We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feeling like a rock star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg
Ranked #16 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Feeling like a rock star”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

This place is at the top of the food chain! From the bellman at the front door to the turndown service at night, this place does it right. It doesn't matter if you are a monkey or a millionaire, everyone treats you with respect and courtesy. The staff is helpful and the rooms are superb. The marble tiled bathrooms are super sweet and the mnibar is a real minibar it has all the essentials. Clean, quiet, elevators are substantial and the lobby is warm and comfy.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brewski00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    236
    90
    24
    19
See reviews for
177
398
63
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I stayed 4 nights at the Atlantic Hotel between 25 Oct- 29 Oct I was able to book great Deluxe Room at a very good rate though the hotel booking website.
First of all the hotel location could not have been better just walking distance from the main Central Station and by the Alster from where you can walk virtually everywhere in the city.
The property is really a great architecture example a very fascinating building filled with history and time. A great atmosphere and luxury is shown in the common areas. Check in was smooth and very professional.
Room was really great , it was a corner room with high ceilings , two huge windows and perfectly appointed. Complimentary big bottle of still mineral water were daily offered along with fresh fruits. Complimentary Nespresso and upon request a kettle was provided in literally no time delivered. Amazing service by the time you ask for something ...your request was fulfilled!
Bathroom extremely clean with heated floor and it has all you need . TV had enough channels, radio and Music to spend sometime relaxing in the room .
Concierge was helpful as well suggesting local restaurants tough the I have found within walking distance in the St.George area lot of dining options.
The only disappointment was the Fitness area , SPA and swimming pool they are in the need of attention and I was assured that new plans are on the making for this area.
I did not made use of the restaurants tough the High Tea and Bar looked really inviting.
Definitely this is the place to stay in Hamburg luxury without being too much pretentious and at good value for money as well. Compliments to the all Kempinski Staff well done !

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms ...I had Room 241:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelite1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I have travelled the world, been to Tokyo, Milan, Zurich, Nice, Monaco, Copenhagen, Lahore, Bangkok, New York even Vegas but I HAVE YET TO SEE A HOTEL LIKE THE ATLANTIC, Their Management and response time is terrible !!!!!

My parents stayed in their most expensive suite last month and had 16,000 EURO'S worth of Travellers Cheque + Cash stolen from their room, They were their on business and to attend a wedding and wedding services aside the management has not done anything to help them find the people responsible. The bag with the cash and the TC's was in the cupboard but thankfully the jewellery was in the locker.

The Hamburg police services are even more appalling, they casually said these things happen in Hamburg hotels, some say that their Rolex is missing and some even claim that entire LV Bags have been stolen, but hotels fo cooperate with them. BUT THIS HOTEL has not taken any action till date, no footage, no name not even an id. This is not how a hotel should run. When you book a suite, you expect value for your money, not that some random person gets access to your room. I have never reviewed a hotel before but I felt compelled to write a review and warn my fellow passengers of their services in Hamburg.

They had to borrow money from the newly wed couple and the whole purpose of the business trip got ruined. Fortunately AMEX has re-issued some TC's but since the cash part was involved this case is still open.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Bhatia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The rooms were large and the ceilings high and although recently renovated, they still managed to carry across its beautiful heritage and old world charm. The rain shower was much appreciated for its strong water pressure as was the nightly turn down service. Its nice to come back to a chocolate placed by your bedside. Service was always impeccable and the concierge was extremely helpful with all sorts of reservations and bookings requests.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrysalis007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

there are many new and more modern hotels in hamburg, but the atlantic is still charming... the new rooms are nice, albeit a bit small, but the high ceilings make up for it...

i was especially pleased to see so many young "service personnel" such as bell hops, valet, etc, being women... what a nice change...

Room Tip: the atlantic is not the most centrally located hotel, but, if you like walking, the center of town i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poonhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

The service is poor for this kind of hotel. I booked a suite and I got no special attention of any kind. The first night I let a glass a Champagne in the bathroom and the next evening it was still there. They let the cheap champagne that they "offered" to us open more than day! This hotel is not a palace who charge you the price of a palace. You book a suite more than 1000 Euros the night and when you check in there is nobody to show you your room, you have to find it yourself like in a regular hotel (but you don't pay the price of a regular hotel...). And don't expect any attention in your own language if you are not German or if you don't speak english. Don't even expect a single welcome note in your own language, it seems they don't have this kind of "spectaculars things" in their computers....

And I don't even talk about the awful deco of the room that represent itself the maximum of bad taste that you can find in a hotel. Have a look to the pictures that I've posted and make your own opinion about it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bellifontain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticKempinski, Manager at Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear guest,

We appreciate your honest feedback and would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg.

Your obvious dissatisfaction grieves us, especially since you complain about some of our very basic and self-evident services with which we guarantee highest Kempinski standards. I truly regret that you did not feel comfortable and missed an adequate attention during and after your check-in.

Although we are, thanks to our multilingual staff, nearly always able to communicate with guests from other countries in their language, we write - responding to our worldwide Kempinski standards - our personal welcome cards basically in German or English.

We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you had and assure you that we consider your feedback as opportunity to improve our service in order to satisfy our guests the best we can. To improve continuously is our highest demand.

Sincerely,

the Atlantic Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We loved our stay at this beautiful hotel and didn't want to leave anymore! The room and view on the Alster are amazing, staff is extremly friendly and helpful and the food at the hotels chinese restaurant tsao yang is outstanding!! I couldn't tell a single negative word about the "atlantic"!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ascoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 319 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#27 of 319 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 319 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Rotherbaum
Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg

Property: Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg
Address: An der Alster 72 - 79, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#7 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#9 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultimate standard in service and comfort. For most demanding travellers, a first-class standard in living comfort is just as important as a perfect individual service. This is what the Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg stands for. For more than 105 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Atlantic Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Kempinski Atlantic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing