We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding..!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg
Ranked #16 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Outstanding..!!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This has to be one one of the best hotels we have stayed in anywhere. Every little detail is both thought of and taken care of when needed. The location is stunning by the lake and is also only a stones throw from the main station.
Enjoy....!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliewuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    229
    87
    23
    16
See reviews for
167
395
62
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is a classic hotel, with soaring ceilings and an old world charm. The service and professionalism of the front desk staff is first rate. They have an excellent breakfast buffet with a large variety of options. The rooms are large, with comfortable beds and marble bathrooms with heated floors. No AC in the hallways, but that was't an issue for us. It is in a good location with some neat docks serving food right on the lake across the street. One word of warning, they allow smoking in the bar and lobby area, so if you are allergic to smoke stay out of these areas in the evenings.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SquishyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
427 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I just spent one night at this hotel while on a business trip and found it to be very enjoyable. It is grand and beautiful while already a bit outdated. Mirrors, carpets, furniture, doors etc. show their age and public areas as well as rooms need to be refurbished in order to keep up the high level of comfort and luxury this hotel offers.

The room was large, comfy and quite. I especially enjoyed the large work area with free WiFi as well as complimentary water. The bathroom offered a rain forest shower and the usual amenities for a hotel of this level.
The decor was a bit over the top for my taste, but nothing to complain about.

Breakfast was standard for a hotel of this level and staff fast and friendly. Only the coffee served was pretty bad, definitely something to improve.

I will for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFLeonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is absolutely beautiful, and the staff could not be more helpful and courteous. Staff members went above and beyond to make us comfortable and helped us locate luggage lost at the airport. The rooms were large and comfortable, pool is wonderful, food delicious. Only complaint was that the free basic wi-fi was quite slow. Faster service could be purchased.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Detgen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I was working in Hamburg and fell ill with Peritonitis. I needed a Hotel to stay at before being allowed to fly back to the UK. By sheer luck my wife and I decided to stay here. What a fantastic Hotel. All of the staff were so friendly and understanding and could not have done more to help us to make our stay such a pleasure. The Food was superb and Room Service was a great treat too. Thank you to everyone for helping with my recovery

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed at the hotel for four days when attending an international conference. Old fashioned, with an evident maritime influence in every corner of the hotel.The experience was superb and I would definitively recommend it to anyone visiting Hamburg. There is an excellent restaurant and a very pleasant bar. Regarding the SPA facilities, I only used the pool and the experience was very good. All the staff was really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarcelonaTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Make sure you get a room on an upper floor. We were first put in a room on the third floor that overlooked the garden, but all we saw was the roof. We then went to the 8th floor on the street side and really had a nice view. The rooms are clean comfortable but small. No place to put the suitcases. The staff was friendly. The train station is close and a lot of good restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 318 in Hamburg
2,173 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#29 of 318 in Hamburg
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
974 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Rotherbaum
Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg

Property: Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg
Address: An der Alster 72 - 79, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#7 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#9 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultimate standard in service and comfort. For most demanding travellers, a first-class standard in living comfort is just as important as a perfect individual service. This is what the Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg stands for. For more than 105 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Atlantic Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Kempinski Atlantic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing