We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't waste your time and your money thete”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg
Ranked #22 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2012

The service is poor for this kind of hotel. I booked a suite and I got no special attention of any kind. The first night I let a glass a Champagne in the bathroom and the next evening it was still there. They let the cheap champagne that they "offered" to us open more than day! This hotel is not a palace who charge you the price of a palace. You book a suite more than 1000 Euros the night and when you check in there is nobody to show you your room, you have to find it yourself like in a regular hotel (but you don't pay the price of a regular hotel...). And don't expect any attention in your own language if you are not German or if you don't speak english. Don't even expect a single welcome note in your own language, it seems they don't have this kind of "spectaculars things" in their computers....

And I don't even talk about the awful deco of the room that represent itself the maximum of bad taste that you can find in a hotel. Have a look to the pictures that I've posted and make your own opinion about it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank bellifontain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticKempinski, Manager at Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear guest,

We appreciate your honest feedback and would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg.

Your obvious dissatisfaction grieves us, especially since you complain about some of our very basic and self-evident services with which we guarantee highest Kempinski standards. I truly regret that you did not feel comfortable and missed an adequate attention during and after your check-in.

Although we are, thanks to our multilingual staff, nearly always able to communicate with guests from other countries in their language, we write - responding to our worldwide Kempinski standards - our personal welcome cards basically in German or English.

We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you had and assure you that we consider your feedback as opportunity to improve our service in order to satisfy our guests the best we can. To improve continuously is our highest demand.

Sincerely,

the Atlantic Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

479 - 485 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

We loved our stay at this beautiful hotel and didn't want to leave anymore! The room and view on the Alster are amazing, staff is extremly friendly and helpful and the food at the hotels chinese restaurant tsao yang is outstanding!! I couldn't tell a single negative word about the "atlantic"!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ascoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Recently I stayed in Hamburg, Germany for 3 days. When my business was completed I decided to take my first bus tour of a city. What a surprise when the bus stopped across the street from my hotel to tell tourists about the filming of a James Bond movie at the hotel I was staying in. Only 2 rooms on the front of this hotel have balconies that face the water. My room turned out to be the same room 007 was filmed in! Nice. I recommend the bus tour as well, you will see Hamburg completely anew from simply walking the street scape.

Room Tip: Balconies exist on all of their rooms facing the courtyard too. These are at the back of the hotel w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I stayed two nights in his hotel in a room they told me it is classic room but it something like cave or room in hospital i think it is staff house, room very old and tired may be from the 60th I arrived late to the hotel after a long trip and I have to stay on it because as they told me they are fully booked so I slept but I had to wake up early because there was no curtains or black out in the room so light was every where and when I told them that this room is not on the website,they said that We don't sell this room!!!! Any way at the end they refund 50% from the room rate excluded the breakfast may I saved for my company who paid my business trip but the bad memory will remain for me.

Stayed: September 2012
8  Thank sahalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticKempinski, Web & eCommerce Coordinator at Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Dear guest,

It’s my personal and very honest concern to let you know how sorry we feel about your experience at the Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg during your recent stay.

Understanding your anger at the standard of the Classic Room, I would like to explain the following: there are still some rooms that have not been renovated yet, therefore every online provider or travel agent is bound to clarify – before booking – the exact conditions. Although only few online providers rent these Classic Rooms at a very low price, this is, for sure, no sufficient excuse for your disappointed experience.

I very much regret that, in your case, you have not been informed properly, especially since transparency is one of our most important claims. Please let me emphasize how sorry we feel about all that. If you should ever decide to give us a second chance and to try one of our new rooms (now that we finally completed the renovation) we would be happy to take this opportunity to satisfy your expectations the best we can.

Best regards,
Felix

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I booked a single room for business trip on 19 - 21 September 2012, I checked in at 2 am and when I arrived the room, I found it for the staff of the hotel, not guest room!!!!!!!!!!! even there was some staff still enjoying the night beside the room!!! I called the reception and the lady said, sorry we are fully booked!! sorry this is not accepted and no body informed me that the hotel is fully booked and you will have a sheaty room!
I couldn't make check out same time, because it was too late to find another hotel!! this morning I will find a better hotel can treat me well!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank HatemAloul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticKempinski, Web & eCommerce Coordinator at Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review on your recent experience and giving us your frank feedback.

Unfortunately, we have to admit that you were very unhappy and disappointed about your recent stay in September 2012. Please believe me when I say that we are truly sorry about this, and please let me try to clarify the situation.

It is a fact that there are still some rooms that have not been renovated yet. For this reason, those online providers that rent these rooms are obliged to explain exactly the conditions to the client. These Classic Rooms are rented at a very low price but this is, for sure, no sufficient excuse for your bad experience. If we would not have been fully booked that day, we certainly would have offered you a better category.

Understanding your anger at not having been informed properly in advance, I want to say sorry for this missing transparency. Please allow me to remark that in case you may think about visiting us again one day, we would be glad to take that second chance to offer you the high comfort of our new rooms and to satisfy your expectations the best we can.

Best regards,
Felix

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The room was really nice and newly renovated. It was classy modern just the right type for me. The lobby was great. The bar lounge was perfect for late tea, coffee and soft drinks. Of course not to forget the serene view of the lake.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fofa80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

In February I was lucky enough to score a "sales" deal at the classy Hotel Atlantic on the Alster in Hamburg. I must say that if you get a "sales" deal the hotel represents excellent value; it is enormously classy and elegant. Service comes in a typical Hanseatic fashion, professional and slightly understated. Location is great with walking distance to the Hauptbahnhof and Lange Reihe, a famous entertainment strip with great eateries and cafes. I will keep my eyes and ears open for another sales deal.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelpassionista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Le Meridien Hamburg
#33 of 321 in Hamburg
1,513 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 321 in Hamburg
2,510 reviews
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Rotherbaum
Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg
Neustadt
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg

Address: An der Alster 72 - 79, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#9 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#9 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £149 - £738 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultimate standard in service and comfort. For most demanding travellers, a first-class standard in living comfort is just as important as a perfect individual service. This is what the Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg stands for. For more than 105 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Atlantic Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Kempinski Atlantic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing