We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg
Ranked #16 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

What a hotel, perfect rooms, pleasant and cheery staff, a great bar and so relaxing

The meals were great

The location is perfect for long walks along the lake and close to city

It was ideal and has so much history it almost smothers you with yesterday years

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    236
    91
    24
    20
See reviews for
177
399
64
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel is so rich in history. You can just imagine how decadent this place was in the 20's & 30's. They never mention a certain Austrian man with a funny moustache staying here several times in their list of famous guests though!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MisterCesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Certainly a wonderful classic style hotel with upscale rooms and amenities. Near central station and across from lake. Our rooms faced the courtyard; would have liked a view of the lake, but for what we paid, we were more than satisfied with our experience. The lobby and hallways temperature quite warm but our individual temperature control made the room comfortable for sleeping. Our room was very quiet and the staff pleasant and helpful. Enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halberstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
234 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

It is a great hotel, not my favorite, but pretty close. Especially good is the personnel, which is THE key to running a good hotel. We felt very welcome and taken care of at any time; there was very little room to be desired.

The rooms have been updated recently, our room was exceptionnally clean and functional. The style is a matter of taste, but I would have liked the room to be a bit more "luxurious" and edgier/special. I travel a lot and if the room set up is the same as any other everywhere, I get a bit disappointed right away. The room was also too small to be set up for divided beds, yet they had single matresses (but at least one big cover, which I love). The nespresso machine is great, but leaves out the ones that would like tea.

The rest of the amenities that we used were good (the bar, choices of drinks, decor seemed a bit outdated) to great (Atlantic Restaurant, everything really great, except the decor again a bit "old school"). I also especially liked the Foyer/entrance area, great feel of a Grand Hotel.

Overall, we would come back when staying in Hamburg, but my favorite is still the Ritz-Carlton in Berlin, which from my perspective is better at virtually any discipline (the Atlantic is on par with its personnel).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank legrandviper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
535 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The Hotel Atlantic has great architecture, beautiful common areas, and spacious rooms with extremely high ceilings. The breakfast buffet is large and features some regional items. The staff is among the most courteous I have encountered in Europe. The location is nice for walking around the lake and the world famous harbor is within manageable walking distance as well. The pricing of rooms is reasonable given the outstanding quality of the experience.

Room Tip: Tell the front desk what you like and they will help you with a room that suits your taste
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Lebanon, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Hotel Atlantic Kempinski in Hamburg, Germany September 2013. The hotel was exquisite. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The rooms immaculate and spacious. The bathroom had heated floors, which was quite a luxury. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the breakfast buffet was filled with a variety of foods. All-in-all, a perfect stay in the city.

Room Tip: We booked through a travel agent and gave her our requirements. The rooms were quite and the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teacher973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldas da Rainha, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel is very well located near the main lake and the central station.
Its classic/luxury style, the rooms are big and cosy and the service is great.
The breakfast is also very good, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaInacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#27 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Rotherbaum
Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg

Property: Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg
Address: An der Alster 72 - 79, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#7 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#9 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultimate standard in service and comfort. For most demanding travellers, a first-class standard in living comfort is just as important as a perfect individual service. This is what the Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg stands for. For more than 105 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Atlantic Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Kempinski Atlantic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing