We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay at Hotel Atlantic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg
Ranked #21 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Certainly a wonderful classic style hotel with upscale rooms and amenities. Near central station and across from lake. Our rooms faced the courtyard; would have liked a view of the lake, but for what we paid, we were more than satisfied with our experience. The lobby and hallways temperature quite warm but our individual temperature control made the room comfortable for sleeping. Our room was very quiet and the staff pleasant and helpful. Enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 1,211 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

It is a great hotel, not my favorite, but pretty close. Especially good is the personnel, which is THE key to running a good hotel. We felt very welcome and taken care of at any time; there was very little room to be desired.

The rooms have been updated recently, our room was exceptionnally clean and functional. The style is a matter of taste, but I would have liked the room to be a bit more "luxurious" and edgier/special. I travel a lot and if the room set up is the same as any other everywhere, I get a bit disappointed right away. The room was also too small to be set up for divided beds, yet they had single matresses (but at least one big cover, which I love). The nespresso machine is great, but leaves out the ones that would like tea.

The rest of the amenities that we used were good (the bar, choices of drinks, decor seemed a bit outdated) to great (Atlantic Restaurant, everything really great, except the decor again a bit "old school"). I also especially liked the Foyer/entrance area, great feel of a Grand Hotel.

Overall, we would come back when staying in Hamburg, but my favorite is still the Ritz-Carlton in Berlin, which from my perspective is better at virtually any discipline (the Atlantic is on par with its personnel).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank legrandviper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The Hotel Atlantic has great architecture, beautiful common areas, and spacious rooms with extremely high ceilings. The breakfast buffet is large and features some regional items. The staff is among the most courteous I have encountered in Europe. The location is nice for walking around the lake and the world famous harbor is within manageable walking distance as well. The pricing of rooms is reasonable given the outstanding quality of the experience.

Room Tip: Tell the front desk what you like and they will help you with a room that suits your taste
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Hotel Atlantic Kempinski in Hamburg, Germany September 2013. The hotel was exquisite. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The rooms immaculate and spacious. The bathroom had heated floors, which was quite a luxury. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the breakfast buffet was filled with a variety of foods. All-in-all, a perfect stay in the city.

Room Tip: We booked through a travel agent and gave her our requirements. The rooms were quite and the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teacher973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel is very well located near the main lake and the central station.
Its classic/luxury style, the rooms are big and cosy and the service is great.
The breakfast is also very good, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnaInacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We did not stay at the hotel but went for an evening drink in the bar. The hotel looked very traditional and the bar was opulent and smart with lovely red chairs. We were expecting piano music but found out that this does not happen on Sunday or Monday evenings. However we felt that the service was very rushed from one staff member who rushed towards us with drinks menus . My friend started to ask him a question but he marched off and throughout the evening he continued to march up and down. The bar was fairly busy but this was rather over the top and the other staff all seemed to work at a fast but not racing pace.. A different member of staff served our drinks which were very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kitten099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was a great choice for us. The rooms were comfy, clean and beautiful. The pool was big enough to swim a few laps and there was an infrared sauna that did magic for my sore back. The location is quiet although walking distance from the main train station. Across street is the lake and a pier, where the ferry takes you into the bustling shopping district.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anitaiwase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Le Meridien Hamburg
#31 of 321 in Hamburg
1,504 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 321 in Hamburg
2,492 reviews
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Rotherbaum
Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg
Neustadt
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg

Address: An der Alster 72 - 79, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#8 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#9 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £165 - £659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultimate standard in service and comfort. For most demanding travellers, a first-class standard in living comfort is just as important as a perfect individual service. This is what the Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg stands for. For more than 105 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Atlantic Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Kempinski Atlantic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing