We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent classic hotel with a magnificent view of Hamburg lake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg
Ranked #16 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent classic hotel with a magnificent view of Hamburg lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed at the hotel for four days when attending an international conference. Old fashioned, with an evident maritime influence in every corner of the hotel.The experience was superb and I would definitively recommend it to anyone visiting Hamburg. There is an excellent restaurant and a very pleasant bar. Regarding the SPA facilities, I only used the pool and the experience was very good. All the staff was really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarcelonaTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    230
    88
    23
    17
See reviews for
170
395
62
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Make sure you get a room on an upper floor. We were first put in a room on the third floor that overlooked the garden, but all we saw was the roof. We then went to the 8th floor on the street side and really had a nice view. The rooms are clean comfortable but small. No place to put the suitcases. The staff was friendly. The train station is close and a lot of good restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel is ideally located for most places of interest. My room (144) was just barely acceptable sizewise but well appointed. The service throughout the hotel was excellent as was the food. Here you will find German hospitality and service at its best.

Room Tip: Room 144 on the small size. Room 143 larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryTYM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a few days in the Europaischerhof Hotel opposite the railway station (see separate review) because we couldn't initially get into this one. So much was happening in Hamburg with Harley Davidson Rally and Mercedes Convention (not sure whether the two are compatible).
This refurbished 100 year old hotel is not cheap but still worth the money. Try a few hotel sight because friends staying at the hotel got a better deal on the net than we did.

Rooms are a generous size. Bathrooms are a generous size (double basins). Just love the waterfall style shower.
Free wifi (at last). Last visit it was at cost. It works very well.
Separate lounge area with second TV.
Capsule coffee machine.

Staff are friendly and helpful. Although I was a bit cheesed off when I got to New York and found out I had left my Amex Card at reception when I had checked out. My fault though!

I look forward to coming back next time in Hamburg. If you get the chance give this hotel a try, you will love it.

Room Tip: Exterior rooms with a view of the Alster are likely to be more noisy. It may be a price you will pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterperfect2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I spent there 2 nights and liked the traditional style and the good quality of the interieur and the spaces in the whole house, not just in common aeras, but in the room as well.
Only one thing disturbed me a little, the smell of old smoke in the lobby, probably from times when was allowed to smoke. They should do something with this..But anyway, the house and the stuff is great...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivanbacsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

With its grand facade, pretty lakeside location and five-star price, I expected more from the Atlantic. We were somewhat breathlessly greeted by the young desk clerk, who, on spying our backpacks and realising we had no other luggage, enquired if we'd come by EasyJet. With a flourish, he retrieved our booking and declared that we were to be installed in one of their classic rooms, a euphemism for "bottom of the range". Nonetheless, he was very helpful in pointing out various locations on the map, including all the designer shops (in which we had no interest) and a running route around the lake (which was to be our first activity). We did, at one point, fervently wish he would just stop speaking.

Our room, number 527, was at the end of a series of alleyways on the first floor, tucked away in a corner and overlooking the block of upmarket but empty flats next door, with very noisy road works below. The pillows were lumpy, the bed concave and the wi-fi didn't stretch this far, at least not for either of my two devices. The carpet was stained by a leak in the radiator and the room had a very tired, beige look about it. The cupboard was a wall rack with no door and definitely had room for only one person's belongings.

Disappointingly, the hairdryer only worked intermittently, needing a few minutes to cool down between bursts of activity, which made getting ready for dinner a very lengthy affair. Also, the shower did not drain very well, which meant the second person in the shower had to stand in an an inch or two of tepid water.

While very well-located in relation to the train station and the city centre, with some good outdoor eating and sundowner options at the lake side across the road and around the corner, the Atlantic fell far short of the expectations conjured up by its majestic reception area and pillared external facade. Given that we had not come to Hamburg to spend all day in our hotel room, its faults were tolerable. Nonetheless, for the price we paid we should at least have been able to get a working hairdryer and a draining shower. I'm certain your can get better value for money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Avoid 527 or keep the windows shut, otherwise it is very very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ichikawa, Japan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I stayed 3 nights. It is located near Alster lake of Hamburg and also close to the center of the city. I love room services in the morning because breads and coffee are great. I recommend you should stay for the business.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihitihit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#29 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Rotherbaum
Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg

Property: Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg
Address: An der Alster 72 - 79, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#7 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#9 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultimate standard in service and comfort. For most demanding travellers, a first-class standard in living comfort is just as important as a perfect individual service. This is what the Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg stands for. For more than 105 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Atlantic Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Kempinski Atlantic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing