldesigned.

There is no mini bar at the hotel - and no mineralwater or anything at the room. That is not ok for a 5* star hotel. Instead you are told; during checkin, that there is a selection of drinks just next to the reception where you can buy what you need and take to the room. Hmm....

Breakfast was great and the it seemed as the hotel was more or less full. The pool have restrictions for kids access. Kids can only use the pool from 09-12 AM and 4-7 PM.

Would definitely stay at the hotel again.

Room Tip: remember a bootle of water for the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andcand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We split our stay in Hamburg between the Marriott and the Renaissance hotel nearby. Both are excellent places to stay. The location is central to all activities. Public transportation is several short blocks away. At the Marriott, we had breakfast in the executive lounge. It is a small space and can become crowded on busy days. But, it is open for use through out the day, and a great asset if you qualify to use it. The other nice feature of the hotel is the spa and pool on the bottom floor. The staff was typically Marriot. Well trained and courteous.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

It is really very central to most of the stuff you want when just visiting Hamburg for a short break. Close to the lakes, close to shopping and even within walking distance of the harbor front "Speicherstadt".

Check-in Works well and you are greeted by friendly and helpful staff. Executive lounge perhaps a litte too crowded or just too small for the number of people having acccess to it.

Rooms very nice and spacious, But there is a serious but: This hotel was build in the mid-eighties and the door to the room does not offer you much - if any - protection against noise from the corridors. I generally sleep quite heavy but fould myself awaken and disturbed more often than acceptable - even when staying at a high floor. Can only hope that Marriott will change the doors soon as I am not sure I will stay there again if not.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benzon1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I arrived late at night on a business trip. The front of house staff were excellent and the room was well appointed. The only draw back was the breakfast which is served in an executive lounge that feels a bit too like an airport lounge for a hotel of this standard.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TheR0adLessTravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights. Overall I would recommend.

A very nice huge Buffet breakfast is included with the room. It is on the first floor and we really got our monies worth. There's also a bar there for evenings with small patio. Quite full a lot.

The room had good amenities and what you expect. Good size room for Europe. Bed was comfortable. Hair dryer. Enough towels/washcloths. Toiletries. Maybe 3-4 English news/sports channels.

Pizza reasonable priced right around corner, expensive shopping and many other restaurants near by. Walk to ubahn is a few min away and 5 min walk to Alster lake and very tourist spots.

Parking is in an attached lot and very expensive but typical for Hamburg. If you can try to use subway system, I would try. Also no valet that we saw.

Do not let the hotel "convert" the bill into US dollars. They really make a killing on unfair conversion.

Overall I would recommend!





Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fhalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estonia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel has all you might need, including a free gym and a pool. The rooms are spacious, nice, and clean. A bit tired though. Breakfast is fairly fine. The location is superb. Very central. Easy to get to the airport and it's just around the corner from the shopping areas.

The staff did not live up to my Marriott expectations. I got chewed out by the receptionist when we returned from the room we had been given and told that the smell of smoke was unbearable there. I was told I should always let them know of the non-smoking preference in advance. When I told her that I had done so and showed it in print on the reservation printout, no apology followed.

Another unpleasant thing is that they cannot fit all the people at the breakfast restaurant, so they cover extra tables at the ballroom and with open doors there, there's quite some draft, so grab a jacket. And let's face it - if you're booking a 4* property like Marriott, you kind of expect to eat at a restaurant, not a hallway-like ballroom that feels like eating a train station, albeit a fancy one.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelEst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottHotelHH, Director of Operations at Hamburg Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Survey and sharing your experience with the Hamburg Marriott Hotel.

You indicated in your response that the breakfast area and the Front Desk Associates were unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. Sometimes when the hotel is full with 600 guest we make use of the ballroom/Salons as breakfast area while most of the guest are checking out we are making sure that our guest are on time for there flights or appointments with this we can sit more guest at the same time, I do apologized if this has caused you inconvenience. With regards to the Front Desk Associates we are being trained continuously to exceed guest expectation all the time I do apologize again if this was not met.

We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

A. Heuer
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
#34 of 317 in Hamburg
743 reviews
Neustadt
SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 317 in Hamburg
2,306 reviews
Neustadt
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 317 in Hamburg
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamburg Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamburg Marriott Hotel

Property: Hamburg Marriott Hotel
Address: ABC-Str. 52, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#36 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#43 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#63 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hamburg Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hamburg Marriott Hotel is located in the heart of a charming seaport, making us a popular downtown Hamburg Germany hotel. Our central Hamburg hotel is near famous attractions, cultural landmarks, prestigious businesses, and electric nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hamburg Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hamburg
Hamburg Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing