We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Danger of catching the November blues” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg
Ranked #16 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Danger of catching the November blues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

Though not exactly a youngster myself, I felt by far too young for this old fashioned and stiff hotel.
Apparently the hotel only re-opened fairly recently, re-gaining their 5 stars. I wonder why they insisted to decorate everything in these dreary dark colours, dark brown and dark purple in poorly lit (no proper reading light!!!) large rooms. I thought this to be a very pompous and depressing atmosphere (not even bumping into Udo Lindenberg could lift my spirits).
Staff (particularly in breakfast room) was very kind and attentive.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaupelei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    225
    86
    23
    16
See reviews for
164
391
62
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
indianapolis
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

I was able to check in early after arriving from the train station. The hotel is just a short walk from there. The doormen and front desk attendents greeted us with warmth and professionalism. My room was large with gorgeous fabrics and the necessary amenities. The bath was luxurious with a separate tub and shower and two sinks. I enjoyed a drink or two in the spacious bar/lounge. The singing pianist was enjoyable, if not the most upbeat. My only concern during my stay was with the slow shower drain.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
136 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

If you like 'grandeur' and style, this hotel matches quite well. The building shows class and the Grandeur from some decades ago. I was welcomed by the doorman very kindly, a young lady checked me in, perfect service, quick, enough explenation. The way it should be. The hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays. All seemed clean to me. My room was a double bedded one, with a nice sitting area as well as a clean and luxurious bathroom. Only minor point was the view. When looking outside, i could see the wastebins from a neigboring appartment building i guess. Not really what i expected. The wifi is for free and water botlled next to the bed as well. All facilities are available. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank svalkenborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

The great hotel near Alster lake
Serves was excellent
I recommend restaurant Atlantic , here you could found From lobster bisque to beef tatar - experience how personable finesse, fresh and seasonal ingredients, and the courteous service merge to transcentral harmony and transform every single dish and menu to a unique and personal moment for all senses...

Room Tip: If you would stay near the shopping Main Street , you need to take a taxi and go for about 5 minutes
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oksanagaydukova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

The Hotel Atlantic has achieved cult status. James Bond was here, Michael Jackson too. And Udo Lindenberg anyway. The hotel has the best location in town. It overlooks the beautiful Alster and thus has a wonderful view. The service is excellent. Particularly noteworthy are the beautiful spacious rooms and great bar where you can meet a celebrity from time to time. A great place for those who do not have to look on the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClemensGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

This place is at the top of the food chain! From the bellman at the front door to the turndown service at night, this place does it right. It doesn't matter if you are a monkey or a millionaire, everyone treats you with respect and courtesy. The staff is helpful and the rooms are superb. The marble tiled bathrooms are super sweet and the mnibar is a real minibar it has all the essentials. Clean, quiet, elevators are substantial and the lobby is warm and comfy.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brewski00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

I stayed 4 nights at the Atlantic Hotel between 25 Oct- 29 Oct I was able to book great Deluxe Room at a very good rate though the hotel booking website.
First of all the hotel location could not have been better just walking distance from the main Central Station and by the Alster from where you can walk virtually everywhere in the city.
The property is really a great architecture example a very fascinating building filled with history and time. A great atmosphere and luxury is shown in the common areas. Check in was smooth and very professional.
Room was really great , it was a corner room with high ceilings , two huge windows and perfectly appointed. Complimentary big bottle of still mineral water were daily offered along with fresh fruits. Complimentary Nespresso and upon request a kettle was provided in literally no time delivered. Amazing service by the time you ask for something ...your request was fulfilled!
Bathroom extremely clean with heated floor and it has all you need . TV had enough channels, radio and Music to spend sometime relaxing in the room .
Concierge was helpful as well suggesting local restaurants tough the I have found within walking distance in the St.George area lot of dining options.
The only disappointment was the Fitness area , SPA and swimming pool they are in the need of attention and I was assured that new plans are on the making for this area.
I did not made use of the restaurants tough the High Tea and Bar looked really inviting.
Definitely this is the place to stay in Hamburg luxury without being too much pretentious and at good value for money as well. Compliments to the all Kempinski Staff well done !

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms ...I had Room 241:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelite1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#4 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Hamburg
#27 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Rotherbaum
Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg

Property: Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg
Address: An der Alster 72 - 79, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#7 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#9 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultimate standard in service and comfort. For most demanding travellers, a first-class standard in living comfort is just as important as a perfect individual service. This is what the Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg stands for. For more than 105 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Atlantic Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Kempinski Atlantic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing